my riding partner is awesome

Wayne Potgieter

• Replies 63

RIDING PARTNERS :eek:  :eek: URBAN legend, they died off when straava started, now i have guys who ride roughly the same time as me, same route but i dont see them,,,,,then i got "mates" like the OP who rides in my woods and i dont crack invites :ph34r:  :ph34r:

Having an awesome riding partner is one of life's best treats. My other (better) half has become my riding partner. Yes, I am no longer riding as much or nearly as fast as I was, but she's quite competitive, so in time that might change. For now, it's been such a super awesome experience to have zero guilt when dragging the bike out for a ride, as hers comes out too and instead of feeling like you're going off to selfishly enjoy yourself at the expense of your life partner, you turn around and see them smile back at you before the words, "let's go!"

Mine also packs in a large helping of biltong, nuts and superC's!

RIDING PARTNERS :eek: :eek: URBAN legend, they died off when straava started, now i have guys who ride roughly the same time as me, same route but i dont see them,,,,,then i got "mates" like the OP who rides in my woods and i dont crack invites :ph34r: :ph34r:

i though you gave up cycling to play croquet?

JOKES ASIDE im lucky i got a few great riding partners

those i do stage races with, they there for me when im in mordor, and i know what to expect

those who say lets ride and talk shiit and stop for a beer  type partners

those parnters who make me bleed while riding next to me on one wheel taking pics(bastid you know who you are)

then my commuter partner, most chilled patient oke out there, always motivating me and gets me to bleed while enjoying the ride

WIFE ALWAYS JOKES I GOT A BETTER BOND WITH MY RIDING PARTNERS THAN I DO WITH HER :ph34r:  :ph34r:

Having an awesome riding partner is one of life's best treats. My other (better) half has become my riding partner. Yes, I am no longer riding as much or nearly as fast as I was, but she's quite competitive, so in time that might change. For now, it's been such a super awesome experience to have zero guilt when dragging the bike out for a ride, as hers comes out too and instead of feeling like you're going off to selfishly enjoy yourself at the expense of your life partner, you turn around and see them smile back at you before the words, "let's go!"

Mine also packs in a large helping of biltong, nuts and superC's!

I also train with my wife. 

she carries the food and I carry the spares.

I ride lots of different folks, but the most inspirational is a man whom was hands and feet we hurt as a child in a fire.  He has adjusted his braking and gearing to compensate.  He does not feel sorry for himself or make excuses instead he puts an old camelbak filled with 8kg of sand on his back, gets on his mtb and sets the pace for all of us.  I call him "Drill sergeant"  because he challenges me up the hills and makes me bleed.

I have several riding buddies, all great:

1. My 76 year old father. I ride one road race a year with him and we both treasure it like it is the one and only race we'll ever do. Planning to ride the Argus with him again this year.

2. My 14 & 15 year old sons. No matter how much I struggle to get them to wake up early (teenagers!) and go for a ride. The mere fact that they do it with their old man qualify them as super riding buddies, even though I make up the drinks, pack the food, pump the tires and service the bikes. I've NEVER had a bad day on the bike with them!

3 Beattbox! We somehow complement each other on the tough long rides and especially on multi-day races. In all the years, not once did we have a fight, I think, mostly because he is a proper gentleman and his word is his word, always.

4. Pain Or Shine! He's the one that always wait for me on the mountain, both going up and flying down. He's also the one that picks up the pieces when I break bones and has to be gathered up and taken to hospital to be put back together. (He's a bit squeamish, so I appreciate it a huge lot.)

I have several riding buddies, all great:

1. My 76 year old father. I ride one road race a year with him and we both treasure it like it is the one and only race we'll ever do. Planning to ride the Argus with him again this year.

2. My 14 & 15 year old sons. No matter how much I struggle to get them to wake up early (teenagers!) and go for a ride. The mere fact that they do it with their old man qualify them as super riding buddies, even though I make up the drinks, pack the food, pump the tires and service the bikes. I've NEVER had a bad day on the bike with them!

these two for the win

My riding buddies are awesome because they always wait for me  :thumbup:  :thumbup:

They wait for you cause they like having someone scary in the bunch to ward off muggers, etc...

I ride lots of different folks, but the most inspirational is a man whom was hands and feet we hurt as a child in a fire.  He has adjusted his braking and gearing to compensate.  He does not feel sorry for himself or make excuses instead he puts an old camelbak filled with 8kg of sand on his back, gets on his mtb and sets the pace for all of us.  I call him "Drill sergeant"  because he challenges me up the hills and makes me bleed.

lol, your typo in the first 6 words is really funny... but Sgt. sound like a lekker oke!