Smolster,

then this should be easy for you. I do around 80 on Saturday or Sunday and a couple of lengths in the pool in the week. The 2 or 3 weeks prior to Sani2C, I did around 100km ( on the road - Bedfordview to Samrand and back ) on either the Sat or Sun, and had plenty to spare at Sani.

Somebody here mentioned the Honda Mountain challenge.. you can use that as a a gauge - I don't know if you did it, but that is a very flat ride and can be completed in around 4 to 4 1/2 hrs. Magalies has a few climbs and should easily be done in 5, given your mileage that you've done.

• Replies 114

The 40km route was much easier this year, cutting out the swamp and popping into Utopia from nowhere. But it was fun, untill I lost it on one of the last rocky downhills. Came down hard and thankfully a guy stopped to pick me up, all tangled up with the bike. Lost a lot of time in the beginning due to congestion but that's what you get for starting at the back.

Nice route but the congestion at many stages in the race ruined it a bit. Amazed at how lacking a big part of the field's technical skills were, anyways start towards the front and it should be better. Good organisation overall.

I started close to the back on the 70 and did not have to wait anywhere for anybody !! You got almost 15km to pass before things get hectic . If you still farting around at the back when the first little climb starts then you deserve to wait .

If you still farting around at the back when the first little climb starts then you deserve to wait .

The first congestion was along that path by the dam, it was rideable but most slowed down / walked it. And that was just riding with the pace to the group from the start, but no big deal. If you want to sprint to get up front at the start, go for it bru. Some of us like to / have to pace it.

Then that loose rocky ascent up to MSP, bit more work to ride it (did about 1/2) but everyone was in portage mode so made it tricky to keep going without asking for the path the whole time. Minor inconvenience.

Many were coming off that rocky descent from MSP camping ground: that also make riding tricky because you had to be dodging fallen bikes and riders strewn across the path. But the 'monster' was all-clear and ridable all the way up.

The congestion was much worse the first time I did it.

Edited by kosmonooit

I started close to the back on the 70 and did not have to wait anywhere for anybody !! You got almost 15km to pass before things get hectic . If you still farting around at the back when the first little climb starts then you deserve to wait .

Same here....the small climb before portage1 sorts the okes out very quickly not to mention the monster. Guys moved off the trail when walking, so big up to the 70 riders.

:w00t: No, only reason I sprint the first few km is to get a clear track , not to win anything . After I get into a place where it looks like traffic is moving I just go with the bunch around me . Been doing it for years and it works for me .

Same here....the small climb before portage1 sorts the okes out very quickly not to mention the monster. Guys moved off the trail when walking, so big up to the 70 riders.

I did some walking(!) and was amazed at how some people would just not bother occasionally looking back over their shoulder to make way for those who wanted to ride up the hills/rough stuff. And there were some idiots that would just not move at all while pushing then block the whole track trying to mount/clip in and get moving, thats just plain ignorant! These are probably the same people who just pull into the fast lane on a highway without a second glance...

Really enjoyed the race this year , lost a tire on the rocky bits towards the end but still improved my time with just over an hour. Think the time in the saddle doing technical bits is paying off :-)

I did some walking(!) and was amazed at how some people would just not bother occasionally looking back over their shoulder to make way for those who wanted to ride up the hills/rough stuff. And there were some idiots that would just not move at all while pushing then block the whole track trying to mount/clip in and get moving, thats just plain ignorant! These are probably the same people who just pull into the fast lane on a highway without a second glance...

Eish can't say I experienced that, the okes were very good ito clearing track for riders.on both climbs and tech singletrack. Had a good laugh at some guy singing "push it....push it real good" going up that first climb before portage 1....think he is still pushing it out there hehehehhe. What I did notice is that guys that were walking were shouting "rider" to people walking in front of them...and they in turn did the same...like domino effect, people just cleared the way. One wobble though...on that steep down close to the finish some guy decided to dismount halfway down(don't know why he didn't commit since he was already halfway down). I shouted "I am going to hit you" cause there was no way I could have avoided it. He cleared just in time...thanks goodness

@typhoon I wonder who you could be with that car picture ha ha

Did the Monster again. 4.05 or something like that. Didn't have th best weeks prep for it with a Sani stomach bug :wacko:

One of the last pure MTB races around. Big up the the organisers, that is the best condition the route has ever been in since it started (I did the very first one eish is all I can say). They have improved a lot of the sections I assume for safety reasons, and after the race was excellent with the rehydrate tent for some and the BEER tent for others :clap:

It is a race not to take lightly. The funny part is the actual monster climb was like a recovery section from all the rocks and sand. Big up to everyone that finished.

In my opinion this is the race that most other organizers should compare themselves to. The route was a real MTB route. It was bloody hard and tested ever part of MTB skill. Every hill or downhill had either rocks or sand or a combination of both. The route is a true test of your skills (and your bike). The way the finished look with the beer tent on the one side and the Rehydrate zone on the other was brilliant. It must be the best organized and practical setup I have ever seen at a finish. When I went and bought a burger from the Spur stand I didn’t even wait in a line. How cool is that!?

Just 2 quick questions:

1. Wasn’t this route easier than previous years? The section after the monster was really hard but from about 55km to the finish it wasn’t that bad. I also noted that this year there were 372 finishers in the 70km and in 2011 there were 277. Is It due to more entries or maybe the easier route? The amount of finishers in the 40km was 500 compared to 493 in 2011.
  2. I noted on the number boards we had that the SASeeding logo was displayed. Why didn’t they then use batch starts? Not that it would matter to me because I didn’t have a lot of congestion on the route and at most places the peeps that were pushing made way without any hassles for riders.

Good one!

My first one. Did the 40k and cruised in with a 2.26. Pretty chuffed with that. Will definately be back for the Monster next year. Loved the route, especially the smell of rotten naartjies :blink:. The rocky track up to MSP was a tester, i managed to ride most of it and had no issues with other riders walking, and some were shouting words of encouragement as I came past. Thats the spirit!!

Big up to Jigghead for the offer of a lift to the start, but as it turned out I bumped into a old collegue at the spot where we were staying and he sorted me out.

Thought the event was well put together, and the bottle opener has a spot on my key ring!

Next year: Honkdonk 1, Monster 0

Edited by Honkdonk