13 hours ago, capediver said:

Nah...straight over....plenty of recent tracks...

Remember the daily updates!

• Replies 88

6 hours ago, Rowl said:

Remember the daily updates!

Day 1...holy !##%

Montagu Pass!!!! What an experience...and its doable by anyone with some cross country MTB experience..

even by gravilists!!

There are some sections that you have to take care and if you alone best to get off and walk it but not enough to spoil a good day on the bike...

Met a few bikers on the path...Tommy from JHB hammered it up to the top on his Dale leftie in 40mins!!! Holiday snake!!

Kippie here took his time stopping often to wonder at the marvelous sights...what place...in all just under 3 hours pushing about 50% of the way...only cause of rig and weight!!

Then flying down to Perdepoort and a nice long descent thru the poort and then not quite champagne gravel but good sparkling wine stuff...rolling hills...no shade and hot as hell! 

And early in to Dysseldorp and Hazenjacht cabins to loll about in the pool and recharge...

What a day i tell you...flipping heck...stoked...66ks..

I got more pics on other devices...big screen movie coming out later!!!

Onward to Kammannassie Road to Eagles Falls...another 60 odd...but heat is gonna be huge!

Lekka 

20260105_072415.jpg.73e5b7e78ed7c51ca0ebee93819ee633.jpg

20260105_075503.jpg

20260105_090813.jpg

4 minutes ago, capediver said:

Day 1...holy !##%

Montagu Pass!!!! What an experience...and its doable by anyone with some cross country MTB experience..

even by gravilists!!

There are some sections that you have to take care and if you alone best to get off and walk it but not enough to spoil a good day on the bike...

Met a few bikers on the path...Tommy from JHB hammered it up to the top on his Dale leftie in 40mins!!! Holiday snake!!

Kippie here took his time stopping often to wonder at the marvelous sights...what place...in all just under 3 hours pushing about 50% of the way...only cause of rig and weight!!

Then flying down to Perdepoort and a nice long descent thru the poort and then not quite champagne gravel but good sparkling wine stuff...rolling hills...no shade and hot as hell! 

And early in to Dysseldorp and Hazenjacht cabins to loll about in the pool and recharge...

What a day i tell you...flipping heck...stoked...66ks..

I got more pics on other devices...big screen movie coming out later!!!

Onward to Kammannassie Road to Eagles Falls...another 60 odd...but heat is gonna be huge!

Lekka 

20260105_072415.jpg.73e5b7e78ed7c51ca0ebee93819ee633.jpg

20260105_075503.jpg

20260105_090813.jpg

That Tommy from JHB is my BIL! Coming to visit me in a few days, but I`m no racing snake, ek gaan alweer klippe kou.

All the best on your ride @capediverwill check in daily.

we did this a few years ago, but with a support car, so much less weight and more km's per day

George to De Rust (Meiringspoort was flooded)

De Rust to Calitzdorp

Calitsdorp to Matjiesfontein

Matjiesfontein to Tankwa farmstall

Farmstall to Wellington

Wellington to Cape Town

Was a spectaclar trip. enjoy yours :) :)

1 hour ago, DJuice said:

That Tommy from JHB is my BIL! Coming to visit me in a few days, but I`m no racing snake, ek gaan alweer klippe kou.

All the best on your ride @capediverwill check in daily.

He flew up!

I should mention the others...at the pass signboard a couple stopped on there way up...Tommy was already going down... a couple from CTN...both fit as ****...guy probably works as aviation mechanic...kick starting Jumbos...jissie never seen such thighs!!!

And then a group of 3 passed me earlier on the pass...one of them is a bikehub shadow...saw these posts and instantly greeted me!!! Embarrassed to say I never got their names...they went all the way along same route along Paardepoort had coffee near Oudshoorn and turned back...bumped into them hauling over the Paardepoort rollers..thats a huge day! Over 120ks in 45 degrees!!! Yoh, respect...sorry I never got their names...

Day 2...Dysseldorp to Eagle Falls along the Kammanassi Road...

