A dark Africa lays ahead.....load shedding

Does anyone know the Akira 6500 series generator and what type of oil and petrol does it take

Got one from my dad (after he passed away) and i dont have the manual also can not find any docs online ....

Probably 10w40 or 10w30 oil. Then normal petrol.

• Replies 787

Does anyone know the Akira 6500 series generator and what type of oil and petrol does it take

Got one from my dad (after he passed away) and i dont have the manual also can not find any docs online .... 

Spend a bit of time with Google. Nowadays there is simply no machine for which there is not a manual available online. Mostly it can be downloaded for free in pdf format. Just scratch around a little, I'm convinced you will find it. There will most likely also be utube videos showing exactly how to work on it or service it.

Probably 10w40 or 10w30 oil. Then normal petrol.

Normal as in Lead replacement or unleaded?

Spend a bit of time with Google. Nowadays there is simply no machine for which there is not a manual available online. Mostly it can be downloaded for free in pdf format. Just scratch around a little, I'm convinced you will find it. There will most likely also be utube videos showing exactly how to work on it or service it.

Seems Akira is a rebranded china made gen.  so not much online

There are certain generic China gensets that surface here under various brands, most of them of clones of Honda and Yamaha units.

ie MacAfrica

Yes I think the Akira is a Honda clone so will it be unleaded ptrol then?

They are fairy rugged, just get the cheapest.

If there is no sparkplug its Diesel :o but you will be able to get a wiff of that from the fuel tank.

Oil,

Might be an idea to change the oil. SAE 10W 30 or equivalent is what is in my manual

There is a gas conversion for these things going in the States, I am keen to try that.

They are fairy rugged, just get the cheapest.

If there is no sparkplug its Diesel :o but you will be able to get a wiff of that from the fuel tank.

Oil,

Might be an idea to change the oil. SAE 10W 30 or equivalent is what is in my manual

There is a gas conversion for these things going in the States, I am keen to try that.

There is/was a company here doing gas conversions to cars. I am sure it can be done to generators as well

This is the kit I was looking at.

https://www.propanecarbs.com/kits.html

I have mains natural gas so this might be a good idea. I haven't worked out the running cost differences as yet but surely its cheaper than petrol although one won't be getting the rated power out the genset apparently since gas has a lower calorific value per unit volume or something like that.

To me the bizarre is that Eskom/ANC persists with the same procurement and employment policies that caused the Eskom disaster. None of them are brave enough to say; reinstate coal quality, from the cheapest supplier or employ the best person regardless of skin colour oh, and make sure those employed as engineers are actually engineers.   Reinstate boiler tube checks, ash handling contractors etc etc.

The fat chemist and his chums just flail around Dunning Kruger / cargo cult like; well, like a corner chemist trying to run a big power utility. Unlikely to have a good outcome.

To me the bizarre is that Eskom/ANC persists with the same procurement and employment policies that caused the Eskom disaster. None of them are brave enough to say; reinstate coal quality, from the cheapest supplier or employ the best person regardless of skin colour oh, and make sure those employed as engineers are actually engineers.   Reinstate boiler tube checks, ash handling contractors etc etc.

The fat chemist and his chums just flail around Dunning Kruger / cargo cult like; well, like a corner chemist trying to run a big power utility. Unlikely to have a good outcome.

This is the sad truth - the pandemic of stupidity that prevails. Policies that result in disaster and dysfunction, driven by so-called political policies but actually only foster a feeding trough for the corrupt selected "In"  few (Blacks in cohorts with skelm Indians and Whites) - no room for talent, experience, resourcefulness, massive investments in education and ... honesty.

The latest CEO of Eskom has zero zilch Engineering (yet alone Electrical) industry or otherwise experience, although he has proven to be a good executive elsewhere. 

Haven't had a look at the latest Eskom Board but eish Jhb City Power - very few there with any Elec Eng attributes, i would love to ask them individually if they know the difference between Voltage and Current, esp, Madame Comrade Chairperson,

This dysfunctionality is the end game of this phucked up situation. And its not like 'they' will catch a wake up and employ the right people for job, instead they give out jobs like they give out houses, but the thing is one has to be able to do the job.

With populist policies this is going to get worse.

This is the sad truth - the pandemic of stupidity that prevails. Policies that result in disaster and dysfunction, driven by so-called political policies but actually only foster a feeding trough for the corrupt selected "In"  few (Blacks in cohorts with skelm Indians and Whites) - no room for talent, experience, resourcefulness, massive investments in education and ... honesty.

The latest CEO of Eskom has zero zilch Engineering (yet alone Electrical) industry or otherwise experience, although he has proven to be a good executive elsewhere. 

Haven't had a look at the latest Eskom Board but eish Jhb City Power - very few there with any Elec Eng attributes, i would love to ask them individually if they know the difference between Voltage and Current, esp, Madame Comrade Chairperson,

This dysfunctionality is the end game of this phucked up situation. And its not like 'they' will catch a wake up and employ the right people for job, instead they give out jobs like they give out houses, but the thing is one has to be able to do the job.

With populist policies this is going to get worse.

They have caught the Venezuelan flue. There is no cure for that.