Camping...

Any experience to share/advice?!?

Just rock up and pay?  Best spots??

Ear plugs - not needed, I don't sleep the night before anyway

Sleeping bag - rated Arctic - yes

Do I sleep with my bike or leave it in the bike park?!? Decisions, decisions!

Coz we know what's on the other side.

Exactly, the one time a year when you can get your MTB to do 70+ km/h.

Last year was a bit of an emotional "down" for me on Simola (literally and figuratively) as by that time it dawned on me that I was going to miss the sub 4 I was chasing by a couple of minutes. I did not plan on it so I guess it was east come easy go.

Exactly, the one time a year when you can get your MTB to do 70+ km/h.

Last year was a bit of an emotional "down" for me on Simola (literally and figuratively) as by that time it dawned on me that I was going to miss the sub 4 I was chasing by a couple of minutes. I did not plan on it so I guess it was east come easy go.

Wait, you must be able to clock 70+km/h coming back down Hellshoogte? I have done so a few times, but then again I have gravity and momentum working for me... :whistling: 

Also, Vissershok descent from Meerendal. There you will accelerate past 80km/h on a MTB.

That's quite some speed on mtb, just going to double check all the bolts and nuts on the bike before the race...just incase.

Good idea. I neglected to mention that the spots I refer to are in Cape Town and surrounds. But ja, always a good idea to make sure that everything is in GOOD working order before a race.

The descent into De Vlugt from Avontuur is 14 km of constant negative elevation. Make sure that your brakes are up to it. My experience on my first time down that hill was that my brakes overheated and stopped being functionally useful about halfway down. I had to resort to alternative braking techniques, i.e. using my foot to brake. Trusting my equipment, and not confirming their viability, gave way to this situation.

I assume its too late for substitutions?Or does anyone know if they make exceptions? Actually going to be staying around there and have someone who did not want their entry anymore... 

Thanks in advance.

I assume its too late for substitutions?Or does anyone know if they make exceptions? Actually going to be staying around there and have someone who did not want their entry anymore... 

Thanks in advance.

Closed, no exceptions, if you caught you and your buddy will never be able to ride K2C again.

Cool thanks for the headsup :)

Not in that much of a hurry to ride it !! :) Rules are rules !

Camping...

Any experience to share/advice?!?

Just rock up and pay?  Best spots??

Ear plugs - not needed, I don't sleep the night before anyway

Sleeping bag - rated Arctic - yes

Do I sleep with my bike or leave it in the bike park?!? Decisions, decisions!

Posted 04 September 2017 - 04:05

devilliers, on 04 Sept 2017 - 3:23 PM, said:

What's a good time to arrive at the school on Saturday for camping for a spot, does it get full quickly...is it the only camping place with facilities?, can I take a small braai and use it there?

There's usually a few options for camping - one used to be able to pre-book a tent with mattress at the school, and there is also some organised camping just before the entrance to the showgrounds (showing up earlier here is advisable).

I would however recommend sommer camping on the showgrounds - have done it twice, and can't think that it will ever be full. Braai'ed and used a Cadac previously, so no probs there. Just a word of advice - it can get VERY cold during the night, so come prepared! First time round I woke up with calves cramping from the cold - not a good start to the day! Second time round we managed to 'upgrade' to the stables as someone didn't pitch - waaaay better option!

Oh and if you don't feel like braaiing, there's always the famous spaghetti bolognaise...

I use the same accommodation in Willowmore for the Transbaviaans and K2C, very lucky because I have first option every year.

The Rugby field option is a NOISY AFFAIR. 

Okes braaing till late (with the obligatory dop) and being noisy. 

People arriving late, driving amongst the tents with music blaring, calling for their friends to find them, etc. And then the noisy pitching of tents in the dark follows.

The one year we had a guy idling his motorbike almost the whole night long. Why I do not know. Shouting at him to turn the thing off just resulted in a few "revs" of the bike.

And did someone mention the fact that it can get very cold....

I will not make use of this option again, unless absolutely necessary.

I'm getting some resistance at home at the moment for going on a cycling weekend...hehe..made me wonder about driving in the morning of the race to keep the peace. Hows the roads looking and the late registrations. Probably very busy? Should I put an extra hour out for road congestion and registration? Thats from ladismith..2.5hour drive and only starting in G at 8