Why I have to wait ANOTHER year to crack a sub 3 Argus

carbon29er

In 2006 I got dropped on the rise into Ocean View and saw the front of my group crack a sub 3. Those 10 metres cost me 5 minutes by the time I got to Green Point. As I was riding the Epic a few weeks later and was fit as thought I could be I did the only thing I could reasonably do. I retired from the Argus. The next 5 years were spent doing other stuff, mainly eating and drinking. That Sunday in March was spent on Suikerbossie, beers and braai in hand supporting my wife and friends.

During the 2011 event I decided I had sulked long enough and should have another go at a sub 3. So I started training, lost 18kg and worked through the seeding from the back. Only setback was a fractured clavicle in Tokai on Christmas Eve 2011.

By that Sunday in March 2012 I was ready only to lose the 18 strong guys of C batch on little Chappies. They cracked it. I rolled in with the next 40 guys of C in 3:00:40.  595th in the Argus after 5 years off.

But I was just not strong enough when it mattered.

So for 2013 I set out to be stronger and fitter. By March I was in superb condition and lined up in B, full of confidence. I had a superb race, was in the right place every time I had to be and forced the break on little Chappies with 13 other B strong men. A sub 3 was there for the taking with a safety margin. Then I punctured in Sea Point at the roundabout on Beach Road. My fellow escapees cracked 2:58:38. I knew if I stopped it would be over. So I rode on a flat rear wheel and got slower and slower. I was passed by 45 B riders as I limped in in 3:00:31 for 501st in the Argus. Devastated.

2014 race was a ride as I broke my back in May 2013 and I was happy with a 3:03:49 and a top 700. 2015 was meant to be my year but the fires meant everyone got a sub 3.