[Event] Piket-Bo-Berg Cycle Challenge & Trail Run

My only gripe is the congestion, and this is really becoming a victim of your own success. I feel for the 37km hotshots who must have basically spent their entire race shouting track. There are very few passing opportunities, and it basically becomes a procession. I'm ok with that, you just need to embrace the fact that you are only going to go as fast as the okie in front of you, until a possible opening comes. I do think some well marked dual tracks would be handy, and maybe a longer startloop to spread things out. OR maybe even some seeding batches for the routes with more than 150 riders...the race snakes can go off at 7:30!

Excellent report.

My son was one of those hotshots on the 37km. And to boot he is very shy and quiet, not the type to shout at slow riders in front. But he said he will do it anytime again if he is doing the 63km so that he can get on the amazing ST before slower riders.

Next year I will also do the 63km, even if I have to crawl over the line.

• Replies 97

Really felt sorry for the riders trying to get through. We were caught within the first couple of km's. There was quite a bottleneck at the Brunox tunnel/bridge thing and i was thinking of the speedsters heading our way in a few minutes, dreading the "Skuus Oom"s to follow. The youngsters etiquette was rather good. Don't think i held anyone up. I tried my best to let them fly past as quickly as possible and most of the people in front of me seemed lekker about it all too, but it is the only little thing i would look at improving.

Anyway, how sweet was that wooden ramp/suspension bridge as you exit the forest section (second half of the 63km)? Loved it.

Feedback on 37km. 

It was my 1st Piket-Bo-Berg Challenge, God willing, I will enter every year.

Lets start with some of the things for the organizers to think about during the race. The start loop before the 1st ST was too short, maybe consider a longer/tougher 1st few kms to spread the field out and allow faster riders to get to the front. 

What went well -

1. BRILLIANT registration process fastest I have ever been through registration.
  2. Water points fantastic - think it was the 2nd water point with the cocktail boerewors rolls...was my favorite stop, I was hungry and make a pig of myself. Add to that the friendly service, made me forget that I was suffering.
  3. The trails, I only have 1 question. Can we visit the trails outside of the race? Breathtaking, is the only way to describe the views. I would love to spend a day crawling through the trails taking pictures.

Basically this event was a great success IMO, long may it continue.

why are the okes walking? In the pics?

There is no shame in taking your bike for a stroll.

But there was a bottleneck, so we all had to get off and push.

Gave me a chance to snap a few pics.

I think the problem with a longer start loop is people's mentality. The people that you get stuck behind isn't necessarily unfit.

Its a lack of skill. Longer start loop will still allow the GLSR (great lesser skilled rider) to be first into the single track ( different issue with the 37km overlapping the 63km. No I am relatively fit , yet I would like to think my skill exceeds my fitness. And most of the people I caught was on single skill not due to the other riders lack of fitness.

why are the okes walking? In the pics?

I rode everything, but there was many times I had to slow down to a near stop because people had to "unclip".

Honestly folks, of there is single track or technical section on a ride use flat pedals and tekkies. 

I think the problem with a longer start loop is people's mentality. The people that you get stuck behind isn't necessarily unfit.

Its a lack of skill. Longer start loop will still allow the GLSR (great lesser skilled rider) to be first into the single track ( different issue with the 37km overlapping the 63km. No I am relatively fit , yet I would like to think my skill exceeds my fitness. And most of the people I caught was on single skill not due to the other riders lack of fitness.

Not sure I agree, yes every race will have the dirtroadies whose skills don't match their fitness, but imo they are more the exceptions than the rule. Also a long start loop that stretch out the field will benefit people like you as well because you will have a longer time on open singletrack before you catch up with the fit okes with no skills  ^_^

it's pretty much ALL like that

Sometimes I was actually glad to ride some jeep track just so that I could relax mentally. Your wits have to be sharp on a lot of the ST. And you would have to be somewhat technically skilled, else you are going to walk. A lot.

My 2c: I would like to see them start the 63km at 7h30, the 37km at 8h15, and the 27km at 9h00. That would leave enough time for the slowpokes to clear the first big ST climb.

Edited by Moridin

If that's a sample of what the rest of the trail is like I am there next year like a shot

it is, 

https://static.wixstatic.com/media/cdfb19_26410a48f7cc40d8bf848a4355cfa479~mv2_d_2048_1365_s_2.jpg/v1/fill/w_915,h_610,al_c,q_90,usm_0.66_1.00_0.01/cdfb19_26410a48f7cc40d8bf848a4355cfa479~mv2_d_2048_1365_s_2.webp

https://www.piketbobergtrails.com/eye-candy

but no need to wait that long, 2day event is next month, the only other time you have access to the trails.

at R10 000 per team for two short days of riding, I think they're taking the piss a bit with the U.