This gravel road links an series of valleys and fruit farms that are established along the Kammanassie River..starting in Dysseldorp, its a bit trashed from farm traffic but the rest is real good...rolling hills with a few thigh burners...the scenery changes as well with more greenery generated from the ample water in the valleys...there's no flow at the moment but there's plenty underground 

Over night at Eagle Falls..spectacular place overlooking rock pools and waterfalls..grassed campsites and awesome chalets with bar restaurant overlooking the canyon!! Shout out to Mike and his piece of heaven!!

66ks

Last 3 to Eagle Falls had the biggest climbs and descents...10 to 12% plus...tomorrow morning is going to be a b$^^th to get back to the road!!!

Lekka

HOVER_20260106_beauty_1767710679597(1).jpg

HOVER_20260106_beauty_1767711099833.jpg

HOVER_20260106_beauty_1767711117119.jpg

20260106_141719.jpg

20260106_141708.jpg

20260106_134511.jpg

Day 3...Eagle Falls to De Vlugt....

Hellava slog out of Eagle Falls back onto the Kammanassie road and to the end of the road where it joins the N9....gravel perfection that road...recommend Kammanassie any day of the year...great condition...

Near end of Kammanassie, came across a gang on tour from Knysna...sporting proper gravel topend bikes...had a nice chat with the lady in support car...SA guys who ride in Spain and on holiday?!

Then a big haul up Potjiesberg pass 8km at 8 %....down to the Apple Crate Padstal for moer coffee and egg, bacon and cheese rosterkoek...I sweat that got me thru the day cause I was really worried about the climb to the top of Pronce Alfred Pass...turned out cool....4 -5% for about 4ks then exhilarating descent for ever into DeVlugt...what an absolute beast of a pass and so glad I was going down and not up!!!

Stopped and chatted to an elderly gent on his way down with a huge load of besem grass in his arms....he picks it at the top of the pass then goes home and makes brooms for the locals in Avontuur...10k round trip and that stuff is not light...respect! Gave me a nudge in determination to get to the top!20260107_135645.jpg.eefa6d5ef3c8516a474c6cf8c427e05c.jpg20260107_160318.jpg.309cf2290916578499fc666a3669b196.jpg

Angie's Gspot gave me a spot on the river..shout out to Mark...

20260107_091941.jpg

20260107_092019.jpg

20260107_104146.jpg

20260107_110403.jpg

20260107_122337.jpg

20260107_135654.jpg

20260107_142746.jpg

16 minutes ago, capediver said:

Day 3...Eagle Falls to De Vlugt....

Hellava slog out of Eagle Falls back onto the Kammanassie road and to the end of the road where it joins the N9....gravel perfection that road...recommend Kammanassie any day of the year...great condition...

Near end of Kammanassie, came across a gang on tour from Knysna...sporting proper gravel topend bikes...had a nice chat with the lady in support car...SA guys who ride in Spain and on holiday?!

Then a big haul up Potjiesberg pass 8km at 8 %....down to the Apple Crate Padstal for moer coffee and egg, bacon and cheese rosterkoek...I sweat that got me thru the day cause I was really worried about the climb to the top of Pronce Alfred Pass...turned out cool....4 -5% for about 4ks then exhilarating descent for ever into DeVlugt...what an absolute beast of a pass and so glad I was going down and not up!!!

Stopped and chatted to an elderly gent on his way down with a huge load of besem grass in his arms....he picks it at the top of the pass then goes home and makes brooms for the locals in Avontuur...10k round trip and that stuff is not light...respect! Gave me a nudge in determination to get to the top!20260107_135645.jpg.eefa6d5ef3c8516a474c6cf8c427e05c.jpg20260107_160318.jpg.309cf2290916578499fc666a3669b196.jpg

Angie's Gspot gave me a spot on the river..shout out to Mark...

20260107_091941.jpg

20260107_092019.jpg

20260107_104146.jpg

20260107_110403.jpg

20260107_122337.jpg

20260107_135654.jpg

20260107_142746.jpg

thanks for sharing, would you mind sharing your Strava as well? purely for future planning.

2 hours ago, milky4130 said:

thanks for sharing, would you mind sharing your Strava as well? purely for future planning.

