Puncture resistant ROAD tyres - 700x23

Veebee

Hello Everyone.

New to the forum, some great info on here... thanks.

I'm new to cycling, started about 4 months ago and have been enjoying all of it soo far. But the 1 major problem I'm having is punctures... had 4 in the past week, 2 alone at the Berg n Dale so looking for ways to make this go away a bit... I know its not always possible and the road condition etc makes all the difference.

I am currently riding on Maxxis Dolomites which have come on my Reacto 400, and have tyre liners in them and used the Kenda self sealing tubes but these haven't really helped my cause.

Have been reading up on tyres and have seen a lot of talk around the Schwalbe Durano Plus, so what I would like to know is where can I find these in SA or what are my other options regarding tyres and puncture protection ?

Would really appreciate help and advise on this, thanks in advance.

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Tire liners are a waste and actually give you more snakebite punctures. The good old Continental Gatorskins are bulletproof everyday tires. I'm on the GP4000's and they also just keep going.

Also a good hint is to keep the right pressure in your tires (min 100 psi).

Welcome to the Hub.

Your first problem is tire liners, they simply don't work well on a road bike.

Tire pressures are too high and where the liner overlaps it usually pinches the tube.

Personally I would remove them.

Next thing is go out and spend the R1200 or so Rand on Continental GatorSkins. All your problems will be solved.

If you not worried about every ounce of weight on your bike, GatorSkins are simply the best for puncture resistance.

I use them for training, but for racing I use Vittoria's, Personal preference of course. 

Tire liners are a waste and actually give you more snakebite punctures. The good old Continental Gatorskins are bulletproof everyday tires. I'm on the GP4000's and they also just keep going.