Kids Balance Bike recommendations

GgL

• Replies 103

buy right size pedal bike and remove cranks and chain

Anyone got any advice on balance bikes for tall kids?

My daughter is mutant tall and has out grown a JDbug but is not ready for a pedal bike yet.

My son who is younger than my daughter is also massive so I dont see buying another bike as being a waste. I am sure that he will need it as well.

• 1 year later...

Anyone tried one of those Simple Sam balance bikes for kids? Son is nearing 18months and it's time to get him a balance bike

Edited to add: I think seat height will be the most important factor for me as my son is small and I'd like to start him on the bike pretty early

Edited by travisza

• 5 weeks later...
On 4/28/2016 at 2:29 PM, Frosty said:

I bought a JD Bug at Checkers Hyper for R499 when they were selling for R899 elsewhere. Lucky, I guess?

It's now 3 years old and still looks/works like new.

Daughter #2 will get about 2 years out of it before the soon-to-be niece will (probably) inherit it.

Importers are now part of the Massmart/Makro buying division - think it's called M5 Sports Group

Sold the JD Bug late last year, but as I’ve aged somewhat since this post and I can’t remember the amount. 

New owner said his kids was over the moon. My two girls were happy. A well used R450 less the amount I sold it for.

No point spending thousands on something that the kids outgrow so quickly.

• 1 month later...

Howzit guys. 
I’m probably going overboard but I just got my son a Strider 14X. 
Already looking too upgrade bits and bobs but struggling to find 14” tires online (I’m in Brunei). I’ll be in SA over December and thought maybe I could get some better than the stock tires there and then convert it to tubeless when we are back here. 
or is tubeless a poef idea? I’m just not lus to sukkel with tubes. 

Have any of you pimped their kids bikes? I was thinking to get some matching bars and grips. Maybe bigger pedals with better grip, he will have shin pads so his legs won’t look like mine. 

21 hours ago, Pieter1 said:

Howzit guys. 
Already looking too upgrade bits and bobs but struggling to find 14” tires online (I’m in Brunei). I’ll be in SA over December and thought maybe I could get some better than the stock tires there and then convert it to tubeless when we are back here. 

Have any of you pimped their kids bikes? I was thinking to get some matching bars and grips. Maybe bigger pedals with better grip, he will have shin pads so his legs won’t look like mine. 

bike24.de is where i got some schwalbe small size tyres. great upgrade

21 hours ago, Pieter1 said:

Howzit guys. 

I was more excited than what he was.

Rock Shox decals for the fork and custom name logo( Super M - Super Markus).

Placed tyre linings and sealant in and no problems.

Muna.jpg

Giro.JPG

Heres mine on his.
He’s only turning 2 next month. As soon as he could straddle this,  i threw away the plastic motorbike. Took him 3months, and hes riding it down small hills and stuff already. 

Like a boss.

0536A6E7-EDB6-40D0-8CA6-8577D15C1C48.gif

44ECFA20-4916-4D42-A53F-244039E4D114.jpeg

Edited by MORNE

I got over excited and bought mine his a bit before he was tall enough to be able to put his feet down nicely.

When he saw it he was so keen to get on and ride. Didn't want us to hold or anything (which obviously we had to because his feet could barely touch the ground)

Had to take it away until he's a bit taller....that was one of the toughest things I;ve had to do. Poor little oke was not happy

I also bought his when he was like 6 months old haha. For long it just stood upside down and he would play with the wheels. He was an expert with his plastic motorbike around 1,5y old but those suck offroad and on grass. And one say I showed him what a soft smooth ride the balance bike was and he was hooked. He also didn't reach the floor seated yet but he could push it along between his legs just fine. Then he started sitting on the downtube…and then one day he just sat on the seat and started running with it.

just give it to him lol.

Ps: granted my ~2y old is the size of most people’s 4y olds haha

26 minutes ago, travisza said:

I got over excited and bought mine his a bit before he was tall enough to be able to put his feet down nicely.

When he saw it he was so keen to get on and ride. Didn't want us to hold or anything (which obviously we had to because his feet could barely touch the ground)

Had to take it away until he's a bit taller....that was one of the toughest things I;ve had to do. Poor little oke was not happy

Edited by MORNE

Haha! Awesome guys!! I’ve been trying to cone up with a GG inspired name for a balance bike but I can’t swing any bands name into a name for a balance bike. 
I found this site and while they have cool stuff I can’t get it here. 
https://wildchildbikes.com

Our two year old is also a little giant and grows so quickly I don’t think he will be on the 14” for long. The cool thing about this Strider is you get a crank set with it so as soon as they balance lekker he can peddle it. 

I had a lag at him the other day. Well it was a proud moment rather. ALL he wants to watch id “fietsie” videos when the tv is on so he sees a lot of the freeride stuff I enjoy watching. 
At playgroup he took their bike and carried it onto the little plastic castle they have, the one end has a slide, before I could help he was already riding down it. It did not go smooth but he got down. 

I can’t wait to give him his bike, luckily his birthday is next Wed so not long to wait.  

Edited by Pieter1
Added info.

On 9/29/2022 at 12:32 PM, MORNE said:

Then he started sitting on the downtube…and then one day he just sat on the seat and started running with it.

The suspension on those Kokua bikes really helps with confidence for making the transition too.

Save money on the balance bike. Spend more when they need brakes and pedals.

I got one from GeeWiz for R500. My son rides it every day and it's held up great. Pull off all the Chinese stickers and put your own.

My son gets to add a sticker to it every time he accomplishes something new, and loves it.

https://www.geewiz.co.za/kids-bikes/176356-4453-12-inch-kids-balance-bike.html#/19-colour-yellow

spacer.png