When should you help out a fellow rider?

NixM

Anybody that does not buy and carry a spare derailleur hanger deserves whatever hardship is waiting on the day. 

Jeez, boet. That's harsh.

• Replies 333

Tough world we live in

On the Road I carry 1 x Tube and usually two bombs, if someone is stuck next to the road I will supply any of my spares. Has worked for me so far and I have been fortunate enough not to have to walk anywhere.

MTB I carry 3 x bombs and 1 x tube for in case the tubeless goes tits up, if I need more than that I am pretty much screwed.

More than once I have stopped and given away bombs or the spare tube that I have.

I am pretty sure if I get stuck, there will be someone that will help me out as well

Been Mtb'ing since 2006. Only bought a spare hanger last month.

Never needed one before. Infact, never needed to replace any hanger at any time, Road or Mtb.

Dean, you are doing them no favours meneer....think about it this way.

Stop and help the guy with a puncture and he will forget what you did or how to prevent / fix said issue nevermind how much it cost you in rande, the moment he throws his leg over the bike.

Ride past him(don't point and laugh though) and I PROMISE you it is the last time he ever rides without snotplugs / tools / checked his sealant...Nothing helps you to become more self reliant or get a reality check about weight weenie kuk, than a 10km klap-n-toon back home. 

You doing him a favour by riding past...tough love I say, please see hot aunty rule above for exceptions

I agree and disagree.

Sometimes you can see people trying to get sorted on the side but they are just struggling, for whatever reason. I dont mind helping these folk out. Sometimes they just need help, especially back markers. Usually they are tired and struggling anyway so any help they can get to finish the race goes a long way. And trust me, they then remember the next time something happens. However these guys that carry a tube in the back pocket asking you for a bomb cause they dont carry one, is a case of sorry for you.

Been Mtb'ing since 2006. Only bought a spare hanger last month.

Never needed one before. Infact, never needed to replace any hanger at any time, Road or Mtb.

so does that mean you have actually been using your mountain bike then ..... :w00t: :nuke: 

dive tuck roll, run like hell.........

Tough world we live in

On the Road I carry 1 x Tube and usually two bombs, if someone is stuck next to the road I will supply any of my spares. Has worked for me so far and I have been fortunate enough not to have to walk anywhere.

MTB I carry 3 x bombs and 1 x tube for in case the tubeless goes tits up, if I need more than that I am pretty much screwed.

More than once I have stopped and given away bombs or the spare tube that I have.

I am pretty sure if I get stuck, there will be someone that will help me out as well

i call bullsheet,,,,,,,i remember a certain morning your bike had to be loaded on a sweeper amarok bakkie after walking :whistling:  :whistling:

So in the future what should I do?

- Ignore everyone with a problem in a ride as they are likely to be unorganised, unprepared and ungrateful.

- Stop and offer any spares i have but not give up my time.

- Or do exactly the same and give spares and time in the hope that that person will pay it forward in the future?

1) Do what feels right at the moment, yes maybe the guy/girl just rides off but maybe you       just organised free beer for the rest of your life

2) If you can help, help but not if its going to spoil your entire race/day/year/life

3) Much better way to go through life

i call bullsheet,,,,,,,i remember a certain morning your bike had to be loaded on a sweeper amarok bakkie after walking :whistling:  :whistling:

Well I didnt have to walk did I?

Lets rather not say that between the two of us we didnt have1 x bomb  :clap:

I've stopped quite a few times (road bike only) and have had a range of experiences. The guys who dont care to say even a thank you for the spares and work you did to get them rolling, the very appreciative but no plan to pay you back, to literally selling someone my spares - this one happens when a roadie said he needed a tube in the cradle. Handed one of my two tubes over and when offered cash, I turned him down. He asked for a bomb too so I gave him two and took the 100 rand note he had. It's about the same amount anyway.

I've been stuck when I didn't know any better (right when I started), I've been stuck when two tubes needed replacement on the short ride to the start of 94.7, leaving me with no spares for the race. I've been stuck when my bomb adapter didn't work properly and I worked through both bombs without luck.

I now carry

Small pump

2 x tubes

2 x quick links

Multi tool

3 x bombs

Spare adapter

Spare but of tube

Cloth for snot/repair grease.

Spare gel in case of bonk

So far, it's cost me money to help, but hey. Hopefully when I get properly stuck, someone won't mind to pull over and help out.

I agree with the circumstances rules above.

Road training ride, stop and help.

Road race, carry on unless you get waved down.

But remember the all important rule: don't be a douchebag.

I will happily give consumable stuff (tjoops, snot strips, bombs etc.) if it's not my last and there is still miles to go ....... lent a fancy pump to an oke once in Barberton and am still smarting about not getting it back!

I don't carry any spares with me on my rides.

But I have a chap follow me around with a spare bike in case of a puncture or if it gets mud on it.

post-40719-0-72652400-1431957958_thumb.jpg

Dean, you are doing them no favours meneer....think about it this way.

Stop and help the guy with a puncture and he will forget what you did or how to prevent / fix said issue nevermind how much it cost you in rande, the moment he throws his leg over the bike.

Ride past him(don't point and laugh though) and I PROMISE you it is the last time he ever rides without snotplugs / tools / checked his sealant...Nothing helps you to become more self reliant or get a reality check about weight weenie kuk, than a 10km klap-n-toon back home. 

You doing him a favour by riding past...tough love I say, please see hot aunty rule above for exceptions

Rouxtjie, you are a fast rider, the okes you pass are wannabe racing snake weightweenies, I'd give them nothing too.

I'm a backmarker, generally the okes that I pass that are struggling are generally clueless, and/or newbies, and I'll help them, and educate them.

Stop worrying about the hanger and make a SS to get you home 

I've done that a few times for people, and including using my bomb to lock out their shock so that they don't break their chain.