Things I've learnt from commuting

zeabre

Bit late. But did the Tuesday drizzle commute. The SKS bluemels I put on a while back kept me nice and dry. Honestly don't know why it took me so long to get them.

THANKS for the tip.

Picked up my SKS Shockblade today, for the front wheel.  Thanks to the rear carrier I dont need a guard at the back.

Nice thing is that this guard clips in and out effortlessly.  so easy to remove when the weather is nice.

• Replies 4.1k

My route takes in part of the Thembisa and Alexander commuter routes.

Frequently I stop to help fellow commuters fix punctures, replace tubes and other road side repairs.

When I see the state of repair that these bikes are in , I am gratefully that I have the means to buy decent equipment and maintain it properly. I also have "the call a wife" option if I have a catastrophic failure and can't fix my bike.

Yesterday I spent 45 minutes trying to fix a 6 speed derailer that started falling into pieces as we worked on it. Eventually I converted bike to a singlespeed.

I do wish these commuters did not use ship's grease on their chains. It takes forever to clean my hands when I get home.

Driving out of CT CBD along FW De Klerk yesterday afternoon I was surprised at the number of cyclists using that route, instead of the Cycle lane.Really sad state of affairs when you cannot make use of the cycle lane for fear of crime in spite of all the security cameras ,patrols etc

Frequently I stop to help fellow commuters fix punctures, replace tubes and other road side repairs.

When I see the state of repair that these bikes are in , I am gratefully that I have the means to buy decent equipment and maintain it properly. I also have "the call a wife" option if I have a catastrophic failure and can't fix my bike.

Yesterday I spent 45 minutes trying to fix a 6 speed derailer that started falling into pieces as we worked on it. Eventually I converted bike to a singlespeed.

I do wish these commuters did not use ship's grease on their chains. It takes forever to clean my hands when I get home.

Had a commuter in front of me on Tuesday morning.  He walked up Suikerbossie (Bellville), then delicately started cycling .... It was only when I caught up to him that I realised why ....  The rear axle is so buggered that the wheel rubs against the upright posts !!  And this commuter is fortunate not to have to take a taxi ....

Truly grateful for the blessings we have !!

I have a set of latex gloves in my tool kit.  When dealing with a mechanical issue, especially the chain I put the gloves on and dispose of afterwords.

Driving out of CT CBD along FW De Klerk yesterday afternoon I was surprised at the number of cyclists using that route, instead of the Cycle lane.Really sad state of affairs when you cannot make use of the cycle lane for fear of crime in spite of all the security cameras ,patrols etc

Many solo riders take that route to avoid the high risk stretch of cycle lane parallel to the railway lines

I have a set of latex gloves in my tool kit.  When dealing with a mechanical issue, especially the chain I put the gloves on and dispose of afterwords.

Tip of the day, when you take the dirty latex gloves off, turn them inside out and you can use them again on your commuter bike when needing to make a repair.

Many solo riders take that route to avoid the high risk stretch of cycle lane parallel to the railway lines

Tip of the day, when you take the dirty latex gloves off, turn them inside out and you can use them again on your commuter bike when needing to make a repair.

Good tip. Luckily  I have not had so many technicals ever on a ride that I had to use it twice ;)

Our group is generally between 10-16 riders, and I am the designated wrench .... so mine get used often :P

Good tip. Luckily  I have not had so many technicals ever on a ride that I had to use it twice ;)

Our group is generally between 10-16 riders, and I am the designated wrench .... so mine get used often :P

I hope they pay for the beers on Fridays :)

we have a revolving beer principle .... one person takes a turn to buy all the beers and then the next, and "so on and so forth" :)

I hope they pay for the beers on Fridays :)

Be careful at Lagoon Beach traffic lights.Yesterday afternoon it looked like there had been a coming together of two cyclists .One had been coming down the hill and the other must have come from the hotel side and the must have hit each other on the corner.

It also scares me when I see guys ramp off the cycle lane to cross at the lights without looking to see what the cars behind are doing.Its lekker but dangerous!!

The best most fun way to approach this intersection from the city direction, is to take the pedestrian crossing, keep to the left and then up on the right hand side of the upturned kerb, this gives you decent little air ... you then swing your hips and you get to go a little sideways before landing again .... lot's of fun.

Be careful at Lagoon Beach traffic lights.Yesterday afternoon it looked like there had been a coming together of two cyclists .One had been coming down the hill and the other must have come from the hotel side and the must have hit each other on the corner.

It also scares me when I see guys ramp off the cycle lane to cross at the lights without looking to see what the cars behind are doing.Its lekker but dangerous!!

What I have learned from commuting this week with the load shedding...

When robots are out and becomes a 4-way stop for cars - bicycles become completely invisible, (especially at busy intersections) - not sure if it's just me but geez what a struggle.

I ride "with" a car when they cross and use this as protection

What I have learned from commuting this week with the load shedding...

When robots are out and becomes a 4-way stop for cars - bicycles become completely invisible, (especially at busy intersections) - not sure if it's just me but geez what a struggle.