Wyatt Earp Posted October 21, 2013 Posted October 21, 2013 So just got some feedback from bikes and saddles in cape town..they don't bring it in, boo Seems if we want it, we will have to go to the interwebs Ja.Well maybe we must pluk a plan. rouxtjie 1
rouxtjie Posted October 21, 2013 Posted October 21, 2013 Ja.Well maybe we must pluk a plan.Yebo...ek juk vir een van hulle.
Ryanpmb Posted October 22, 2013 Posted October 22, 2013 Sprockets for sale... https://www.bikehub.co.za/classifieds/66392-gusset-singlespeed-sprocket-18t/ https://www.bikehub.co.za/classifieds/66394-chris-king-singlespeed-sprocket/
NotSoBigBen Posted October 23, 2013 Posted October 23, 2013 Chain tension sorted, went for the 'magic' gear option (1 tooth up on the back)!
Hairy Posted October 23, 2013 Posted October 23, 2013 Chain tension sorted, went for the 'magic' gear option (1 tooth up on the back)! do you have any slack in that chain and do the cranks spin freely if you spin them back by hand. I used to run a tightish tension on the chain and later learnt that a bit of slack gives a far better ride feel with less friction in the drive train and runs silently Audible Anarchy 1
NotSoBigBen Posted October 23, 2013 Posted October 23, 2013 do you have any slack in that chain and do the cranks spin freely if you spin them back by hand. I used to run a tightish tension on the chain and later learnt that a bit of slack gives a far better ride feel with less friction in the drive train and runs silently It does have just a little but it being a new chain I'm hoping there will at least be a little bit of 'settling' in if not stretch? It spins back 'ok' ..... Hairy 1
Wil6 Posted October 24, 2013 Posted October 24, 2013 Thinking on building myself a Titanium 29er SS. Currently riding a 26er Aluminum and I'm hooked. Where can I find value for money frames and what make do you recommend? Or is steel the way to go?
rouxtjie Posted October 24, 2013 Posted October 24, 2013 Thinking on building myself a Titanium 29er SS. Currently riding a 26er Aluminum and I'm hooked. Where can I find value for money frames and what make do you recommend? Or is steel the way to go?Ag lekker man.....jis its a great problem to have. Ti is lekker light, with the same smoothness of steel but apparently some flex a bit too much. Steel is heavy but moer strong and also old school what is your budget for the frame if I may ask?
Wyatt Earp Posted October 24, 2013 Posted October 24, 2013 Ag lekker man.....jis its a great problem to have. Ti is lekker light, with the same smoothness of steel but apparently some flex a bit too much. Steel is heavy but moer strong and also old school what is your budget for the frame if I may ask? I yet have to swing my leg over a TI frame that rides as well as some of the top steel frames. rouxtjie and Wil6 2
dirtrider Posted October 24, 2013 Posted October 24, 2013 Ag lekker man.....jis its a great problem to have. Ti is lekker light, with the same smoothness of steel but apparently some flex a bit too much. Steel is heavy but moer strong and also old school what is your budget for the frame if I may ask? To be a purist it's gotta be steel . On One got special on the steel Inbred frames now I been told .
Wil6 Posted October 24, 2013 Posted October 24, 2013 Ag lekker man.....jis its a great problem to have. Ti is lekker light, with the same smoothness of steel but apparently some flex a bit too much. Steel is heavy but moer strong and also old school what is your budget for the frame if I may ask?About R10k. Also love the old school feel and look of the steel. This frame is really nice The reason I am in this situation is because I torn my ligaments and can't train or do anything until the end of the year But on a positive side, I will be saving a lot of cash
Wil6 Posted October 24, 2013 Posted October 24, 2013 I yet have to swing my leg over a TI frame that rides as well as some of the top steel frames.So steel is the way to go rouxtjie 1
Wyatt Earp Posted October 24, 2013 Posted October 24, 2013 So steel is the way to go That's just my IMHO moment But others will disagree.