Dear mountain bikers.. from trail runners

Chris_

• Replies 262

There are just too many inconsiderate w@nkers, and "I" Specialists.

Cyclists, runners and Dog walkers all guilty AF.

I ride, run and walk the dogs in Delta park regularly.

MTB's on the dedicated walking path 2m to the right of the dedicated cycling path and now they between dogs and runners and it is chaos.

Yesterday dumbass trail runner running down the new berm line with earphones in, idiot when there is a wide runable line not dedicated to cyclists

Dog walkers- if the dog is off leash you better have it under control by verbal command, as well yesterday guy walking 2 dogs over the jumps in bot gardens when there is a path 3m away from cyclists to walk on. Dog nearly got run over when it decided to stop on the path fairly blind sighted section among trees.

Basically no one gives a **** about others. Have some consideration and just don't be a p03s. Put the shoe on the other foot and see how k@k your actions can be.

It takes so little effort to walk your dogs off the main paths where there are less people.

Stick to the dedicated lanes when they are there and slow down when on sections that have to be shared by all. Not rocket science

Common sense, common logic and common courtesy- I strongly believe they forgot to teach the definition of common in schools the last 80 years

Anyone with earphones in exercises in public deserves a pk (unless on a wattbike or treadmill in gym where they influence no one)

Yesterday dumbass trail runner running down the new berm line with earphones in, idiot when there is a wide runable line not dedicated to cyclists

This!! On that particular piece of trail makes me defooking moer in so much!! Jis I am getting irritated just thinking about it!

I can actually trump you... I was riding down and came across a guy walking his dog up the berm line. I'm also pretty sure that trail is sign posted, but yeah, there's always one... 

That's why I'm super chilled on the spruit - running, cycling, it doesn't matter... I don't care about strava segments or who's right and wrong out there, I'm just careful, respectful to the max, give everyone and everything a massive wide berth and just enjoy being outdoors and catching some fresh air and rays. 

Some proper trail education might actually help (there are already big boards at most entrances though)... so can't see much changing in my life time. I mean we still can't get most dog walkers to pick up their dogs business with supplied bags... so yeah, people will be people  :blush:

I can actually trump you... I was riding down and came across a guy walking his dog up the berm line. I'm also pretty sure that trail is sign posted, but yeah, there's always one... 

That's why I'm super chilled on the spruit - running, cycling, it doesn't matter... I don't care about strava segments or who's right and wrong out there, I'm just careful, respectful to the max, give everyone and everything a massive wide berth and just enjoy being outdoors and catching some fresh air and rays. 

Some proper trail education might actually help (there are already big boards at most entrances though)... so can't see much changing in my life time. I mean we still can't get most dog walkers to pick up their dogs business with supplied bags... so yeah, people will be people  :blush:

People don't read signs. Go into Bot gardens and ask people which areas dogs are allowed, which areas where dogs are not allowed and which areas dogs have to be on a leash. No one takes the time to read the map explaining this all. The big 2m wide map as you walk in the entrance.

Same goes for the pricks who walk past the free dog poop bags that are available at the parking for delta and proceed to leave their dog poop everywhere while dodging the the cyclists chasing segments and the runners with earphones. 

Do you two want to get a room?

Only after you and Gen do  :P 

On a super serious hub note though...

Headshot posts how his dog attacks trail runners and their shoes on a thread about respect for other trail users and then has a fanny wobble when it's pointed out.

It illustrates the problem nicely though... he's frothing at people misusing his single track but yet has no consideration for how expensive running shoes are

Headphones to be banned from all trails for both trail runners and cyclist.

As fair as I'm aware, cycling with earphones is already frowned upon and taboo. Of course to each his own perception, but my point is when I started cycling and meeting new cyclists, one of the very first things said to me, repeatedly, was to not cycle with earphones.

This is a call from those of us that share trails. Whether they’re the ones we’ve both paid for in entrance fees, or just on our local off-road paths, both are applicable.

snip

With love – your friendly trail runner

Did something happen that was too close for comfort that sparked the idea of necessity behind this post? I have no nefarious intent, seriously just curious!

My closest calls with a dog walker and a 2 joggers have both been because they were doing their thing on what I understand to be cycling-only trails. I'd compare the possible severe extent of injuries to what can happen during a track cycling accident, because going fast on a downhill, lekker berm or around a technical portion for a pb, smacking into someone's back could be fatal. Some people don't seem as concerned for their safety as they are for the reason why they are there to begin with - their health and wellbeing!

Storytime:

Coincidentally the 1st one was at Thaba Trails and a real close call. I nearly collided with someone walking their dog on the blue route, just turned a bush and was met by an obstacle and a dog. Thank goodness for paying attention where I was going. Less than 15 meters down the same single track, there was fresh dog poop in the middle of the trail - double strike, dog walker.

Other time was at Rietvlei, among the trees of the first technical section, going quick, aiming for a PB and turn a corner, just to have to do an emergency stop to avoid collision! As far as I know both of these instances happened on single track exclusive for cyclists - there seems to be little respect and adherence to rules and safety guidelines.

edit: no such thing as "an dog"

I just thought I'd drop into this thread as a road and trail and general jogger who occasionally bicycles rides and say howzit. I'll always keep an eye out for you people, hop out the way and flash a smile and a wave. If I don't then it may be that I'm buggered or grimacing because Baby Shark has been stuck in my head since I left the house two hours ago. Or because I need a bush poop and I'm unfortunately dressed head to toe in neon, can't find a secluded spot, and I'm weighing up whether or not I could use my favourite buff afterwards.

South Africans are a highly stressed bunch and there will always be dweebs on both sides. Don't let the roughly 1 to 10% ruin it.

I just thought I'd drop into this thread as a road and trail and general jogger who occasionally bicycles rides and say howzit. I'll always keep an eye out for you people, hop out the way and flash a smile and a wave. If I don't then it may be that I'm buggered or grimacing because Baby Shark has been stuck in my head since I left the house two hours ago. Or because I need a bush poop and I'm unfortunately dressed head to toe in neon, can't find a secluded spot, and I'm weighing up whether or not I could use my favourite buff afterwards.

South Africans are a highly stressed bunch and there will always be dweebs on both sides. Don't let the roughly 1 to 10% ruin it.

Hahahaha... that bloody song 

And now it's stuck again  :(

Don't google this no matter what, now I know what is going to go through my head all afternoon

Did something happen that was too close for comfort that sparked the idea of necessity behind this post? I have no nefarious intent, seriously just curious!

Actually no. I've only recently ramped up my trail running, mostly my annoyance of poor sporting etiquette has been cycling at the Cradle. 

I ran at Cradle Moon for the first time yesterday. 3 hours in the crushing heat. If 50 bikes came past me, only one person called out. It was just that one act that got me thinking about the rarity of such calls. (Touch wood) nothing has actually happened.