• Replies 1.5k

I find it most upsetting that there are only 2 braai broodjies on the fire[emoji33]

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Sorry Gen... kids weren't home and Swambo was on a diet... so both mine... 

My one son always removes all the relish from his burgers, leaving only the patty and the sauce. He calls it removing the aliens.

Wish... kids are strange. Mine refuses a burger unless completely nude bar the bun.... no relish, no onion, no nothing on it. Bun+patty. That's it.

I find it most distressing as an ex-Vaalie that this braai draad makes no mention of pap en smoor. Or any decent smoor recipes.

Where are all our Vaalies? Or ex-Vaalies since it seems half of Pretoria now lives in the Helderberg basin.

Smoor???? What's that? Like shebo?

Sous. Ja, I also went whaaat when a Capie asked if I want smoor with my wors on the bun. Now I talk just like them.

I've had pap en sous, when I lived in the Eastern Cape for 3 years. It's one of the best things I've ever tasted.

Ek is stout vir 'n stukkie smoor op 'n boerewors rol.

I usually order a "boerie met alles." Extra lekker when consumed on the pavement outside Newlands on the way to a game.

But with pap? Maybe it's a vaalie thing?

My wife (also a vaalie) also thinks it's great, but she is yet take it with a Braai. So it's either alot of work, or not that great?

I know a tannie who always makes a paptert for a braai. Flippen lekker. Looks a bit like this

paptert2.jpg

or this

http://lowvelder.co.za/wp-content/uploads/sites/44/2016/05/709ea9ab1b862b05a93d2aabcc0eace0.jpg

Never understood people who do fish on a braai.

When I was younger we lived in Kommetjie for a while, and it became a thing to have snoek braais amongst my parents and their friends, buying from the back of bakkies..... Im still picking out bones from my mouth and trying  to wash the smell out of my clothes.

I know a tannie who always makes a paptert for a braai. Flippen lekker. Looks a bit like this

paptert2.jpg

or this

http://lowvelder.co.za/wp-content/uploads/sites/44/2016/05/709ea9ab1b862b05a93d2aabcc0eace0.jpg

when I was in the army in PTA I stayed with my cousin some weekends. She made a similar pap tert for the braai. I never even bothered with the meat. Jayssuss that thing is kief.

When I was younger we lived in Kommetjie for a while, and it became a thing to have snoek braais amongst my parents and their friends, buying from the back of bakkies..... Im still picking out bones from my mouth and trying  to wash the smell out of my clothes.

You lived at the Kom? You are a never ending man of mystery! 

ah shurrup. they're selling blue tyres on CWC - will go with your long socks.. :mellow:

Snoek is lekker. Kabeljou is lekerrer. Galjoen and Elf is lekkerest.