Any hunters wanting to sell some of their game meat this year let me know..... Just bought a hind quarter of a blesbok from a work mate for R 22 a kg(Willing to buy it on the bone as I butcher it myself). Biltong has been polished already only have some stewing/currying meat left...

• Replies 1.2k

Any hunters wanting to sell some of their game meat this year let me know..... Just bought a hind quarter of a blesbok from a work mate for R 22 a kg(Willing to buy it on the bone as I butcher it myself). Biltong has been polished already only have some stewing/currying meat left...

Far from you, but I'm sure there will be a reputable upcountry dealer as well.

http://www.thevenisoncompany.co.za/home.html

Not sure where you live but ELAND butchery in witfield boksburg sell a lot of game. I'm sure they will sell it to you in bulk. They have a wide selection.

Quite happy with myself. Have mastered (I think) proper poached eggs. I love poached eggs with soft yolk. Had two on top of half an avo with melted cheese for b/fast.

I have a friend with a PhD in Engineering and he once showed me how to make the perfect poached egg. It was so bloody complicated with him being pedantic about the exact temperature of the water, the amount of water, the depth of water, the size of the saucepan / pot, the stirring of the water in clockwise direction (Southern hemisphere only), the speed of the vortex, the exact time, the altitude above sea level, barometric pressure, the position of the moon and the stars and and and....that I then decided to stick to scrambled eggs! Engineers! :D​  ;)

I'm one too. But my poached eggs are more 'industrial'.

Must be because I don't have a PhD.

Edited by MTBeer

On our afternoon ride on Table Mountain we found the first Boletus Edulis of the season. It's a bit early as our winter rains haven't even started, but who cares? There will be a steak with the best mushroom of them all on the table soon. Sorry I cannot tell you where I found them because then I'll have to kill you. If you are a mushroom picker, and you know your stuff, consider this a heads up. My riding buddies are also warned that I will be making sudden unexpected stops when out on the trails!

post-17716-0-52250300-1460573276_thumb.jpg

• 1 month later...

Can you guys please help me. I am looking for a way to braai a "geelstert".

I am good with braaing snoek and also smoking it. But want to try a geelstert. Any winning methods?

Edited by mulmi
  • 3 months later...

My favourite cookware company, bar none. 

Same in my house. Oldest of the pots are about 21 years old now. Recon we should throw them a party? :whistling:  

Can you guys please help me. I am looking for a way to braai a "geelstert".

I am good with braaing snoek and also smoking it. But want to try a geelstert. Any winning methods?

Yellowtail and snoek are more or less the same. Once I fillet it (head and tail off but leave the spine and skin. I will leave it in the fridge with some lemon and rosemary. The cold firms up the fish to make it easier to braai. Then its down to a well oiled grill and a watchful eye.