Protocol when riding/ joining in a group

Viv911

Fully agree with the above. I have on many occasions, when cycling alone, found a group or so passing me.

I give a few kicks to get up the pace and get to the back of the group.

The back cyclist will immediately look at you, if you say howzit and have a quick chat you will realise 40km has gone by and you are still having a chat.

Very cool people out on the road if you just stick to normal social behaviour.

You do get the occasional D**S, but that says more about them, than it does about you

Good luck out there are welcome back on the bike!!!

Netso. Agree

• Replies 81

Because it's rude to just hop on and not say a word. It's not the accepted social convention.

If they said "howzit dude, mind if I tag along", there is no problem at all.

So OP.

ALWAYS greet and ask, if you do that you will find that 99% of the time that you will end up having a lekker ride and probably making a friend.

I just don't get his. Its not like he is hopping onto your bike or bakkie. He is riding on a public road which neither of you own. Yes it is courtesy to say hi, but to ask for permission or having to have a protocol? GFY. Arrogance is what I call it.

What does GFY mean? Sorry, I'm not good with sms lingo.

Go F Yourself.. That is how strongly I feel about this pettiness

Well if you think its ok to tell people to Go F themselves, then it no wonder that you don't get the concept of common courtesy. 

Ironic post of the day.

Nobody is saying anybody MUST ask permission, grovel or beg, don't skew the discussion to suit your world view.

The OP asked what he should do, and the common courtesy part of your post is what people are pointing out to the OP. Its common courtesy to greet the group and be friendly to them if you want to tag along. Its not arrogance, its called being polite, a concept that you seem to struggle with.

Dear OP. If you hop onto somebodies wheel, it is not ok to tell them to GFY when they turn around and look at you.

It is not just polite, but if you are close enough to slip stream the guys then you are close enough to cause an accident. We have some okes that join our morning rides and just ask them to hang towards the back if not ridden in a group before. We have had some random plough into a rear derailer before, its just annoying. 

You sound like you wear secret socks...  :ph34r:

Well if you think its ok to tell people to Go F themselves, then it no wonder that you don't get the concept of common courtesy. 

I totally get courtesy and saying hi but it is this arrogant mentality that contributed to me leaving road cycling. So whatever dude. Go ride your exclusive little groups. I will stay out of your way out on the trails.

Please explain to me why you have taken exception to my proposed answers? Where is this arrogant "roadie mentality"?

I am struggling to see where I demanded anything? My posts have all been about courtesy and normal social convention?

Not really sure this is arrogant though? Expecting someone to at least say Hi and if you mind them sitting on your wheel is far from that. Since you seem to struggle with the actual concept of courtesy, let's go with common decency.

Is it arrogant to expect someone to ask you to come into your house? Or can they just walk in, open the fridge and change the TV channel?

Do you want to ride with someone who's skills you don't know 2 inches off your rear wheel? I don't think so....

No pro team will let strangers ride with them for a reason - too dangerous... that said - they do on occasion invite people to ride with them for a while.... chat, and move along.... please do not try and hang on....

I think it's more a case of "personal group" than "exclusive group"?

If a group of mates are riding together and you join in, be friendly/polite about it.

If a group of mates are braaing at a communial braai at Badplaas and you join them at the same braai - be friendly/polite about it. . . .

:-)

I totally get courtesy and saying hi but it is this arrogant mentality that contributed to me leaving road cycling. So whatever dude. Go ride your exclusive little groups. I will stay out of your way out  and GFM on the trails.

Fixed it for you :ph34r: