• Replies 97

Considering what you jumped, and how thin the layering of the fork was, I'd say you came off lightly.

Was good to meet you okes Sunday.

Some crazy jumps up there.

:thumbup:

1. Glad you're okay.

B. That is a DH trail that's only open on shuttle or race days. Not meant for XC bikes or any day riding. Could've ended in serious drama and (could still) result in the trails being closed.

Stupid and selfish. You'll be my first nomination for a rogue rider.

The plot thickens

1. Glad you're okay.

B. That is a DH trail that's only open on shuttle or race days. Not meant for XC bikes or any day riding. Could've ended in serious drama and (could still) result in the trails being closed.

oh dear, is that an idle threat or will you follow trough with it?

I was right behind him. I didn't actually know he attempted this till I saw his bike spinning away. Stopped me and the guys behind me from 'going for gold'. The guy you see in the first pic (red tshirt) landed that jump. He wasnt so lucky a couple minutes later on the next jump though. He got away with a concussion and a few scrapes but generally okay. It was quite an eventful day. Everybody who was there agrees though. It was one of the most awesome rides ever.

Edit: I have to add this because I just remembered. When discussing his rigid before the ride he said (and I quote) 'Real mountain bikers don't need suspension'. He was only joking though.

Not to highjack this thread ,but i want to sell my brand new rapide carbon fork with straigh stearer .Not because of this incident .The fork is to short to use in my SS and will change the geometry to much

I find the Classifieds works a treat for selling stuff.

Not to highjack this thread ,but i want to sell my brand new rapide carbon fork with straigh stearer .Not because of this incident .The fork is to short to use in my SS and will change the geometry to much

You're not in marketing are you... ;) :P :w00t:

1. Glad you're okay.

B.

Nice :clap:

1. Glad you're okay.

You'll be my first nomination for a rogue rider.

Pheeeeuw. Word from our “tour guide” on the day was that it was okay to ride the trails. So much for that then. Next time I’ll personally check with the proper authorities before riding any trails or taking anyone’s word again. Lesson learned.

Edited by Stressed Eric

Pheeeeuw. Word from our “tour guide” on the day was that it was okay to ride the trails. So much for that then. Next time I’ll personally check with the proper authorities before riding any trails or taking anyone’s word again. Lesson learned.

Just stab the "tour guide" with what remains of the broken fork, should get the message across.

oh dear, is that an idle threat or will you follow trough with it?

1. I'm glad they're okay

Furthermore. Done.

I stay just down the road from Zevenwacht and as anyone who lives near a trail knows it's a real privilege to cycle from home straight to a trail on your bike. There used to be trails at Zevenwacht which were closed before we moved here in 1996 EDIT:2006. I've asked, begged, offered help, begged again, but they stay closed. It wasn't too long ago that the Bottelary Hills trails were opened (incorporating Zevenwacht) and even more recent that a DH trail was added. For those far away they are on seperate sides of the hill and, as far as I know, operated independently.

Illegal riders have forced booms going up and the DH trail closed off or blocked when not in use. It's been made clear that it is not to be used on any other day than shuttle days or official event days.

The last thing we need is another farmer stripping his moer and kicking us, ALL OF US, off his farmer cause a hand full of guys can't stick to simple rules. To me, and a lot of riders in the area, it would mean having to get in my bakkie and drive a minimum of 20k's to the next nearest trail. Something that would severly limit the amount of times I'll be able to ride.

To the "trail centres" like Radish, Middelvlei and Zevenwacht Wine Tasting it will have a rather big impact on income.

Edited by Iwan Kemp

If he knows the area he KNOWS the rules. Maybe best at this stage to give you the benefit of the doubt. Just know that something like this can have a massive effect.

Over and out.