They were taking it easy on hells.Raced against them in league and believe me Ashley and Sharon could of rode away from the whole bunch on hells if the wanted to.

i concur, Sharon raced at Killarney earlier this year during Summer League & she sits with the scratch guys, at 94,7 two weeks ago, she broke away at 40km & TT to a solo victory. She tried it again on Sunday at 25/30km to go but there was a male leading her out so we decided, to close them down.
  • Replies 704

I know, it just makes me feel better. Seriously I was just answering the question Ceres asked Tiny.

Thats what I'm getting at if you guys had hammered after hels I don't think us in the second bunch would have caught you guys. My question is do the leading ladies slow the bunch down? We in the second bunch had a great train going about 15 of us pulling hard only staying on the front for about 10 seconds and caught you guys quite easily.

Ladies did sweet jack the entire race i.e. no work, our 1st mistake was letting them dictate the pace up hels, they were basically climbing in their own comfort zone & from what it looked like just staying out of trouble, the guys including myself should've come forward & split the bunch up hels, I personally didn't think i would survive over with the bunch hence I was just sitting round about 7th spot going up, in hindsight had I known I was going to be feeling so good that day I would've hammered up there.After we went through the gates & reached the top of new hels, the top 3 ladies were all in front & they basically sat up, satisfied that they reached the top together, out of harms way, with none of their lady competitors breaking away, I then decided to drive the pace down hels alone & through Piniel with the help of a few guys, otherwise our time would've been much slower.

We coulda woulda shoulda, i thought the pace uo hels wasn't bad cuda been worse, i got to top of new hels next to sharon. She was breathing hard but who doesn't! There's so much things that cuda changed.... i for one not long in the cycling game but still feel that the ladies made a very exciting race. Also concur they sat alot 3rd 4th wheel. But that's racing aint it you win some you lose some

Ladies did sweet jack the entire race i.e. no work, our 1st mistake was letting them dictate the pace up hels, they were basically climbing in their own comfort zone & from what it looked like just staying out of trouble, the guys including myself should've come forward & split the bunch up hels, I personally didn't think i would survive over with the bunch hence I was just sitting round about 7th spot going up, in hindsight had I known I was going to be feeling so good that day I would've hammered up there.After we went through the gates & reached the top of new hels, the top 3 ladies were all in front & they basically sat up, satisfied that they reached the top together, out of harms way, with none of their lady competitors breaking away, I then decided to drive the pace down hels alone & through Piniel with the help of a few guys, otherwise our time would've been much slower.

Im not going to get into any type of argument or disagreement but I am witness to it that Ashleigh has been fighting flu for the last 2 weeks and has been off the bike. So ofcourse she was not at her best, and any rider knows the feeling, yet she still finished second.

Hey Capcha any pictures from the C bunch break away, mixed with B guys, of the white assos man on a focus? biggrin.png

Recall a picture of that. Unfortunately cannot put all pics up otherwise there would be 3000 images to go through, so i change images every 3 days with different ones. Will check for you.

That's into the northwester rolling past Nelson's Creek. Good work!

What bunch was that, Banesto?

that was a D and E mixed. my buddy and i was in probably the 2nd or 3rd D bunch but had a puncture stop. i waited for him and we joined that group from the back. we had fresh legs

Recall a picture of that. Unfortunately cannot put all pics up otherwise there would be 3000 images to go through, so i change images every 3 days with different ones. Will check for you.

Found a picture of me. Thanks.

Yeah, I'm also there. Sorry about the cracked lens thereafter, Capcha! whistling.gif

Do you have a way we can search for other images or do we wait and check every refresh cycle?

Yeah, I'm also there. Sorry about the cracked lens thereafter, Capcha! http://1.1.1.4/bmi/cdn.bikehub.co.za/forum//public/style_emoticons/default/whistling.gif

Do you have a way we can search for other images or do we wait and check every refresh cycle?

A bit late, but how did your Burger go? Did you manage to stick with the front breakaway group?

I bit my lip till now, but since you asked... (I guess I'll have to change my hub name to "ole Grumpy" shortly)

I got so PO'ed at the way the guys were riding, that I told one guy on the Simondium road, shortly after having had to lock up for the second time, that I'd be happy to make it to the finish line in one piece. Shortly thereafter there was another incident and I just decided.... stuff dees sheet. I filtered back and left myself vulnerable to breaks, which happened. But at least I had space to duck and dive, of which there were plenty.

