[Event] Carnival City Macsteel National Classic 2017

Frosty

Great event. Thank you to the organisers and all involved. I got dropped from the AL bunch at about 40km when most was riding in the middle and to the right side of the road. I stuck to the left but the wind was too much for me on my own. When that bakkie with the mattrass on nearly caused a collision pushing oncoming vehicles off the road and nearly hit the marshals bike from behind I pulled back. Maybe marshals can at least take photos of riders crossing the line and have them DQ'd afterwards?

• Replies 314

Great event. Thank you to the organisers and all involved. I got dropped from the AL bunch at about 40km when most was riding in the middle and to the right side of the road. I stuck to the left but the wind was too much for me on my own. When that bakkie with the mattrass on nearly caused a collision pushing oncoming vehicles off the road and nearly hit the marshals bike from behind I pulled back. Maybe marshals can at least take photos of riders crossing the line and have them DQ'd afterwards?

That was a close call by the bakkie.

So, noticed rider in our group (AL) on Strava, but no result on ractetec... also wondered during the ride why no number? Put it down to his wind jacket over his racing shirt maybe? Shame on you for riding and not paying to enter? Or did you....... hope I got it wrong? Anyway, you know who you are...... hope you had a lekker ride!  

So ask him on strava.........................

With the roads being public there could be some okes out training and they plan it that they join a group. Agreed its not cool but I think its probably a common thing. If they did in fact not pay I seriously hope they didn't collect a medal at the end. 

So, noticed rider in our group (AL) on Strava, but no result on ractetec... also wondered during the ride why no number? Put it down to his wind jacket over his racing shirt maybe? Shame on you for riding and not paying to enter? Or did you....... hope I got it wrong? Anyway, you know who you are...... hope you had a lekker ride!

How on earth did you find that out?

Edit: Have just figured out ???? ????

Edited by Pikey

The marshals are not the problem. The knobheads who ride on the wrong side of the road are.

and the officials that allow it to happen.

Every year, when the application (to use the roads) ends up on the traffic official’s desk, we have to explain/justify why cyclists cross the line. Every time we “promise” to control it, yet the officials do squat about enforcing it. That’s for the licensed groups.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Not at this race? Are you having a laugh? Despite promises that crossing the white line will result in action the commissaire followed in his car while watching the guys ride straight into on-coming traffic. 

No. I was referring to the links, they were from a different race, hence "not from this race"

I wasn't there so I can't state it as a fact but I also have no reason to disbelieve the guy that told me.

If they had to disqualify people that crossed the white line I guess that they'd disqualify 30-40% of the field. This would probably result in 30-40% less people entering that particular event the following year and that's where the problem lies - 30-40% less income.

I would guess that the Elites also cross the white line and nothing seems to happen there either.

Sometimes it's just practical to cross the white line, maybe there's a hole on the left hand side of the road and the whole bunch moves right and then back again but then there are guys that just ride there and when a car comes from the front they squeeze in and that's when a crash often happens.

Yesterday in the B bunch it was ok, even though the bunch was big there wasn't much squeezing in besides that time the marshal stopped his bike on the white line.

Sorry, maybe misunderstood. I 100% believe you. 

Not at this race? Are you having a laugh? Despite promises that crossing the white line will result in action the commissaire followed in his car while watching the guys ride straight into on-coming traffic.

The commissaire in your group told me, afterwards, that racing in the gutter is part of cycling, and that the traffic officials don’t understand how cycling works.

If it were up to me, I wouldn’t pay the officials their fee, as they failed to uphold the rules...

The commissaire in your group told me, afterwards, that racing in the gutter is part of cycling, and that the traffic officials don’t understand how cycling works.

If it were up to me, I wouldn’t pay the officials their fee, as they failed to uphold the rules...

Then you'd be really popular.

Just keep doing what you do and understand that some things are just out of your control.

R2500 for first in mnt bike race ...bloody ell

That’s pretty fricken sweet i’d Say. Never thought it would be that much.

Yip, that's why I mentioned it earlier. The prize money here was really generous. They also gave money to like the top 5 or 6 in the vets category and maybe even further down in the elites and ladies.

No. I was referring to the links, they were from a different race, hence "not from this race"

Got it Patch, yes at R4V most of us in VC got penalised after the race. Not sure how the selection was made seeing at the entire front of the race was across on the right but the top 3 escaped punishment. 

Feel you pain G. Gutter is part of racing and white line is not really a gutter.

Got it Patch, yes at R4V most of us in VC got penalised after the race. Not sure how the selection was made seeing at the entire front of the race was across on the right but the top 3 escaped punishment. 

Feel you pain G. Gutter is part of racing and white line is not really a gutter.

It would be if there was real and regular consequence.

Late entry R230 plus R25 for a Racetec number board ( we are forced to buy even though we have a Racetec chip!

Race rules for MTB dictate that all riders MUST have a number board, but a timing chip isn’t compulsory. By combining the two, Racetec timing now complies with the rules and don’t need to enforce the “no chip, no time” rule. Organisers pay per rider entered, and nit per person timed which is why many organisers insist on riders have a timing chip. Riders get to keep the board, so the next race (any Racetec-timed) won’t require that additional fee.

BTW, had some of the youngsters not taken a wrong turn at the 29km point, your son wouldn’t have placed... so he benefited from other rider’s errors.

Hope you son enjoyed the ride.

Race rules for MTB dictate that all riders MUST have a number board, but a timing chip isn’t compulsory. By combining the two, Racetec timing now complies with the rules and don’t need to enforce the “no chip, no time” rule. Organisers pay per rider entered, and nit per person timed which is why many organisers insist on riders have a timing chip. Riders get to keep the board, so the next race (any Racetec-timed) won’t require that additional fee.

BTW, had some of the youngsters not taken a wrong turn at the 29km point, your son wouldn’t have placed... so he benefited from other rider’s errors.

Hope you son enjoyed the ride.

We are well aware of the 2 riders that went of course, they are my son's school team mates, who were fuming at indecisive course markings and directions given at a particular water point!

Fact is my son had a few riders in front of him to follow and he finished 3rd and his prize money didn't cover the money I spent for his entry. He did enjoy the ride in Artic conditions. Would we do it again.....probably not. The price of entries into these events dictates that we will have to be selective in how many and which events we ride in future! 

It would be if there was real and regular consequence.

Not sure what the answer is. 

DQ? 

Time penalty?

Prevent riders from entering again? 

We are well aware of the 2 riders that went of course, they are my son's school team mates, who were fuming at indecisive course markings and directions given at a particular water point!

Fact is my son had a few riders in front of him to follow and he finished 3rd and his prize money didn't cover the money I spent for his entry. He did enjoy the ride in Artic conditions. Would we do it again.....probably not. The price of entries into these events dictates that we will have to be selective in how many and which events we ride in future! 

Sorry, but late entry was your own fault.

Be glad there is some prize money for the kids, if it were me Id give them only a trophy, teach them to race for the love of racing, not the money. 

What if he came 4th, would you have complained then again?

Get your priorities straight.