After ride bike maintenance

TwiggzSA

You were worried about the Tattoo artists coming over, now you declaring your love for the domestic :eek:

She is different...

She is amazing.

Today she has washed my unborn daughters ENTIRE wardrobe in preperation for babies arrival.

Without being asked.

And she just made me lunch and coffee.

I love you Ettie.

• Replies 50

Guest TheBushpig

Chain off and cassette off ( cleaned in thinners and left to dry )

Bike gets full wash and all cables lubed .

fork gets cleaned and some fresh grease applied ( it's a lefty so I'm a bit more pedantic with it )

wheels off and sealant checked in tires

all put back together, dried off and some Mr min applied to bring back that show room bling .chain lubed

put on the rack for the next race , ride .

Every 5 odd rides I strip everything a regrease , from BB30 cups to seat post to stop creaking.

Eish, Respect on this one. Expensive equipment deserves this.

I have learned 2 things from this thread: 1) I clearly do not ride hard, often or far enough. 2) I could also spend more time looking after my bike. Good thread.

Duallie ... Wash and lube once a week or if it was a really messy / muddy ride sooner.

The SS is even easier .... come home and put it in the garage :)

What silicone do you squirt onto the fork? Is this a good practice? I just wash them properly with car shampoo :mellow:

For the rest it is a proper wash, dry and lube procedure.

Edited by FuelEX

Spraying some silicone on then cycling the fork through it's travel gets dirt and dust out that's gathered in and around the wiper seals.

After that I give the uppers a good wipe then spray some silicone spray on again. Makes for one buttery smooth ride.

What about items that help reduce the maintenance required like a fork protector like this one: http://www.cwcycles....dskins-forkboot

Anything else you guys use? I'm presuming that most would have a chainstay guard, what else if any do you use?

Don't know so lekker about boots for forks and shocks, they might keep some dust and mud out, but they also do a good job of keeping crap in there. Wipe after every ride and you should be fine

Gosh, you MTB okes are anal.

Ride road bike. Hang up. Use tomorrow.

Wash every 6 months or so (then get OCD and use earbuds to get everywhere).

Oil chain every few months.

Service about once a year by tightening bolts.

Regrease in about 5 years.

Keep bike virtually original for 25 years.

It pays to ride old-school steel.

Be a Retro-grouch.

Connex by Wippermann on the Shimano chain of my road bike: http://www.connexcha...link/1_309.html

SRAM PowerLink on the SRAM chain of my MTB: http://www.sram.com/...nnector-9-speed

When the chain starts to look grimey I take it off, soak it overnight in a big glass bottle full of paraffin. I can't remember where I read that tip. Take it out the next day, rinse off with warm, soapy water. Dry thoroughly outside in the sun (leave it hanging on something). Put back on, lube!

If the cassette is super dirty, I'll remove it too with this BBB lock-ring remover: http://bbbcycling.co...-tools/BTL-33L/ and BBB chainwhip (they call it a turntable?) http://bbbcycling.co...p-tools/BTL-11/

Again, a some paraffin on a cloth and clean off each of the cassette sprockets.

The drivetrain is the most amount of effort to keep clean in my opinion. The rest is a piece of cake. Having the right tools makes your job easy!

:)

Edited by mikkelz

I have tried Prepsol, Clean Green, car shampoo and recently Powasol. I have been converted. Powasol is the bomb! Even the tyres look brand new after you use it. Virtually no elbow grease required. Use a degreaser on the chain and cluster though.

Powasol does work really well...their liguid polish is good too. Just spray the polish on with a spray bottle after a wash (including tires) and just wipe with a chammy cloth.

My roadie habits are shining through. Go for Mtb ride, get home, put bike on stand in garage. Next ride, same routine. Once it is dirty enough not to see what make of bike it is anymore, I drag the hosepipe over and give the bike a proper hosedown. Shake excess water off, back onto stand in garage. And so it goes on. Once a year bike goes to LBS for service of wheels, bb, headset, etc.

What I'm pedantic about is keeping the chain clean and lubed. Have not replaced a chainring or cluster yet due to worn teeth.

IT IS AFTER ALL A MTB, FELLAS. (and a fairly cheap build up)

seeing what some of the teams do at the Epic after each stage is a real eye-opener :eek:

My roadie habits are shining through. Go for Mtb ride, get home, put bike on stand in garage. Next ride, same routine. Once it is dirty enough not to see what make of bike it is anymore, I drag the hosepipe over and give the bike a proper hosedown. Shake excess water off, back onto stand in garage. And so it goes on. Once a year bike goes to LBS for service of wheels, bb, headset, etc.

What I'm pedantic about is keeping the chain clean and lubed. Have not replaced a chainring or cluster yet due to worn teeth.

IT IS AFTER ALL A MTB, FELLAS. (and a fairly cheap build up)

Exactly how I feel about it - well said ! The bike is there for me to use and have fun on. Sure I need to keep it clean......but only once a month :thumbup:

Chain off and cassette off ( cleaned in thinners and left to dry )

Bike gets full wash and all cables lubed .

fork gets cleaned and some fresh grease applied ( it's a lefty so I'm a bit more pedantic with it )

wheels off and sealant checked in tires

all put back together, dried off and some Mr min applied to bring back that show room bling .chain lubed

put on the rack for the next race , ride .

Every 5 odd rides I strip everything a regrease , from BB30 cups to seat post to stop creaking.

ONE WORD.

O C D

seeing what some of the teams do at the Epic after each stage is a real eye-opener :eek:

That's why you should rather do Berg & Bush style boss.

Lean it on the tent and go have beer!