Really, in the bit of riding I've done, I thought I was in some pretty yoyo-ing groups by now, but that was just beyond me.

So, had a nice ride and enjoyed myself, came in in one piece and with a reasonable time, had some beers afterwards and generally enjoyed the day. More important things to me than trying to shave 3 or 10 or however many minutes off an already acceptable time. Only thing that time might influence is Argus seeding - and that's a mystery at the best of times.

Haven't tried to offend anybody...

Sorry to hear. I was in the second group, okes seemed a bit more mellow, but the few times I did find myself in the middle to back section, it was a bit hair raising, and I just went to the front part again. Think we thinned the group (it was huge at a stage) out a bit on the drag from Paarl to Wellington, and then again on the rollers on the R44. By the time we got to the last climb, group was quite manageable.

Edited by Wannabe

I got so PO'ed at the way the guys were riding, that I told one guy on the Simondium road, shortly after having had to lock up for the second time, that I'd be happy to make it to the finish line in one piece. Shortly thereafter there was another incident and I just decided.... stuff dees sheet. I filtered back and left myself vulnerable to breaks, which happened. But at least I had space to duck and dive, of which there were plenty.

Seabee,

My knee jerk post was to tell you to consult Rule nr 5.whistling.gif

My experience of Burger 2012 was that the bunches were too big for the nature of the route - narrow bumpy roads a lot of the distance. With speed bumps.

Also, combined with this, was the varying racing skill levels within one group.

A bit like the Argus.

The difference is that the route is wider and better surfaced, most of the time.

I understand your experience.thumbup1.gif

Edited by Puncheur

Aaag Puncheur, no worries, I'd have told myself to consult rule 5.thumbup1.gif The few here that know me, knows I'm about as laid back as it gets, I'm floating just above horisontal. "Gevrek" is the good Afrikaans term! But you also know by now the worst people to completely PO are the quiet ones... Yeah, maybe if I go for a namechange it should be "Dopey" and not "Grumpy"... but since this is a cycling forum... rolleyes.gif

Soooo... I pulled a group up (which I of all people managed to catch on the DOWNHILL), into the front group after the descend, I sit up to catch a breath. Cue braking session 1, for a guy who fell from a previous group, think second or third speedbump. No warnings, nada, just seeing guys scatter and braking like hell. eek.gif

Knowing the route, I obviously did not want to be at the back when we hit the Simondium road, but I ended bunched in after that session behind a guy who refused to ride over the speedbumps. I sorted that on the last speedbump and chased -again- over the growing gap. Just caught the group, tried to work forward when we turned left. Hardly turned left, everybody out the saddle... then we slam on the brakes so hard (again, no warning) that I nearly went over the bars.... next moment, everybody sprints again. No sign of what caused the braking. *grrrrr*

Then, everybody merrily humming along, some guys from the back of the group, or possibly smaller groups coming harder on the flat areas, overtake us. Now, I was just inside white line, the guy outside me on the white line. Imagine our confusion when we had to bump elbows, squeezing in, because the idiots from the back were over two wide outside him... WITH CARS APPROACHING! That was when I said my words to him... and it was hardly out when I literally skidded sideways pulling brakes... just for everybody to sprint off again. Again, no warnings, no visable reasons up the road... and then I just went into my stubborn mode and said stuff everybody and all the horses they rode on, if I do it on my own, I do it on my own, but you go ahead and write each other off.

My wife hardly even asks my times, to her it's important that a) I come home and B) I enjoyed it. My daughter eyes the medal, but by now knows I did not win the race. There's not anybody else that I want to or have to impress.

As for times - Wannabe, I think I was catching your group towards the end, there was just not enough road left. Think I ended a min or two behind you.

And as for fun - there was a guy in black Castelli kit, I think...(?) With a number flapping. We had a lekker ride coming in together, wanted to meet him afterwards but never got the chance. If you're here, howzit... At times he pulled, at times I pulled, just having fun, riding bikes. thumbup1.gif That's what it's about for me.