No worries...when im done I'll share my Garmin route...

Day 4...De Vlugt to Diepwalle camp.

Oh its only 38ks I hear you say!!! Hoo boy, throw 40ks on your bike, add a healthy dose of atmospheric temperature..like 43degs C....then who knows how many ks of ascent...and its game on...the forest teases you all the way...hi..here i am...its lekka cool under my trees...then na.ah...im gone and its hilly and blazing hot...I just made  20260108_073109.jpg.45c69e79e4abae812900f2e268164abf.jpg it to Buffelsnek on the last bottle before breaking the seal on the emergency bottle...it was close...then from there into Diepwalle proper a breeze...a deviation up Spitskop to check the view..1k of 13% nearly broke me!! The view though was worth it...then a short stroll through the fern valley and up to a big tree...

Diepwalle camp site is nicely elevated so downhill out of the blocks tomorrow morning...looking forward to Kom Se Pad...

Ran into Tony Thorburn from PE and Fat Tracks...legend!!!! Regalled each other with stories of derringdoo!!! He's done it all...I'm still wet behind the ears!!!

Lekka

20260108_183419.jpg

20260108_115008.jpg

20260108_170611.jpg

20260108_124214.jpg

Edited by capediver

Day 5...Diepwalle camp to Rheenendal along Kom se Pad....so this is one of the runs I've been looking forward to!! So just at Diepwalle...great facilities...tent deck was cool but roll off your mattress and you instantly wake up on the hard deck!!!😝

Kom se Pad was everything I imagined...covered full canopy forest...stopped many times just to listen...incredible!!! Road was mostly in very good condition...a few potholes but nothing to detract from the scenery...it is too short..my only "gripe"...

Realities...gates open at only at 8...Gouna side is locked and manned...the other...not..so choose your direction and timing wisely....fee now day park fee has R52 and cycling permit R70...

Met a runner...Vincent...cheers...greeted a lycra clad oke in the middle of the section but he must have been in training for a major event...didn't even nod or look sideways...maybe it was too early...went flying silently past ...had a few of those...weird....no-one around for miles, paths cross and no acknowledgement offered..eish...

Big climb out of Gouna River valley...

Great breakfast at the Farm opposite Simola 

Always nice to ride along the Knysna Lagoon ...put a line in the water near Red Bridge but nada...

Phantom Pass was a breeze...and milkshake at the new Old Road Trading Store at Totties rounded off a great day

20260109_065658.jpg

20260109_073735.jpg

20260109_084929.jpg

20260109_094052.jpg

20260109_102654.jpg

20260109_113130.jpg

20260109_121925.jpg

20260109_123817.jpg

20260109_174035.jpg

Edited by capediver
Spelling

7 Passes...mostly with Hubber HDB....wow...so cool..he rode up from Sedgefield to ride with me!!! We chatted up a storm between Homtini and Hoogekraal...what a legend...pulled me up every pass in between...thanks HDB!!!!

BTW.... 7 Passes is fully open all the way into Madiba Drive and the main George road....

Finally trip has ended back in George...I don't have a full stats summary but its got to be close to 340ks in 6 days...Garmin registered 50 climbs!!!

It was awesome to the max...gravel roads were generally all good to very good to champagne in the Knysna forest sections...hot as hell most afternoons...little rain on Kom Se Pad bit didn't get through the canopy...

Drought and fires were top of my mind...the people in this area need rain desperately...

Met so many cool people...even that oke who didn't greet on Kom Se Pad...he looked cool...

So that's it ..done and dusted...shorts, day by day and trip videos will be out soon...

20260110_064459.jpg

20260110_124848.jpg

20260110_141613.jpg

20260110_151908.jpg

20260110_165157.jpg

20260110_165312.jpg

20260110_180600.jpg

Day 0....Cape Town to George...base camp and quick recce to the start of the route at the foot of Old Montagu pass which has been closed since rain damaged it 2023/2024 floods which carved away the top layer exposing bedrock and creating a trench in the middle for most of the way up....BUT......

Edited by capediver
Spelling