Is a 17.5 frame correct if I'm 1.8m tall?

peyperj

Hi all just purchased a Trek Fuel Ex (frame size 17.5). I'm 1.8m tall. Haven't had the time to go for test rides, etc.

I see that the sizing and fit guide on Trek website point me to 18.5 / 19.5.

The shop gave me two bikes to test in parking lot, my 17.5 and a 19.5. I am a newbie, so asked for their advice. They told me that I can choose either (17.5 & 19.5) they both fit.....

Am I just paranoid looking at the sizing chart, or will the 17.5 be fine?

post-125403-0-05605300-1519837287_thumb.jpg

Depends on your relative torso length as well as flexibility.

Relatively short torso and long legs, 17.5 should be fine, other way around and it wiont be..

I'm 1.83m and feel cramped on most L bikes because I've got a long torso and short legs relative to the norm.

They told me that I can choose either (17.5 & 19.5) they both fit.....

They probably weren't wrong as most of us can fit on 2 or even 3 different sized bikes with a tweak or two.

Stated size is also relative to geometry.

Thanks guys. I will double check with the shop. I am sure they set me up with the correct size. I'm just a little paranoid seeing the chart and I'm nowhere near a 17.5 frame.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Hmmmm, it might be the right size. If you are 1.8m tall you can definitely ride a 17.5", 100% correct nothing wrong with that.

1. It is normal for riders to get a smaller frame if they want something more agile or nimble.
2. A bigger frame is easier to control under high speed.

With that being said, going with your height = frame size isn't the only method. Use it as a guide line but not a decision maker. I for one prefer a smaller frame, I am 1,76m tall and I prefer a 17.5" and according to that chart that is smaller than recommended.