If some tosser went through a stop street, shouted at me, spat in my face and threw me in traffic and my hubby didn't want to go out and hurt him I would be a tad miffed!!!

You sound just like my wife. Any chance that you are related? :ph34r: . Come to think of it, my wife would be "de moer in"
  • Replies 274

That story just winds up the rev counter more

I would really like to hear the other side, the newspaper should interview him and publish a nice picture of him as well

There are a few people waiting for his picture !

Many years ago my wife was recovering from a back op so was bedridden, my domestics ex husband gained access into our property and proceeded to beat the domestic. After a frantic call from the missus I managed to get home while he was still in the house, the nearest object to me was a cast iron steak pan. I hit him only twice with the pan, (believe me I wanted to go bos on his arse!) Then put him into the boot of my car and took him to the nearest Police station, laid a charge and then returned home to get the domestic patched up.

02h30 the following morning 5 police officers arrested me for assault with intent to do bodily harm, I had a wife who couldn't get out of bed to assist at all, appeared in court the following afternoon and was released without bail for wrongful arrest. Scariest 15 hours of my life!!

In a nutshell, I agree totally with the sentiments of teaching the arsewipe a lesson or 2, just be extremely cautious as in my experience the law does not always protect the victim!

Generally I think lawyers are more to blame here than the law (not sure of your incident). The law is there to investigate anyone who claims they have been assaulted. The lawyers on the other hand manipulate the law to the benefit of their clients and their own reputation.

A lawyer would advise his clients to lay a counter claim, so that in court he can argue that his client was defending himself against you, and not the other way around. There is no end to the length many lawyers would go to to ensure that their client gets off. The truth is an unknown concept to most of them. And once one oke gets off the hook with the counterclaim story, word gets around and every idiot will use it.

Generally I think lawyers are more to blame here than the law (not sure of your incident). The law is there to investigate anyone who claims they have been assaulted. The lawyers on the other hand manipulate the law to the benefit of their clients and their own reputation.

A lawyer would advise his clients to lay a counter claim, so that in court he can argue that his client was defending himself against you, and not the other way around. There is no end to the length many lawyers would go to to ensure that their client gets off. The truth is an unknown concept to most of them. And once one oke gets off the hook with the counterclaim story, word gets around and every idiot will use it.

The problem is not the lawyers - lawyers by definition just do what their clients want them to.

The problem is the human ability to lie - which is not limited to any profession - and the burden the rest of us have to decide who is lying and who isn't. This is what makes the whole justice system (which seems to be taking some flak in this thread) necessary in the first place, and is also why it does not always deliver the desired results.

Know of an incident where an elderly Gent returned from shopping to find a young "affirmative action shopper" in his house, back door busted open.

Scuffle ensued, Old Man squeeled like a stug pig for help whilst hanging onto the "innocent youngster that was just looking for some water to drink".

The neighbors heard the commotion and came to his assistance. Together they subdued the youngster and someone called the SAPS whilst they locked the youngster up in a cupboard. He was obviously trying his best to come loose and flee.

Cops came after a lenghty wait, "arrested" the youngster and carted him of to the Cop Shop, old man following in his own car. Once he got to the Cop Shop HE got arrested for Abduction (for locking the guy in the cupboard while waiting for the Cops), Assault and something else. Youngster's excuse was that he was looking for water. The Cops let him go.

Old Man spent the rest of the weekend in jail. Case was eventualy thrown out of court, but the Old Man became the perp, not the victim.

So yes, must be carefull of how you react. Criminals has more rights than the innocent victims these days.

The problem is not the lawyers - lawyers by definition just do what their clients want them to.

The problem is the human ability to lie - which is not limited to any profession - and the burden the rest of us have to decide who is lying and who isn't. This is what makes the whole justice system (which seems to be taking some flak in this thread) necessary in the first place, and is also why it does not always deliver the desired results.

What the client wants is simple: "get me out of this s*** no matter what it takes". And then the lawyer starts giving advice. Its not the client who comes up with the strategy on how to defend himself. I do agree with your second paragraph though.

Know of an incident where an elderly Gent returned from shopping to find a young "affirmative action shopper" in his house, back door busted open.

Scuffle ensued, Old Man squeeled like a stug pig for help whilst hanging onto the "innocent youngster that was just looking for some water to drink".

The neighbors heard the commotion and came to his assistance. Together they subdued the youngster and someone called the SAPS whilst they locked the youngster up in a cupboard. He was obviously trying his best to come loose and flee.

Cops came after a lenghty wait, "arrested" the youngster and carted him of to the Cop Shop, old man following in his own car. Once he got to the Cop Shop HE got arrested for Abduction (for locking the guy in the cupboard while waiting for the Cops), Assault and something else. Youngster's excuse was that he was looking for water. The Cops let him go.

Old Man spent the rest of the weekend in jail. Case was eventualy thrown out of court, but the Old Man became the perp, not the victim.

So yes, must be carefull of how you react. Criminals has more rights than the innocent victims these days.

I've heard and read of many such incidents. Is the solution then to not get the criminal arrested after subduing them i.e. not get the police involved in the justice part of things?

Edited by Azi

This would be a criminal matter. Counter claims are for civil matters. Sometimes the criminal lays other criminal charges but they are dealt with separated so not really counter-claims.

but the Old Man became the perp, not the victim.

Sick.

We had two situations at work.

A telkom employee was working at our previous premises, I had a massively high phone bill.

Calls made all over Africa between 22:00 and 02:00 hours.

Telkom investigated and I assisted them, I knew what they were looking for as in my previous profession we assisted them with a lot of their underground newtorks and we also had a group of guys that assisted them in installing devices to locate where and when these call occur.

Cut a long story short, when he entered the complex I saw the vehicle, 10 minutes later the line went down.

I went to their distribution point and noticed that he had swapped lines with the incorrect colour jumpers.

Went back to the shop and called the fraud line.

When I turned around, he stood behind me, he started screaming and shouting at me also asking why I am calling the fraud department.

I had a back wheel in my hand which I was about to true, he ran towards me and smashed his hand in to the cassette, he was bleeding like a pig, I took my phone to call the cops and he grabbed the wheel and bolted.

Cops arrived and I laid a charge of theft and assault.

5 days later I get arrested, they came and fetched me, left the shop doors wide open with nobody in the place to look after it.

One of the other tenants called my wife and one of the reps who eventually turned up.

The guy laid a counter charge and I was arrested for assault with grievously bodily harm.

Spent a day in tjoekie after they threw their chewed up chicken bones at me in the charge office because they made me sit there till they finished vreeting their staple food.

I lost this case in court.

Another one was when a guy and his goose walked in, sidetracked my colleague and the chick slipped my laptop under her dress.

I saw it and she tried to bolt, when I ended up next to her, she put it down saying I am lying.

Her tjom attacked my colleague, and his chick bolted, I ran and closed the door and she duly got her hand caught in the door and cut it open (how lucky can I be with hands)

I went back to her mal loskop tjomma and grabbed his arms, threw them around his back and cable tied them.

Cops arrive, and they want to arrest me and my colleague.

Only after I picked up the phone and called their super, did they decide to start acting like men who should be fighting for justice.