Bikehub biggest loser 2015 competition

eddy

No, No, no, NO.  Amateur hour :thumbdown:

ONLY poop before your final weigh-in in January :thumbup:  :thumbup:

And drink lots of water the day before weigh in, but dehydrate yourself the day before final weigh in :whistling:

• Replies 1.1k

What he forgot to tell you about was the 3 breakfasts, 2 braai's, a lunch and a wedding.... all in 1 weekend....

Yip, we had the families staying with us and the out-of-towners nearby, so had them around for a couple of meals from Friday through to Sunday night,  everybody contributing.

Which is why I had to find an external way of motivation to ensure I remained aware of what I was guzzling. So far so good !

Any fatties looking for extra bucks?

Good morning

Please find attached press release by Gumtree South Africa. Interviews gladly given upon request.

14 December 2015

How much does Santa earn? (And other burning Christmas questions)

Help wanted, male, age 30-60. Must be jovial with large belly. Apply here.

It’s not the average job description that you’ll find in the wanted ads, but as Andy Williams says it is the “most wonderful time of the year” and malls are scrambling to fill their Santa Claus and elf vacancies in time for the holiday season.

“We usually see about 10-20 calls for Santa Claus on Gumtree in November already, but it picks up in December,” says Claire Cobbledick, Head of Marketing for Gumtree South Africa. Most Clauses are employed by large shopping malls, but Christmas markets and charities are also in need.

Payment and job descriptions tend to vary, says Cobbledick. “It’s probably the only job description that requires you to be jolly…Or that prescribes the size of your waistline for that matter!”

Age is not a factor, although retirees above middle age have the advantage when it comes to fulfilling the role. It’s not an easy job, though. “Most Santas have to work long retail hours for two weeks straight, which includes the holidays and the crowds that come with it. Not to mention the rather warm winter suit…”

That doesn’t deter the candidates though. “These job ads receive a lot of attention – an average of 100 views and 20-40 replies,” says Cobbledick.

According to a Gumtree survey, the average Claus receives about R250 – R500 per day for spreading holiday cheer. “This could include listening to Christmas wishes (and of course, making them come true), chatting to shoppers about promotions and posing for photo ops with little fans.”

Aspiring Saint Nicks can apply online. Gumtree also has a charity donation section where volunteers can spread Christmas cheer over the holidays.

Ends

About Gumtree

Gumtree is South Africa’s largest classifieds site, drawing close to 5 million unique visits to their website every month.

What is everyone planning on doing for Christmas meals to keep this in check?

Personally, I canned the traditional Christmas lunch years back.

This year I'm doing a snoek braai for the family, will pair it with wine since that's generally low calorie so can at least have a drink or twelve.

What is everyone planning on doing for Christmas meals to keep this in check?

Personally, I canned the traditional Christmas lunch years back.

This year I'm doing a snoek braai for the family, will pair it with wine since that's generally low calorie so can at least have a drink or twelve.

I'll just be cutting back on the volumes, tbh. And exercising as much as possible

Trying to say what worked for me, but apparently most of the okes see the whole thing as a joke. Maar nou ja, clearly I'm just lucky and didn't have to work my ass off to get where I am. Good luck to all.

I'm glad that worked for you, if it works then stick to it, I sure know I would *love* to be able to eat like that and lose weight.

Unfortunately there are a lot of people that grains and carbs = weight gain, I know I am one.

Its a simple case of some things work for some and don't work for others, we are all different and need to find what works for us.

I'll just be cutting back on the volumes, tbh. And exercising as much as possible

^this, even if its a cheat day I recon you have to have what you normally would.

A good few hours of cycling to work it off afterwards is great.

My issue is not what i eat, ok maybe a bit. :whistling:  but more how big my portions are, I can easily sit and polish off a Kg of ribs and chips or large pizza in one sitting. Now what i do is drink plenty of water before i eat, this tends to bloat me and i find i cannot eat as much. 

I must be careful not to offend our new disciplinarian /gospel dictator...

I had nearly no carbs and basically lived off protein for the week (except for the lasagne episode). I did several hard gym sessions and a few low intensity rides.

Result: exactly 1kg up!

Don't write me off yet. 1 more week of work and then I can also play in the artificial world of having lots of time to train.

I must be careful not to offend our new disciplinarian /gospel dictator...

I had nearly no carbs and basically lived off protein for the week (except for the lasagne episode). I did several hard gym sessions and a few low intensity rides.

Result: exactly 1kg up!

Don't write me off yet. 1 more week of work and then I can also play in the artificial world of having lots of time to train.

Should have run 200km, Talus. Shame on you! :)