Odinson Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 I know this thread is a minefield for asking questions, but I am REALLY trying to understand this, are you saying if "person x" biggest climb is 750m as a downhill rider that is decent?? Maybe I really dont understand the discipline (down hill) but all the hills ive gone down as a buffalo I had to work my ass off to get to the top to enjoy the downnow as a weekend warrior(at best) 750m was my 2 commute rides to and from work a few years ago. I understand the concept of distance and climbing, all I am saying Is clearly I misunderstood that those mad buggers going down hills should/could actually climb them please Duane/Vetseun dont like my post I am already receiving death threats for asking questions I get what you're trying to say, Dips. Yes, 750m isn't a huge amount of climbing, but perhaps it might be for someone like Myles. At the end of the day, I think Myles was unprepared for the event, but still gave it a go and enjoyed himself. There is no reason he should be raked over the coals for making a write-up of his experience. Perhaps a better thread title would've been 'My Ezel Enduro Experience'.
Donovan Le Cok Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 Thanks for the write up Myles. Some may have finished, but most wouldn't have the ability to draw a picture of the day with your words and pictures. Well done. Its a pity that every thread on this site descents into a puerile sewage fest these days... Basically why I don't post much here anymore.
NicoBoshoff Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 Meurant remarked afterwards that he isn't sure if his bubblegum Enduro races are more fun. They are certainly more accessible and definitely the place to go to give the format a try.Next one is 12nov at Simonsberg , and I really recommend that you enter it. They are lank fun.Sien jou daar. My post-natal comeback begin die 12de.
Piston ZA Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 Meurant remarked afterwards that he isn't sure if his bubblegum Enduro races are more fun. They are certainly more accessible and definitely the place to go to give the format a try.Next one is 12nov at Simonsberg , and I really recommend that you enter it. They are lank fun.Thanks, unfortunately I'll be away that weekend, but will keep an eye out on the upcoming Dirtopia events
GrahamS2 Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 If only this event was *gasp* INVITATION ONLY.
Slowbee Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 Two things stick out for me: 1.This idea that only finishes can write ride reports. The notion that Mrs Slowbee would (should) not have been allowed to write a ride report on S2C if she did not finish amounts to a pile of manure. Ride reports are all about experiences and inspiring others to give it a go, or help others give it a go. 2.I have not really looked into this thread. But sometimes hubbers really confuse me. You will report the living daylights out of trivial stuff on other threads, but when posts really could do with moderating non of you bother. As someone said, twilight stuff!
Bloukrans Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 Lekker write up Myles!! Bliksem I better finish all my races if I want to share it on the hub! WTF Vettie, I'm looking forward reading your Munga report
NicoBoshoff Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 Well Myles, if anything, you've given the Hub and the Ezelenduro a sh*it ton of marketing with this. I reckon a free entry to 2018 is in order (subject to you finishing ).
Captain Fastbastard Mayhem Posted October 18, 2017 Author Posted October 18, 2017 I know this thread is a minefield for asking questions, but I am REALLY trying to understand this, are you saying if "person x" biggest climb is 750m as a downhill rider that is decent?? Maybe I really dont understand the discipline (down hill) but all the hills ive gone down as a buffalo I had to work my ass off to get to the top to enjoy the downnow as a weekend warrior(at best) 750m was my 2 commute rides to and from work a few years ago. I understand the concept of distance and climbing, all I am saying Is clearly I misunderstood that those mad buggers going down hills should/could actually climb them please Duane/Vetseun dont like my post I am already receiving death threats for asking questionsNo, 750m is not a lot. But it is what an average SA Enduro would have Ito climbing. Having said that, I now have a new max and a new standard to surpass. What is life without self improvement, anyway?
porqui Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 Good one Myles !! I did the Esel 3 day stage event.My first outing at EselsMy first stage raceMy first night race I DID NOT FINISH But hell I CAN tell you more than just a thing or two about Esels Bit my ass but I was there. I wish I had writing skills because Esels is worth writing about.
Captain Fastbastard Mayhem Posted October 18, 2017 Author Posted October 18, 2017 Well Myles, if anything, you've given the Hub and the Ezelenduro a sh*it ton of marketing with this. I reckon a free entry to 2018 is in order (subject to you finishing ).???? Yeah dude. And if more people enter, great. More stoke to share and more people to push outside their comfort zones.
DIPSLICK Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 I get what you're trying to say, Dips. Yes, 750m isn't a huge amount of climbing, but perhaps it might be for someone like Myles. At the end of the day, I think Myles was unprepared for the event, but still gave it a go and enjoyed himself. There is no reason he should be raked over the coals for making a write-up of his experience. Perhaps a better thread title would've been 'My Ezel Enduro Experience'. 100% to be honest my initial reaction to the climbing was not based on the write upmyles posts huge amount of gravity advise and feedback,,,again my ASSumption was guys who play in mountains are mountain goats,,,they climb ill keep out of this clearly im not getting my point accross
Bloukrans Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 Good one Myles !! I did the Esel 3 day stage event.My first outing at EselsMy first stage raceMy first night race I DID NOT FINISH But hell I CAN tell you more than just a thing or two about Esels Bit my ass but I was there. I wish I had writing skills because Esels is worth writing about.No, you cannot write as you did not finish
Bloukrans Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 100% to be honest my initial reaction to the climbing was not based on the write upmyles posts huge amount of gravity advise and feedback,,,again my ASSumption was guys who play in mountains are mountain goats,,,they climb ill keep out of this clearly im not getting my point accrossIt's not the first time... Just kidding
dev null Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 Good thing I finished the Piket-Bo-Berg 27km before writing about it. But then, I did not do the 37km or 63km. Am I in trouble?
DIPSLICK Posted October 18, 2017 Posted October 18, 2017 It's not the first time... Just kidding ill just watch from the corner