On 7/24/2022 at 10:35 AM, MORNE said:

I finished just before 2pm. 

7 minutes ago, MORNE said:

he's obviously infinitely better than me😅 DUH. 

...or he ran up it lol.

either way would have been faster. Also...the argument is kind of moot because he would have done that part probably n few hours before me (since he's awesome) and definitely a few 100 ebikes, mtbs, and DHF's and the sorts before met too. By the time we got there i was wondering where the "singletrack" was everybody mentioned haha. It was a 6m wide mud pit.

sarcasm font was assumed, no one compares to Beers the beast! Man i would have loved to have ridden that section before 2pm, it was quite juicy at 4:30pm. I came into a lady rider going the wrong way on her phone. turns out she was a 200miler and not sure if she was on the right track! she was (understandably) proper gatvol by then, some choice french when that little muddy river crossing came was totally appropriate.

1 minute ago, Shebeen said:

sarcasm font was assumed, no one compares to Beers the beast! Man i would have loved to have ridden that section before 2pm, it was quite juicy at 4:30pm. I came into a lady rider going the wrong way on her phone. turns out she was a 200miler and not sure if she was on the right track! she was (understandably) proper gatvol by then, some choice french when that little muddy river crossing came was totally appropriate.

no i got it lol.

just before the ferry we saw about 5 yellow dot riders heading home the way they came. Obviously decided it was not worth it lol. I'm super happy I decided to downgrade to the 60 miler though cant imagine what it must have been like around 16:30 like you mentioned. I was proper gatvol when i got to the friendly speedcop on the n2 saying only 2km to go...just to find more mud  around the corner through that foresty bit haha 

A few riders had their families pick them up with "tuna's" and bike racks around 75-80km.

Did anyone else see the dead Ratel (Badger) around this point. It was very close to that waterpoint...hope it didn't get shot because it was a nuisance to the point workers?...didn't look like roadkill.

15 minutes ago, Sid the Sloth said:

Poor poor bikes. If there was not a stock shortage before this race I won't be surprised if there is one after... Better get ordering those bb's

The LBS's must LOVE this event .... :P

8 minutes ago, MORNE said:

no i got it lol.

just before the ferry we saw about 5 yellow dot riders heading home the way they came. Obviously decided it was not worth it lol. I'm super happy I decided to downgrade to the 60 miler though cant imagine what it must have been like around 16:30 like you mentioned. I was proper gatvol when i got to the friendly speedcop on the n2 saying only 2km to go...just to find more mud  around the corner through that foresty bit haha 

A few riders had their families pick them up with "tuna's" and bike racks around 75-80km.

Did anyone else see the dead Ratel (Badger) around this point. It was very close to that waterpoint...hope it didn't get shot because it was a nuisance to the point workers?...didn't look like roadkill.

Thinking back to the weather forecast of last Monday .... who would have thought it would be THIS bad.

I was thinking a moist start, few puddles along the route, but certainly nothing like this.

9 minutes ago, ChrisF said:

Thinking back to the weather forecast of last Monday .... who would have thought it would be THIS bad.

I was thinking a moist start, few puddles along the route, but certainly nothing like this.

My second bottle was only for cleaning out my chain and rear mech every so often. chains were dropping all over the show around me too. The first time mine came off just before Malgas  i knew it was time to clean it as we went along. That ended up being my only drop. 

"super duper hi-tec mud clearing technology teeth" chainrings can only do so much, doesnt matter what cycling marketing material says.  😅

46 minutes ago, MORNE said:

he's obviously infinitely better than me😅 DUH. 

...or he ran up it lol.

either way would have been faster. Also...the argument is kind of moot because he would have done that part probably n few hours before me (since he's awesome) and definitely a few 100 ebikes, mtbs, and DHF's and the sorts before met too. By the time we got there i was wondering where the "singletrack" was everybody mentioned haha. It was a 6m wide mud pit.

And like i said...my bike was also way over geared for those conditions. 1-1 was not enough. you needed more granny in the rear or front to spin up a lot of that late mud. even some of the mtb's around me on rekons but 10-52T struggled pedalling up it. 

