How many events have you bailed on or DNF?

Rouxenator

Got offered a Trans Baviaans entry, accommodatiom, meals and transport today... Free, mahala. No I didnt take it due to other commitments, but how do you bail on your team 2 weeks before a race like this?

Viral infection. I also got offered the above, soiled my pants at a 9:45 target.

• Replies 76

3x DNS (1 illness, 1 rain-cheque and 1 crash: dislocated AC-joint);

2x DNF (both mechanicals).

4 of them being the Fast One (or Hyper2Hyper as it was known in the day), and one being my only crash-related injury that kept me from doing the R4S.

Worst attempt to avoid a DNS/DNF was racing 4 days after "the snip".

3 DNF's, Carnival race I punctured shortly after starting and although i had spare I did want to chance carrying on and getting another. Sun City which i did with almost no training, went out too hard and bonked at around 70km, and  a race in Benoni where I had a tangle with a metal monster. 

DNS also 3, 2 94.7's due to illness and the other Emperors road race where i took a tumble in the MTB race the day before and spent the night in hospital.  

Attakwas!! what can go wrong they said....broke pedal..had huge pumping headace..got some headace tabs from medic, that burned my stomach. Leggs were shot afcource, had nice 3 week holiday in Namibia prior, no exercice just fishing. When I got to the tar road on 95km that leads to mossels I couldnt be happier to jump in the bakkie and go home. 

Got offered a Trans Baviaans entry, accommodatiom, meals and transport today... Free, mahala. No I didnt take it due to other commitments, but how do you bail on your team 2 weeks before a race like this?

Maaaa se...  :eek: Yoh... big one to give up.

Only 1 so far. The Tru-Cape 50km earlier this year. My knees packed up after doing the first 25km loop with 800m climbing. Bailed out after starting the first climb on the second loop.

Later traced the problem to my seat being a few millimeters higher than normal.

9:45 is quite doable if you don't mess around at the checkpoints.

Wouldn't that be a Top 10 finish or thereabouts? Think "doable" is a relative term here...

Not anymore.

I was just looking back at my results. In 2008 we came 19th with a time of 12:01.

Last year we came 17th with a time of 9:39 (and we're the first to admit that we didn't have a good ride).

9:26 was top 10 last year.

Just one...my first Magalies Monster 70km odd....made it through the worst of it...then at the bottom of the road near the shebeen I had a puncture. At that stage I had just had enough! 

Phoned the ex, asked her to tell the organisers I was out of the race and she picked me up on the way home! Sometimes being physically prepared doesn't mean your mind is at the same place...

I enter a number of events whilst entries are open and then sometimes have to cancel closer to the time based on other commitments (children horse riding, rugby and gymnastics - and work). In every instance bar one I have managed to give away my entry so that the organisers don't lose out.

Never bailed - although I should have at a race last year. Only about 30 k's, but very steep and technical, with the first 7 k's just climbing. About 8 k's in, I came off and landed on my knee and head. I could hardly walk so started to free wheel back towards the start. A few k's backwards and my knee eased enough to ride again, so I turned around and Klapped it to try and catch the back markers.

Managed to overtake a few okes and then, going too fast over some rocks, I came off again, broke my helmet, knocked myself out and broke two ribs. Long story short, the last 10k's were sore, but at least I didn't come last. Did end up in hospital with concussion though, so wish I had just turned around the first time.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

2x DNS both Argus. 2009 and windy year thereafter. Both occasions I rode to the start, rode back to the hotel, was on a plane home an hour later. Would do it again in a heartbeat, though I don't think I am gonna register again.

1 x DNF. In the fast one. Punctured repeatedly. Was only my 2nd race. Did not know to remove the glass from the tire, so burnt both the tubes I was carrying. Was a long wait for the wagon of death.

2x DNS both Argus. 2009 and windy year thereafter. Both occasions I rode to the start, rode back to the hotel, was on a plane home an hour later. Would do it again in a heartbeat, though I don't think I am gonna register again.

1 x DNF. In the fast one. Punctured repeatedly. Was only my 2nd race. Did not know to remove the glass from the tire, so burnt both the tubes I was carrying. Was a long wait for the wagon of death.

Actually I am very unlikely to DNS CTCT again....

Life happens. No matter how tough you are. If you ride enough you will have DNS's and DNF's.

Its like falling off your bicycle because you could not clip out of your pedals in time... one day it will happen.

Having a DNF in your CV is usually a good deterrent for future DNF's.... its called experience.