DNF for me...

I'd gone through all 3 tubes I was carrying by hydration point 1 so currently sitting in a sweeper vehicle dreaming of the beer tent.

Eish, sorry to hear that, Lurch.

• Replies 1.1k

DNF for me...

I'd gone through all 3 tubes I was carrying by hydration point 1 so currently sitting in a sweeper vehicle dreaming of the beer tent.

Oh no... Damn should've sponsored you per km ... Hahaaa, on the upside at least you didn't fall. Enjoy the beer.

What was the vibe at the start like with all the cable tie people Lurch? Did they manage to get it together properly?

No one offer you a spare tube? That's a different kind of tube hunting altogether! Eisshhhhh bru! Sorry to hear!

Sorry to drop you boys (and girls  :P ) last minute. Got to the circle über early, and the heat was already cranking up, so I went with an earlier group of mates that I hadn't seen in a while. Knowing that there was serious firepower in I group already, I knew my services wouldn't be too missed  :thumbup:

Keen to hear the post race report. Any PB's?

Well that didn't work out quite like we planned :) whoops, it's Tombeej's fault ;)

Was super fun anyways and really good to meet and ride with some of you guys!

A bit more details on what you mean by that? Did the group splinter early on?

Up pooks hill lost the 3 man I train group. 2 guys sped away and 1 guy fell back. Rode till just before turn to heartbreak hill stretch and latched onto a bigger I train group. After heart break hill the group splintered again. Met Bmw1za. We rode a little together till he dropped off past waterfall. Never bothered about I train after that. Just picked up wheels wherever I could. Pulled a bunch on M1 till Joe slovo. Finished in 3h19. 14 minutes faster than last year. The wind on the back stretch took a few minutes away.

Logistics probably didn't work out as well as everyone hoped. Too many people to co-ordinate a group of 40 amongst the thousands waiting to start and the hundreds in the group who had no clue about the dynamics everyone was trying to pull together.

No whistleman, likely meant no brakes and the front guys pulled hard and broke the group up from the get go! 

A bit more details on what you mean by that? Did the group splinter early on?

I think I sat behind Patchelicious bum for about 1km (or 2 or so)... Yoh I think he became my new hub crush.. Drool ;-P

Wes dropped me on the 1st hill (I told him he will). He had a carrot in front of his nose. 

Sherriff and Scott etc came up to me around the 22km mark, I was done by then (trying to keep up with Wes etc). 

My hand was dead before I got into town. I got nervous about braking and bumps then. My tummy gave my issues then too. Eish! I hanged on by a tread (soul searching for sure) to finish today! Was 30min off target, but chuffed just with the finish to be honest. 

Was great meeting some new folk and seeing the other hubbers for sure! 

I miss Hayley's bum. It was there so fleetingly and then....gone. Thereafter it was Patch's glutes which distracted me...not even close in the crush-worthy stakes IMHO, but very effective at pulling me down the M1. Lost the okes at the Wilds, as I suspected I would, but then rode quite strongly - for me - for a pleasant 03:25. 15 mins better than last year - super chuffed!!! Thanks to Patch, the Sheriff, Scott CM for the tow down the M1. Thoroughly enjoyed the short time I had with them.

Tried my best to control some of the herding and at least get the 2 bunches to join each other , Had no intention to do any pacing so early ...The race vibes was there from the get go and the wild horses did not want to hold back and wait to regroup,  by the time i hit the M1 i was on target but cramping set in , from there it was several stops to rub and stretch ... 

I smaaked the vibe and really enjoyed the company ... 

limped home to a very sad 3h30 .. okay its 20 mins faster than last year but i thought i was ready to nail it. 

Kudos to all ... maybe next time 

I miss Hayley's bum. It was there so fleetingly and then....gone. Thereafter it was Patch's glutes which distracted me...not even close in the crush-worthy stakes IMHO, but very effective at pulling me down the M1. Lost the okes at the Wilds, as I suspected I would, but then rode quite strongly - for me - for a pleasant 03:25. 15 mins better than last year - super chuffed!!! Thanks to Patch, the Sheriff, Scott CM for the tow down the M1. Thoroughly enjoyed the short time I had with them.

So you agree he has a nice bum etc... Joh!  :drool: