Determining the correct chain length

Bateleur1

The chain on my roadbike is due for replacement.  I suspect that the LBS that did the last chain replacement might have setup the chain slightly too long. I know that when replacing a chain you should not measure the lenght of the new chain with that of the old as the old chain is stretched.

How do I determine the correct chain lenght for my bike?

The chain on my roadbike is due for replacement.  I suspect that the LBS that did the last chain replacement might have setup the chain slightly too long. I know that when replacing a chain you should not measure the lenght of the new chain with that of the old as the old chain is stretched.

How do I determine the correct chain lenght for my bike?

https://youtu.be/LC8_ndnXJUY?t=152

I put the new chain on the big ring front and big ring back without going through the derailleur and add 2 links. Thats always worked for me. Think that is the Shimano recommended method aswell.

that is what I use and should work lekker for hardtail and roadbikes. Dual sussers with chain growth needs another step...these okes explain it well

It used to be quite easy until someone had the idea of adding a large chainring to the cassette!   Now life is so complicated.  I check the old chain on the extremes of the cassette and crank (small-small and big-big).

On the small-small setting the chain must not be slack and just clear the jockey wheel and on the big-big there must still be enough slack on the RD cage for it to move forward if your chain catches, reducing the possibility of damage to the RD or hangar.  On a cassette with a wide range you may have to compromise one extreme and have the chain right for where you are most likely to ride.

If the old chain is right use it to measure the new.

It used to be quite easy until someone had the idea of adding a large chainring to the cassette!   Now life is so complicated.  I check the old chain on the extremes of the cassette and crank (small-small and big-big).

On the small-small setting the chain must not be slack and just clear the jockey wheel and on the big-big there must still be enough slack on the RD cage for it to move forward if your chain catches, reducing the possibility of damage to the RD or hangar.  On a cassette with a wide range you may have to compromise one extreme and have the chain right for where you are most likely to ride.

If the old chain is right use it to measure the new.

how do you compromise? 

This method has worked 100% for me on dual suspension with a 1x10/11 setup. It should also work if you're running a 2x10/11, however, if you're running a 2x setup with a massive ring on the back, it will mean that your small / small will have lots of spare chain. 

IMO if you're running 2x you can save yourself the chain issue by not running a massive ring on the back. Then rather go 1x.

• 2 months later...

Eish some days I realise how little I actually know about bikes. I have a 3x10 xt setup on my dual suss. About a month ago I bought a new chain without thinking, only to notice whilst I'm fitting it I bought a 9 speed chain. So now ordered another chain, made sure it's 10 speed and busy fitting it now.

Took the old chain off and it's 3 links longer than the new chain. The new chain is a shimano HG95 112L. On my front ring it says HG-X chain only. So, is it compatible?

I tried the method of putting it on the big front and back rings and it's got about 2 chain links to spare. Should I fit and see what happens?

I see now on the first post you shouldn't do what I just did (measure new with old chain length). Can a chain really stretch that much? Didn't really have any issues shifting

Eish some days I realise how little I actually know about bikes. I have a 3x10 xt setup on my dual suss. About a month ago I bought a new chain without thinking, only to notice whilst I'm fitting it I bought a 9 speed chain. So now ordered another chain, made sure it's 10 speed and busy fitting it now.

Took the old chain off and it's 3 links longer than the new chain. The new chain is a shimano HG95 112L. On my front ring it says HG-X chain only. So, is it compatible?

I tried the method of putting it on the big front and back rings and it's got about 2 chain links to spare. Should I fit and see what happens?

yes HG95 is a HG-X chain. Chains that come in the box normally have 116 links. Some of the online stores sell unpackaged chains that are shorter. I have some spare new HG95 links but getting them to you could be a mission. I'm in Pmb ...if there's an easy way, PM me.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk