2017 Stellenbosch Cycle Tour

LeoKnight

my SCT

• wake up on wednesday and realise this is a Argus seeding race
  • late entries were a dream at newlands, somehow still have a seeding so start in 3B
  • throw everything in the car, except helmet
  • realise this about 10mins from home, so turn around is fine but puts timing tight
  • rock up to group about 30seconds before we actually start so join in the back
  • starts pissing with rain
  • group is laaank chilled, am in second place before we even leave the gumtrees up helshoogte
  • nice and easy descent on helshoogte and some 3C riders catch up and a lekker big group forms by wemmershoek
  • continues pissing with rain
  • riding is fine and everyone is chilling in the bunch with not many doing work
  • turn around at wellington and my legs aren't feeling as lekker as i started with 35km to go
  • play it nice and tactical by following tandems or teddy bears down each of the rollers
  • collect a potjie sized pothole in klapmuts, it was under water so no way to see it
  • join the group of okes fixing their punctures

24273875_1331161130327068_15205440635192

I'm in the back here, the guy in the mabulance who wiped has already left.

• put sparetjoop in
  •  being a total IDJUT i have brought a crappy pump and don't pump to enough pressure
  • get riding again
  •  
  •  
  • get snakebite flat on a cat eye 2km later near Wiesenhof
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • got two flat tyres, but a puncture repair kit. now i'm not really worried about time and just want to finish on own steam
  •  
  •  
  • ever tried getting a patch kit to stick in the pissing rain?
  •  
  •  
  • put on jacket, as this is now going to be a saga. me vs the f@#$% puncture
  •  
  •  
  • 2 attempts to get flat done end up in a slow leak 100m further down the road
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • pull out a super duper macguyver move. take patch on tube. wrap empty energy bar wrapper around it three times. use multitool to get cable tie off race number without breaking it, use this to keep wrapper on the tube. 

attachicon.gifIMG_20171203_211855.jpg

• get religious for a few seconds
  •  
  • pump it back up
  •  
  •  
  • ride to finish
  •  
  • dodge puncture trick survives 15km, until the final left hand turn off at nietvoorbiyj.
  •  
  • some oke cramps and just careens straight into two okes slowed down to take corner
  •  
  •  
  • sort of stops raining
  •  
  •  
  • swear a bit, and ride last 1km on super flat tyre
  •  
  • get to finish, was on track for about a 3:20, end up with 4:15. ho hum, that's life!
  •  
  • have a spur burger
  •  
  • go back to car, can't find car key
  •  
  • continues pissing with rain again
  •  
  • forgot phone in car, so need to phone wife using a good samaritan for the spare
  •  
  •  
  • know one of the race doctors so use his phone as a point of contact whilst i wait
  •  
  • go back to race village in wet clothes go 'chill with a waterbottle' at medic station
  • stops raining!
  •  
  •  
  • hero wifey arrives with spare key, get to car and leaves me with kids for the afternoon
  •  
  • head back along route to points where i stopped
  •  
  • find key exactly where i took off my jacket.
  •  
  • celebrate with a Venison Pie and Deneys Full cream milkshake 

Found your key, kudos!

• Replies 336

Yes that was me - 2 wonderful guys unclipped me and had to carry me to the car.  Couldn't finish unfortunately :( Can't put any weight on my right leg due to something in my hip.  Really hoping its just bruising and not tendon/cartilage damage but its too soon to tell.  Hobbling in crutches with a follow up appointment Monday 

Eish. Reading of and listening to some horror stories really makes me even more glad for my safe ride.

Heal up soon.

Eish. Reading of and listening to some horror stories really makes me even more glad for my safe ride.

Heal up soon.

Thanks so much.  Was on track for a 2:45 so I am seriously bleak!

That is pretty impressive....

