Hi, gravel lovers....planning my own Garden Route Gravel adventure...

• George to Herold then Dysseldorp...via Montagu pass...I see reports about the pass being closed...anyone confirm?
  • Dysseldrop along Kammanassie Road to Uniondale
  • Uniondale to Avontuur via gravel roads (not the R339) - Possible?
  • Avontuur to Die Vlugt via gravel R339 then down to Knysna...a bit concerned about that last bit of the R339 where it comes to meet the N2 at the top of the hill outside eastern side of Kynsna ...sooo...There is a turn just after Diepwalle Forest station that goes across to the Gouna Road and comes into Knysna near Simola....any tips?
  • Out of Kynsna via Phantom Pass Road to the Rheeneldal road then onto Seven Passes road
  • Past Karatara and Hoekwil
  • Back to George

I'm looking for accommodation and camp spots along the way...There are a few I see along Kamanassie Road, from Uniondale down to Avontuur and Die Vlught and I'm sure there are a few along Seven Passes, my only gap is between Herold and Dysseldorp??

Lekka!

* George to Herold then Dysseldorp...via Montagu pass...I see reports about the pass being closed...anyone confirm?

Last I heard, Montagu pass is closed to all traffic. Not sure if it is possible to go over or around any gates, but probably not wise.
https://www.georgeherald.com/Galleries/Gallery/Local-News/seven-passes-work-to-begin-montagu-pass-still-waiting-202509241106

* Back to George

See the link above - that section of the Seven Passes road is also closed, supposedly work would have started last month. That said, Strava tells me some of the riders I know do ride that route, just this past weekend in fact, I guess you just have to be careful, and hope no official is having a bad day.

Uniondale to Avontuur via gravel roads (not the R339) - Possible?

Sounds like the start of the Karoo to Coast. I think there are gates involved, so might not be possible. Not sure who you would need to contact to find out about access.

From Avontuur to Simola is the same route as the Karoo to Coast. The road between Diepwalle and Gouna (Kom Se Pad) has some descents to be taken carefully, especially the cement one.

Came down Montagu about 4 weeks ago. You will be walking loads going up, it's a mess but I heard that it will be repaired. Not sure when. 7 passes is ridable all the way from George to Knysna. Tar road between George and Wilderness is single lane here and there but no issue riding it. 

Yoh, some good info here, thanks guys!

Walking up a pass.....pffftttt...good at that...

200m...pfffttt, NOTHING I tell you!...

Careful down descents...pffttt, luv descents...especially if its cement!!!!

Still working on the overnighting, seems a bit of wild camping will be on the cards! Got some practice in TankwaTankwaWildCamp.jpg.f292d567211bbb83e35f1b779882836a.jpg

31 minutes ago, Prince Albert Cycles said:

Took a group on a 7 day tour 10 days ago . Last day was Oudtshoorn through Paardepoort then Herholdt down Montague through top of George onto Wilderness.

Both Montague Pass and 7 Passes road after Saasveld had Road closed signs but looking a the tracks ample cyclists ride it .

Down Montague required a short ..200m ..walk

Yoh, I plan coming your way one day soon sir! I trip to Hell and Back is on the boil, but it will have to wait until temps calm down....but IT WILL BE DONE!

22 minutes ago, capediver said:

Careful down descents...pffttt, luv descents...especially if its cement!!!!

😁 The problem is when there is loose gravel on said steep cement descent, otherwise it is a fun one. After that sharp right it is fine

Screenshot_20251103_183548_Strava.jpg.3a03c59d30824f8d42a02a21a9d049b9.jpg

Edited by HdB
12 minutes ago, HdB said:

😁 The problem is when there is loose gravel on said steep cement descent, otherwise it is a fun one. After that sharp right it is fine

Screenshot_20251103_183548_Strava.jpg.3a03c59d30824f8d42a02a21a9d049b9.jpg

Great, thanks, ja that could be a bit tricky...I'll mark it on my map!

BTW on Ride With GPS, the section between Diepwalle past Gouna and ending near Simola is called Kom Se Gat...correct?

Edited by capediver
13 hours ago, capediver said:

BTW on Ride With GPS, the section between Diepwalle past Gouna and ending near Simola is called Kom Se Gat...correct?

Correct, rode it last inn December, had to pay for a day licence to use that section, forestry officials

were sitting at the gates

14 hours ago, capediver said:

Not quite 🤣 Kom Se Pad
image.png.22504fdcec08bf57178bb12c8d17c8ca.png

Although I'm sure a few people have seen their gatte along the section

17 hours ago, capediver said:

Hi, gravel lovers....planning my own Garden Route Gravel adventure...

• George to Herold then Dysseldorp...via Montagu pass...I see reports about the pass being closed...anyone confirm?
  • Dysseldrop along Kammanassie Road to Uniondale
  • Uniondale to Avontuur via gravel roads (not the R339) - Possible?
  • Avontuur to Die Vlugt via gravel R339 then down to Knysna...a bit concerned about that last bit of the R339 where it comes to meet the N2 at the top of the hill outside eastern side of Kynsna ...sooo...There is a turn just after Diepwalle Forest station that goes across to the Gouna Road and comes into Knysna near Simola....any tips?
  • Out of Kynsna via Phantom Pass Road to the Rheeneldal road then onto Seven Passes road
  • Past Karatara and Hoekwil
  • Back to George

I'm looking for accommodation and camp spots along the way...There are a few I see along Kamanassie Road, from Uniondale down to Avontuur and Die Vlught and I'm sure there are a few along Seven Passes, my only gap is between Herold and Dysseldorp??

Lekka!

Oh wow thats sounds lekker.

We two okes from GAU planning to ride from CT to George 1st week of December but this looks even better

I will keep an eye on this thread

7 minutes ago, Zeffer said:

We two okes from GAU planning to ride from CT to George 1st week of December but this looks even better

Cool...I'm trying to stay off main roads, aiming for early Mid Dec or Early Jan.....

7 hours ago, Zeffer said:

6 hours ago, capediver said:

Cool...I'm trying to stay off main roads, aiming for early Mid Dec or Early Jan.....

Please post dates, can do a leg with you.