I had no trouble getting up there with 34t worn chainring and the 36 of my 10-50…..

5 minutes ago, DieselnDust said:

I had no trouble getting up there with 34t worn chainring and the 36 of my 10-50…..

...but i did on my 42/42.... gravel tires, on a rigid bike haha. Stop rubbing your superior fitness, tires, rear squish in my face ffs🤣  

clearly I should have gone to the race briefing.

I understood neutral zone to be, you must wait AT LEAST 45minutes , before going through the timing mat on the eastern side of the river.

image.png.64dd9e74b4cb7085e4babbdbc8dca161.png

image.png.a204b8a56b5f9298195d1a5fb75e5a03.png

Yet I look at provisional results and loads of people spent just 20-30minutes. does this get adjusted up to 45mins for them now? (I'm not that concerned about my result, I got a 1:48 neutral zone time - will never get that hour back?!)

for me it seems like there is no point in stopping short of just getting some quick chow and moving on - what am i missing?

How could that last 10km not be enjoyable?! It’s was the only real mountain biking in the whole route!!!

i men there I was questioning my life choices when this oke wearing a beanie jumps out from behind a bush “ diekant toe mnr, “ waving a flag. The extremely polite gentlemen I was riding with suddenly lost that politeness as the Belgian language expletives flowed faster than the mud. I just turned left turn on the low range , extra turbo boost (thanks Named) and goeied a Lange through the bosveld singing “where the streets have no name” with some improvised lyrics.

that stukie was lekker 

Edited by DieselnDust
41 minutes ago, Shebeen said:

clearly I should have gone to the race briefing.

I understood neutral zone to be, you must wait AT LEAST 45minutes , before going through the timing mat on the eastern side of the river.

image.png.64dd9e74b4cb7085e4babbdbc8dca161.png

image.png.a204b8a56b5f9298195d1a5fb75e5a03.png

Yet I look at provisional results and loads of people spent just 20-30minutes. does this get adjusted up to 45mins for them now? (I'm not that concerned about my result, I got a 1:48 neutral zone time - will never get that hour back?!)

for me it seems like there is no point in stopping short of just getting some quick chow and moving on - what am i missing?

Rules were pretty clear. You get a free 45 min max at the wp3 . Basically they add your two segments together. If your stoppage is longer than 45min then the clock starts at 45min 01sec

what would one do at WP3 for an hour anyways?

even with a long wait in the queue to wash my bike down, find my box, lube, extra energy bars and eat a toasted egg and bacon sandwich (roosterbrood does sound better) and chat to a mountain biking supermodel still managed to get out of dodge in 36min…!!!

5 minutes ago, DieselnDust said:

Rules were pretty clear. You get a free 45 min max at the wp3 . Basically they add your two segments together. If your stoppage is longer than 45min then the clock starts at 45min 01sec

what would one do at WP3 for an hour anyways?

even with a long wait in the queue to wash my bike down, find my box, lube, extra energy bars and eat a toasted egg and bacon sandwich (roosterbrood does sound better) and chat to a mountain biking supermodel still managed to get out of dodge in 36min…!!!

That is a lot more clear to me the way you put it.

My experience of this is from adventure races (and i guess double century?). You clock in, and then some official with a clipboard tells you when you can leave, not before. 

I was ready at 20mins, and sitting out on the western side with all the stuff to do there rather. turned out to be quite a *** move!

35 minutes ago, Shebeen said:

That is a lot more clear to me the way you put it.

My experience of this is from adventure races (and i guess double century?). You clock in, and then some official with a clipboard tells you when you can leave, not before. 

I was ready at 20mins, and sitting out on the western side with all the stuff to do there rather. turned out to be quite a *** move!

i already mentioned it...but it was docking as i rolled in and wasn't keen on destroying a hamburger mid ride....so i just filled my bottles with chain cleaner(water) and roled straight on through. think I stayed like 9min or something. glad i did after hearing about the downtime and the guys who had to do 50km detour lol

Edited by MORNE