26" 27.5" and 29" Wheels and mtb's.

RodTi

• Replies 1.1k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You would not expect anything else. I find a 29er to outrun a 26" in ALL departments, except for stuff like "bunny-hop"

That's less than 1% difference. Hardly a reason to buy a new bike!

Will be interesting to see the full report, but there are obviously a massive number of variables then could account for a 1% difference in time. For me the point is that there is no clear advantage to the one over the other.

thats impressive stats, however are we strong enough to turn the bigger wheels faster.

I'm a novice against them and turn the big wheels like nothing. :D

That's less than 1% difference. Hardly a reason to buy a new bike!

Will be interesting to see the full report, but there are obviously a massive number of variables then could account for a 1% difference in time. For me the point is that there is no clear advantage to the one over the other.

Concidering that during XC they will do laps where the split times are within seconds. This 1% for them is a massive diff. Have you experienced a 29er? If you have not done at least 100km on a 29er, you cannot comment whether there is an advantage or not. Leave those to the guys that experienced both.

The red one....

mmmm wonder why spez would do a test like this....now I am stirring :unsure:

sales must be down :D

a month ago I was not a fan of the 29er....but research on the web and on magazines etc made me buy into the hype - I have done around 200km on the new bike and wow. Glad I made the move especialy with epic coming up!!!

I am still split... I have a 29er Ht, 9.6 Kg, and my 26inch dual at 9.7 Kg.

They are very close in speed, on the techincal stuff, the dual is significantly easier to ride in the rough and tight "van gaalens" style riding, the 26 inch is more reactive and easier to control. Its also more comfortable.