• Replies 304

Lots of complaints about Oros being watered down now, possibly to get it under the new sugar tax limits. So not only is it pricey but now it doesn't go as far as it used to.

Btw, your biltong looks good.

Maybe put a recipe down, if you haven't already.

I guess it won't be long till they make the bottle smaller like they have done with so many other things. TBH I still enjoy my oros. I usually have stock of orange, naartjie, lemon and cocopine. When I first moved out of home and had to start buying my own groceries in late 2012 Oros was about R20 a bottle and around R18 on special. Last week I paid R38 for orange on special and R41 for the rest. Doubled in price in  less than 7 years.

A few pieces ready and it's sublime. That cumin really comes through..might have been a little heavy handed on it but it's lekker.

How do you store your biltong? I normally put it in the fridge in an air tight container but last time it spores very quickly. Thinking of just leaving out in a bowl or something.

Make smaller batches

The airtight container is the problem

I guess it won't be long till they make the bottle smaller like they have done with so many other things. TBH I still enjoy my oros. I usually have stock of orange, naartjie, lemon and cocopine. When I first moved out of home and had to start buying my own groceries in late 2012 Oros was about R20 a bottle and around R18 on special. Last week I paid R38 for orange on special and R41 for the rest. Doubled in price in less than 7 years.

Wow, that's getting expensive now and when they do make the bottle smaller, the price will still go up, crazy. We use Morrison's orange squash here, amongst trying many others, and it's just got that odd after taste of fakeness....nothing beats a good old Oros but the search for a substitute is still on..lol

Having a baby in the house we sterilize a lot of plastic bottles.

Fill the container with water and microwave it for 5mins, might help. Nothing is ever really 100% germ free, even if you have just washed it.......

You misunderstand me.

The biltong must be stored in a cool dry area 

Oops...wrong person,sorry

Edited by Kranswurm
  • 3 weeks later...

A few pieces ready and it's sublime. That cumin really comes through..might have been a little heavy handed on it but it's lekker.

How do you store your biltong? I normally put it in the fridge in an air tight container but last time it spores very quickly. Thinking of just leaving out in a bowl or something.

Eish...I have a couple of nice big pieces wrapped in wax wrap in a lunch box in the fridge!

I better eat them fast. Now I'm wondering if I should take them out and put them back in the drier without the fan on.. Only problem is there's a radiator in yet room so it gets quite warm in the morning and evening for a few hours

On a third note.... That's the best batch I've made. The butcher cut sightly thicker slices this time... About an inch.. And those pieces came out superb. I also threw a bit of hot sauce in with the vinegar and Worcester sauce

Eish...I have a couple of nice big pieces wrapped in wax wrap in a lunch box in the fridge!

I better eat them fast. Now I'm wondering if I should take them out and put them back in the drier without the fan on.. Only problem is there's a radiator in yet room so it gets quite warm in the morning and evening for a few hours

On a third note.... That's the best batch I've made. The butcher cut sightly thicker slices this time... About an inch.. And those pieces came out superb. I also threw a bit of hot sauce in with the vinegar and Worcester sauce

This last batch, long gone now, was awesome. I left it in a silver colander on the kitchen counter and no mould...Well maybe very slightly on the very last piece but much better than keeping it in the fridge.

Next time I'll take it out the dryer a bit wetter as it dries out being left in the bowl.

Mmhhh, hot sauce, I might try that next time.

• 6 months later...

Bit late to ask and to lazy to read... but droëwors...

Do you treat it the same as biltong?

Got my bear paws on some Wildebeest Droëwors.

Hung it over the bars of my drier. Just blocked the vent a bit as the fan I am using is a tad bit strong. And seeing that it is Wildebeest I want it rather dry and not like my biltong that is a little red inside.

Bit late to ask and to lazy to read... but droëwors...

Do you treat it the same as biltong?

Got my bear paws on some Wildebeest Droëwors.

Hung it over the bars of my drier. Just blocked the vent a bit as the fan I am using is a tad bit strong. And seeing that it is Wildebeest I want it rather dry and not like my biltong that is a little red inside.

I hang my droewors 3-4 days.

If you hang game dry wors for too long it will turn into wood. Especially if the fat content is below 20%

Cool, will keep a close eye on it.

Like GBU said, it dries much more quickly than biltong, so keep checking so you can remove it when it is exactly the way you like it. Then put in a zip loc bag, squeeze out as much air as you can (vacuum pack is even better), close the zip and freeze for when you want nice fresh droewors. 

I'm thinking of trying to make my own Droe worse. I've seen a mincer and sasuage maker for relativly cheap that could work.

Anyone got a tried and tested recipe?

On the same topic, I assume droewors is made with a special "skin"?

I tried hanging normal thin boerewors and it just went miff........ Maybe the skin is too thick?

On the same topic, I assume droewors is made with a special "skin"?

I tried hanging normal thin boerewors and it just went miff........ Maybe the skin is too thick?

It should be natural casting like sheep castings. Not sure If they come in varying thicknesses but think it should be thin.

You can use a boerewors casing ,the best is not to fill it too much. Flatten and poke holes with a fork. It becomes mouldy because the moisture cannot escape from the inside .

All casings (skins) come with a calibration in mm. The higher the number ,the thicker the wors. For drywors from about 20 to 24. 24 Works well but is more expensive. Boerewors normally from 26 up to 30 which is thick. They are sold in bundles. You do get different quality  casings . Normally the longer the strands , the better the quality. For home use not really an issue. Depending on thickness you should get from 16 to 20 kg per bundle

For spice a batch pack from Crown or Freddy Hirsch works fine. And you can keep some of the wet drywors for a braai .

Edit: Yes , the thinner ones are sheep . Thicker ones pork.

Edited by Blokman