Bicycle licence fees

Mojoman

We have not had a classic Friday in a long while - here's to tomorrow !!

BTW did you know that animal drawn vehicles have right of way in ALL instances.(by law - fact)

• Replies 211

This is exactly the point - if we threaten violence, attack the dignity of others etcetera we lose any claim to the moral high ground. This is about ALL road users participating in a culture of aggression and entitled lawlessness. This is what needs to be addressed.

Look no matter how we try and paint it, lots of cyclists are not angels and behave in a way that pisses other road users off.

We must fight the battle of educating the motorists about cyclist rights, and we must also address the morons amongst us.

People don't care about your rights if you act like a lawbreaking idiot.

We can't preach rights if we piss on the laws.

I wonder what would happen if people start to use horses on the road to go here and there.

Almost like the cape cart association.

Cape-flats-scrap-collectors.jpg

I always feel sorry for these poor animals. Life of misery for them. Seen some nasty bits of tack, barbed wired for bits etc....

Never mind....

Another day....another hater.

I wonder if a cyclist ran off with his boyfriend?

Maybe his boyfriend is a cyclist and that is why he is so pissed off !!

When I'm dead I'm dead. I will not feel anything any more.

And I'll certainly not be having conversations with a theoretical god that in all likelihood does not even exist. But the theological debate is one that had no place on the hub.

You seem very sure of your facts...

I often get the feeling when reading these cyclist vs motorist threads that a lot of us want to have our cake and eat it.  

A few weeks ago I was driving through Stellenbosch on my way to Welvenpas.  I don't know the name of the road but it's the one that comes from Somerset West and takes you along the edge of town, two lanes each direction.  It's pretty narrow and not really wide enough to give a cyclist room if two cars are next to each other when passing.  A group of cyclist's were riding along when a bakkie squeezed past and did not give much room, understandably there was a lot of fist shaking and I'm sure a few choice comments as well.

Not far up the road is an intersection and traffic light where the road becomes three lanes, the right lane for turning right, middle for straight and left for straight or left turn.  I was in the middle lane waiting for the lights to change from red when this group of cyclist's came whizzing past between me and the cars in the left lane, jumped the light as it was changing and cut across the car at the front to turn left.  The light changed to green before the entire group had gone past and the car in that lane had been wanting to go straight.  

To me this is completely unacceptable, what if the light had changed just before the group got to the front and the car had started to drive off and hit one of the cyclist's, we would all be sitting on the hub later that day complaining of another ignorant motorist hitting a cyclist.  If we want to be respected on the road we need to respect the rules of the road.  Yes there will always be motorist who couldn't care less as there will always be cyclist's who break every rule, but cry foul when not given space by a motorist, but change has to start somewhere and usually with someone getting off their high horse and taking the first step.

Every week there is one of these threads and the same stuff gets said everytime and it ends up at the same conclusion - we won't back down until motorist respect us.  In ten years time we will still be posting the same comments in one of these threads because no one is willing to take the first step.

Before I get flamed, I don't live in a city and only have to ride the 3km to the trails on the road, so although I grasp the concept of bad city driving I don't feel the understandable anger a lot of you do from almost being killed on a daily basis but ranting about motorists on a cycling website seems like a bit of a waste of time to me.  It would be better posting to the city officials twitter accounts.

This ^

Notice point 1 & 3 of his little list of cyclist sins

1.) Cyclists do not obey the laws of the road and even think themselves above the law.

3.) Cyclists do not stop at stop signs and red traffic lights.

When we slowly roll over a read light when there is no oncoming traffic while the oke in his car waiting for the light sees us doing it, point n1 is what is going through his head yet we still don't get where this antagonism is coming from?

We rightly demand that motorists respect the laws but we must respect it ourselves, even the stupid inconvenient ones.

It's been a long time since I saw a post on the hub or web demanding or lambasting a motorist stops when a light goes red. Or when a motorist does not stop and a pedestrian crossing. Or when a motorist speeds. Or when a motorist overtakes on a blind rise on a solid. Or when a motorist double parks (not near a bike lane). Or when a motorist parks in a disabled bay. Or on a red line.  Never mind cell phones as we do see a few posts on those and drunk driving.

They are every day occurrences and tend to be over looked by everyone. But a cyclist fails to stop at a clear stop street or a T-Junction red with a solid pavement on the left and WE ARE LAWBREAKERS, with no respect for the law?

Hypocrisy of the highest order which justifies cyclists being fair game?

I think if we analyse it, there are at most 3 laws cyclists are likely to break. Stopping at stops and reds. And riding 2 abreast. Which the majority of us obey anyway.

I know I obey every other road rule every time I ride otherwise I doubt I'd be alive.

So is it REALLY a justification for people like the writer of the offending piece to rant on and on?

Ja my friend of all the D's and T. Unfortunately we will not listen.

Just a thought would be for all cyclists to be identifiable (Name Tags?), so that jumping robots and stop streets would be an easier name and shame process. Cyclists will continue to disobey due to the inconvenience factor but I suspect more so because of anonymity.

This Bruce oke is a heavy hitter!!   Should we be testing athletes for Steroids?

steroid-alternatives-300x294.jpg

With the influx of arguments from all over the globe about unfair testing of athletes in sport, especially in women, one has to ask the question… Is it worth it?

Another option of course would be to not test athletes at all.  After-all, sport is no longer a passion or a hobby, as it was in years passed, but merely a driving force for money under the cover of entertainment.   I for one, don’t watch sport anymore.  What is the point?  Everyone is clearly cheating at International level.  It is not a question of using steroids anymore, it is more a question of what steroid and how much.  It has become a required necessity to be one of the elites in modern day sport.  One can but only hope our youth understands this predicament and see it for what it is… 

I say don’t test them anymore, let them make a spectacle of themselves. 

After all… that is what entertainment is about, isn’t it?

(The views in this article are not necessarily the views of the writer)

The problem is "collective responsibility" - if we blame ALL cyclists for the actions of SOME cyclists and blame ALL motorists the actions of SOME motorists then both cycists and motorists ARE ALL arseholes.

Perhaps we should start seeing each person as an individual and asigning responsibility/blame/hate etc on that 1 human being.

All collective responsibility does is ensures everybody hates everybosy else....