I recall we received our CTCT seeding end of Jan 2 weeks before the 99er - how did they know what time you were going to ride in the 99er?  :ph34r:

Just ask nicely :)

my SCT

• late entries were a dream at newlands, somehow still have a seeding so start in 3B
  • realise this about 10mins from home, so turn around is fine but puts timing tight
  • group is laaank chilled, am in second place before we even leave the gumtrees up helshoogte
  • nice and easy descent on helshoogte and some 3C riders catch up and a lekker big group forms by wemmershoek
  • turn around at wellington and my legs aren't feeling as lekker as i started with 35km to go
  • play it nice and tactical by following tandems or teddy bears down each of the rollers
  • collect a potjie sized pothole in klapmuts, it was under water so no way to see it

• put sparetjoop in
  • being a total IDJUT i have brought a crappy pump and don't pump to enough pressure
  • get riding again
  • got two flat tyres, but a puncture repair kit. now i'm not really worried about time and just want to finish on own steam
  • pull out a super duper macguyver move. take patch on tube. wrap empty energy bar wrapper around it three times. use multitool to get cable tie off race number without breaking it, use this to keep wrapper on the tube.
IMG_20171203_211855.jpg

• pump it back up
  • ride to finish
  • dodge puncture trick survives 15km, until the final left hand turn off at nietvoorbiyj.
  • some oke cramps and just careens straight into two okes slowed down to take corner
  • sort of stops raining
  • get to finish, was on track for about a 3:20, end up with 4:15. ho hum, that's life!
  • have a spur burger
  • forgot phone in car, so need to phone wife using a good samaritan for the spare
  • know one of the race doctors so use his phone as a point of contact whilst i wait
  • go back to race village in wet clothes go 'chill with a waterbottle' at medic station
  • stops raining!
  • hero wifey arrives with spare key, get to car and leaves me with kids for the afternoon
</p></p>

Awesome tenacity and determination shown... Well done especially in less than comfortable conditions.

my SCT

• put sparetjoop in
  •  being a total IDJUT i have brought a crappy pump and don't pump to enough pressure
  • get riding again
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

attachicon.gifIMG_20171203_211855.jpg

•  
  • pump it back up
  •  
  •  
  • ride to finish
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • sort of stops raining
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • have a spur burger
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  • stops raining!
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

I must have passed you at some time or other. You should have gone bos asking for a tube. Maybe I would have seen you. I still had a spare with me.

Crazy number of flats suffered. Just thankful my ride was uneventful.

After my bad experience with a new Conti tube, I went and replaced all my Conti tubes with Giant tubes. In both my and my son's bikes. We pumped to 8 bar in front and 8.5 bar on rear. None of us had any issues in the race.

Luckily I am weary of potholes with water. I almost had an oops on the last day of W2W when I hit a water puddle on the ST close to the end and the hole was way deeper than it looked.

The problem for me with the really bad section of potholes was that when the bunch was rolling through there was nowhere to go to avoid them really. Hit one pothole, disguised as a puddle in the area shown by rider#35's pic, so hard there was a loud cracking noise and i was certain my fork or my teeth had shattered and my hands were knocked off the bars. By pure luck i somehow got through. Hope everyone who wasn't so lucky heal up soon.

Yep, no really a useful race for seeding if you are already in the front bunches.

But every once in a while the computer throws out a nice beta for this one, who knows with the bad conditions they might? Although the winning time is 5 minutes faster than last year so I'm not getting my hopes up 

Seeding out, Beta 1.04

I actually went up a group ..  0.51 into the next group   :clap:  :eek:  :wacko:  :wacko:

Seeding out, Beta

I actually went up a group .. 0.51 into the next group :clap: :eek: :wacko: :wacko:

The beta confuses me. Durbie Dash had a beta of 1.19 but is fast flat and slightly shorter. SCT was harder with Helshoogte and Rain with similar overall ascent and Beta only 1.04.

My time for both was identical 2:46 (funny that) and I found this ride harder. So would have thought it would have been a similar beta ateast not 15% difference

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

The beta confuses me. Durbie Dash had a beta of 1.19 but is fast flat and slightly shorter. SCT was harder with Helshoogte and Rain with similar overall ascent and Beta only 1.04.

My time for both was identical 2:46 (funny that) and I found this ride harder. So would have thought it would have been a similar beta ateast not 15% difference

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

I was third over the line at Debbie – – and finished in the second bunch on Sunday and got a better seeding for Sunday’s ride. Strange

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk