my little run in with a bakkie

Cappi

• Replies 32

if you have the time - report it. if the cops have the time and there is a van available insist that they accompany you to the address of the perp and confront him. sometimes the cops just love getting out of the office and being referee to an argument. i spoilt a parow boytjies birthday braai one sunday when i rocked up at his door with a cop. he denied everything and then spoilt it all by saying "i somme moer you right in front of the cops"

Edited by Omar

I imagine this works well for the guys, but will backfire miserably for us gals. I'll stay tuned for more advice.

Laugh. Loudly.

That's what I fear more than an accident itself here, is the aftermath - I tend to loose it when someone almost takes me out, only thanks to me avoiding the accident it doesn't happen, one day its going to be a violent character on the edge in that car, with a gun or baseball bat, who will not take kindly to being shouted at.

I imagine this works well for the guys, but will backfire miserably for us gals. I'll stay tuned for more advice.

I try not to give in to road rage, but somedays its a bit more difficult than others. One thing however always happens, as soon as i see its a lady that im supposed to be mad at i cant help it but just to smile and wave. You have the advantage there

That's what I fear more than an accident itself here, is the aftermath - I tend to loose it when someone almost takes me out, only thanks to me avoiding the accident it doesn't happen, one day its going to be a violent character on the edge in that car, with a gun or baseball bat, who will not take kindly to being shouted at.

One thing ive learnt is that you never accomplish anything by shouting at another person. If he did it on purpose, you shouting at him will not change his mind and you will only cause your own blood pressure to rise. If it was not on purpose you dont always know what his situation is, maybe he's driving in an area for the first time or just made a stupid mistake (like every single one of us has done). Point is that you will be a lot happier if you stop trying to always find fault with other people or to tell them how bad a driver they are and how good you are. Just smile and wave.

Also if if it was you who made the mistake, just raise your hand and amdit you made a mistake and say sorry. Its takes very little effort, but goes a long way in defusing a situation

Just my $ 0.00188 worth

Edited by Oxter

It's bloody hard to let it go in the heat of the moment.

On another point although it's a bit of an obscure point. I honestly think many drivers act like idiots towards cyclists because cyclists do look a bit like idiots themselves in shiny tight kit. There is a perception I think that the sport is full of rich people spending lots of money on looking professional when in fact they are pretty average.

I don't have a point to make other than I think this plays a part in some peoples angst towards cyclists. I happen to be one of those cyclist in shiny kit but I do think we look like tosses.

Make the incantation of ,Alibaba and the seven waffles with Pippie Long-stockings on a pony', while muttering under your breath.

freaks them out every time

be friendly but be ever so ready to fight or flee

not to derail the thread.

On the flipside, last week i done 300kms riding in the peninsula, during peak and off peak times. Up Constantia Nek, down lower Salt River Main Road, Chappies etc. At times it was congested as well. I must say the cars, trucks, taxis and buses were extremely courteous. I was given space. at times when there were cars parked on the side of the road. Cars tailed a group of us going up constantia nek because they wanted clear air to overtake, showing alot of patience. I was yielded to, given right of way several times. So yes there are idiots on the road but at the same time I also experience a load of courteous and patient drivers. Some even give a 'slight' hoot to make sure you know they are coming up behind you and going to overtake. I always go out of my way to thank those drivers by waving them and giving a thumbs up.

i just scrolled through 2 pages of comments and didnt see a single bakkie :(

http://nukelearfishing.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/bowl.jpg

my pleasure

He drove away. :eek: :oops: :w00t:

http://www.americancrisis.us/images/2013_10_04_085552_0_img-20131003-wa000.jpg

In my experience, if you had time to shout, it wasn't life threatening enough to get angry about :whistling: