Emperors Palace Classic 2015

Harryn

A NW wind is the normal direction, for the East Rand, that the wind blows from, and usully associated with fair weather.

Good luck to all riding/racing tomorrow.

• Replies 328

Gor reseede and off with VC. As expected got popped on the only hill but man I was almost there. Did the next 60km with a mate. Managed a 2:41.

An uneventful race. Never saw a single incident. Marshaling was perfect from what I saw.

Lovely day out.

My race synopsis from DL...

An extremely quick start out of the blocks, with big groups which got a little scary around those 90 degree bends in the first 3 km.

The problem with these flat courses is that the bunches don't really dwindle at all, so I placed myself in the first 5 places of DL most of the way...

A few dropped off at 40km on that uphill drag past the township on the left, but still a big group until 75km, when a large group went down. Hard. Not lekker to hear the scraping carbon and metal on tar, my riding partner was involved and is in a pretty bad way. Concussion. Loose teeth, and a lot of blood.

Just missed it, and by just I mean it happened right next to me. (Thanks guardian angel, I owe you big time)

Came over the line in 2h39, finished 12th in the group...

Happy with that. Roll on Tour Durban...

Started so late that I went off with the tandems from  the 50km instead of the C group. Still managed to do a 2h58 though which Im satisfied with. Thanks to the nice group of men I rode with for about 60km - Jerry and Na'im (sp) for sharing the work at the front. Saw one guy that looked like he might have been hit by a car, was getting oxygen. And then there was a crash between two guys about 5km before the end, think they touched wheels. Sounded nasty. Route was very well marshaled. 

If the two MTB guys I spoke to at the finish line are on here (on a Bulls and a Cannondale with lefty fork) are on here - catch you at Clarens next weekend.

That accident at 75 was serious, lots of blood on the road...ugly site and hope the okes are all ok...another accident close to the end ,looked serious but can't be sure..bout 200 meters from the end.

had a great race from FL ...bunch of guys kitted in white pulled the group most of the way..by 10 kays we had caught a group from EL as an example. Hung as long as I could but legs tired so dropped off around 60kays....

Not sure how accurate the seeding was an I guess you are always going to get anomalies but we were catching BL, CL , DL etc ..maybe seedlings should be done over a shorter period of time than current. The difference win speed of the 102 and 55 riders was large and sharing the same piece of road is potentially dangerous. My last beef is about an ou that was pushing his girlfriend over the course, now we all understand why and all ,but if she is not capable then she needs to work at it , pointless getting into groups which are too good..he was a very proficient rider..

Nice day out, pity about the traffic getting to the venue.

Hope the ous heal up quick quick

That final 20-something kays where the short course riders merged with the long course made for some very hairy and tense bunch riding. Dangerous for everyone, and there was a lot of shouting and yelling the rest of the way home.

Besides that, it was very well marshalled and managed.

Nearly got mt first ever 40 km/h ave speed - it dropped below on that final uphill drag to the finish. Ah well, it gives me a good reason to come back next year :). Thanks Gauteng and so long - blerry long drive back to warm Durbs ahead of me know. Eish.

My race synopsis from DL...
An extremely quick start out of the blocks, with big groups which got a little scary around those 90 degree bends in the first 3 km.
The problem with these flat courses is that the bunches don't really dwindle at all, so I placed myself in the first 5 places of DL most of the way...
A few dropped off at 40km on that uphill drag past the township on the left, but still a big group until 75km, when a large group went down. Hard. Not lekker to hear the scraping carbon and metal on tar, my riding partner was involved and is in a pretty bad way. Concussion. Loose teeth, and a lot of blood.
Just missed it, and by just I mean it happened right next to me. (Thanks guardian angel, I owe you big time)

Came over the line in 2h38, finished in the first 10 of the group I reckon...

Happy with that. Roll on Tour Durban...

I was petty close to that fall in DL,from there on at the back for me_trying to stay out of trouble

Safe journey Tombeej. Going to miss your comments during the Rouxbai this afternoon

Thank you, Happy :).

I hope you guys watching the TV will be posting like mad on The Classics thread to keep me entertained. So bummed I'm going to miss the show.

Thank you, Happy :).

I hope you guys watching the TV will be posting like mad on The Classics thread to keep me entertained. So bummed I'm going to miss the show.

Fingers ready. . All I need is TV coverage. . Safe travels.

Interesting day out, missed my EL start due to the traffic chaos and parking, eventually went off with BM (that late!!)...No groups, 1 or 2 riders who also missed their start times sort of tried to make groups but did not last...So was pretty much a solo ride ( where was that tail wind to finish as did not see it ).. Finished with a 3:14hr... Will put it down to more base training for the Panorama tour.

Being so late out of the blocks saw the remnants of most of the accidents, they did not look pretty... Hope the guys recover well and quickly