• Replies 37

Guest DieBees

Mtb'ers on their way to Modders skipping robots *cough*

Wow... Really?? Do mtb'ers also have faults.... I need to write this down. I have never met a mtb'er with no manners. Thats why God made roadies!

I think the mtb'ers are moapers, I never hear roadies complain about mtb'ers. Maybe they are minding THEIR OWN BUSINESS?

Edited by DieBees

By default I take the cyclists side, but after what i saw in the Bestmed race this morning, I am not so sure.

A few times, our B group was riding into oncoming traffic in the wrong lane, when not really necessary. 4 times, I rode up to the person in the wrong and politely said, "lets rather be safe and finish lekker" only to be told 3 times to eff off in foul language, 2 times by ladies!

Bit shocked.

They must have been over taking fat people
Guest Latent Blue

There is still something people must learn...

Human beings are idiots by default... only a select few rises out above the muck...

Ons cant stop hoping though...

Peach, agree with you fully ,however it's not just roadies but all cyclists, most importantly it's the fact that we are simply dealing with motorists in the end of the day.

However when I see a bike on a car or inside the car it pi$$es me off to no end as I myself as a cyclist try and be very aware of other cyclists when I am in my car.

Few weeks back we were cycling past the MTN bike park, a guy in a Velolife branded vehicle was tearing up the road at a stinking speed, as if he was late for a ride.

When we eventually passed Dunkeld centre his car was there and their group had not even left yet .

My point, as a cyclist we should be more aware of other cyclists when we are in our cars, as motorists with bikes or branding on the vehicle, we represent all cyclists and if we carry on regardless, we are simply putting more ammo in their firearms.

People driving like idiots suffer from a certain mentality that defines them to be better than the rest. They don't respect others they see as lesser mortals, and usually this pattern manifests in other areas in life such as standing in queues like all others. They will in some way not bother to fall in at the end. This may come about because of their station in life; they might have more money than others, maybe have a certain title or political office. It does not matter. They might even have no idea of their crappy mentality because their parents had the same mentality. To them it is normal. This is a sickness that will be with humanity until we cease to exist. Their is no pill for this.

Peach, I told you before, your language is scaring my soul.

(Back to topic...Luckily I was on that stretch of road around 5:40 :) )

Fliking Wonkers, what's wrong with that.

I have no soul :w00t:

This is not unique to roadies only, iv'e seen this type of behavior on my way to MTB races.

Not down here in the Western Cape.. we get up early to make the start times without having to break a few laws to do so.

Edited by Surv0MTB

Most local drivers, drive like F**k*** W*nk**s.

They could be on their way to a roller skating competition for that matter.

The initial post is only spreading the LOVE between MTB'ers and Roadies. :w00t:

Now imagine how confused I must be.....because I am both :wacko:

I do both and I see no confusion other than the fact the most of the offenders that Peach witnessed happened to have road bikes.

funny how things(people) work i said it before and ill say it again, i dont care if you ride a DOGMA, santa cruz, BMX, to me you are a fellow cyclist,,,,dont even get me on the apparell thing,,,the best kitted cyclist i have ever seen we 6 ladies going home from the naked race the day before the ARGUS

No, its to point out that they (being roadies) should understand the dangers and drive safely.

Im pretty sure they wouldn't have been too happy if a car came screaming past them at +100 km/h with a 0.5m gap.

No, its to point out that they (being roadies) should understand the dangers and drive safely.

Im pretty sure they wouldn't have been too happy if a car came screaming past them at +100 km/h with a 0.5m gap.

Ag shame.

Roadies deal with that exact issue on almost every ride.

I think you would get mtb'ers who drive just as badly. Even runners who drive just as badly. Even tennis players who drive just as badly. Unfortunately there are many people who are just tjops and behave like that regardless of what activities they do. It is just how South African culture is now. Everybody is too focused on themselves to consider others.