2017 Freedom Challenge RASA & RTR

Wish I had the opportunity to write a facebook post like this about race entry process, taken from the Race to the Rock facebook page, simply outstanding...... (bolding and italics mine)

There is a lot of interest in the Race to the Rock. This is a real problem. Too many people think they want to race, so I've reluctantly put an entry process in place. This is after consultation with the ring leaders. It seems common sense, self awareness and self-reflection have mostly left this modern world. The entry process will be there to protect you from yourself. If you don't like the entry process, that's fine; you're welcome to ride the route, or something similar, whenever you like. You can even start tomorrow.
The statistics don't lie. You probably don't want to enter, and you're probably not capable of completing, the Race to the Rock. You just don't know it yet and I'd hate for you to find out when you're out on the trail hundreds of kilometres from safety. It's safer, less painful and less soul destroying to remain a dot watcher.
The Race to the Rock is seriously tough. I don't expect many will finish. This is a genuinely tough event in the age of countless events pretending to be tough. Elements of risk have been watered down in most of today's events. Not here. Please do not enter Race to the Rock.
The entry process will start on 1 June 2017. If you really want to race, you'll figure it out. If you have a question about the entry process, please do not contact who you think the ring leaders might be on their personal email, Facebook or Instagram accounts. They probably won't respond.

I can see more races turning to the Barkley Marathon entry procedure...

• Replies 605

Hhhmm looks a lot like the Tour Divide, can't really remember what Jill had to say about her time on the Tour Divide, but I can remember her facial expression in the Osseberg when I met her for the first time, Priceless............

:w00t:  :w00t:  :w00t:

ja i think doing it every ten years is justifiable.

I'm waiting for EA to be far away from Cape Town again... Doing both in the same 6 weeks is something I struggled with in 2013

Maybe we could plan it and have a duel of the brother in-laws out on the Freedom Trail!

Hhhmm looks a lot like the Tour Divide, can't really remember what Jill had to say about her time on the Tour Divide, but I can remember her facial expression in the Osseberg when I met her for the first time, Priceless............

:w00t:  :w00t:  :w00t:

Must have had a massive smile. Just too happy to discover such a beautifull place and then meet the famous Hyena tourguide

AND that was a wrap for 2017! Now I see the 2018 entry for RASA is already available online at a R35k price tag. Wondering if there will be an early bird entry fee offered??

The experience of Freedom is priceless but eish! that blanket is becoming expensive! if I may add, like everything else.

I need to scheme a plan  :whistling:

Wow what a disappointment to go onto the 2018 entry page to see that the fees have been hiked by a massive 35% for R2R.

I wonder what justifies such a huge hike in entry fee?

I guess I can cross this experience off my list of want-to-dos and put it onto my can't-afford-to-do list  :(

Wow what a disappointment to go onto the 2018 entry page to see that the fees have been hiked by a massive 35% for R2R.

I wonder what justifies such a huge hike in entry fee?

I guess I can cross this experience off my list of want-to-dos and put it onto my can't-afford-to-do list  :(

I feel the same.  Surely the costs of running the race haven't increased that dramatically this year?  I went and had a look at the costs for RASA for the last few years and the increases have been reasonable until this year.  Is it just a supply and demand issue?

At this price it's out of my league.  

post-50271-0-93462300-1500032699_thumb.png

Yoh... That is more than a single #epic entry boet!

27k I could stomach, 35k I would rather look at redoing my kitchen thanks.

I feel the same.  Surely the costs of running the race haven't increased that dramatically this year?  I went and had a look at the costs for RASA for the last few years and the increases have been reasonable until this year.  Is it just a supply and demand issue?

Those are my thoughts too dirtypot. If it is a supply/demand issue then a lot of the appeal has been lost for me. I've always seen this as a noncommercial event. That has been the main attraction over the years.

If one is looking purely at cost per day, then this is on a par with many of the unaffordable team stage races. 

And as you know, the cost of the event for the rider is not just entry fee. It's travelling and accommodation both before and after the event.

I'm quite saddened by this.

Strange that you mention sad, I heard the entry fee mentioned here and went to check on the site for myself, I did notice that there are payment plans. I haven't been able to shake the sad feeling as it probably means a change in plans for something that tugs at my heart each year.

I feel the same. Surely the costs of running the race haven't increased that dramatically this year? I went and had a look at the costs for RASA for the last few years and the increases have been reasonable until this year. Is it just a supply and demand issue?

I did it in 2008 as a junior engineer the entry was a big expense, although leave was more of an issue. 10 years later I'd rather spend that entry money on my wife and 2 kids

Strange that you mention sad, I heard the entry fee mentioned here and went to check on the site for myself, I did notice that there are payment plans. I haven't been able to shake the sad feeling as it probably means a change in plans for something that tugs at my heart each year.

Tough times as it is. Signs in times moving forward that MTB recreation is getting expensive. Sad it is. I've done some of my own few day planned unsupported mtb excursions in the recent past and experienced the same fabulous overnight hospitality as experienced on the Freedom trail. It may not be the Freedom trail but its a similar experience and way cheaper. Maybe this might become more of my norm as the future presses on.

Still glad I got RASA and my blanket ticked off my bucket list. Was really thinking bout doing it again but thoughts have become otherwise. RTC 2018.... Maybe, but then maybe that's it...

Yoh... That is more than a single #epic entry boet!

27k I could stomach, 35k I would rather look at redoing my kitchen thanks.

But you get three time as much of a ride in km and days. And you are not limited to one small bottle of water at dinner each. Its moreclose to an all you can eat and drink fest on the trail.

Its quite heavy for next year. But there was almost none for 2016. I actually believe 2015 2016 was really cheap and now its more towards a good price.

I know they looked closer into tracking costs this year and maybe there where some nasty surprises uncovered.

price increase for the years you mention is on average 12,5% if they would have done it year by year almost no one would have spoken. But giving us almost a no increase in the past makes us wine.

Rememeber inflation is a around 6% so thats already for a big chink accounted.

Extra costs baviaans kloof we now need an escort and even if its volunteers(not sure some might be paid) Just feeding housing(not only for the trip but also waiting in between groups) them and fuel will cost a nice chunk its a lot of milage on these cars.

Spot trackers a lot better for us watchers and safety but not the same kind of budget.

And there most likely are other. There where some serious behaviour issues on the trail outside of race times. I bet just the visits just to calm some situations find alternative routes and hosts will have cost a bit. And some peace offers? Peace bridges and so also cost.

In my opinion we are very lucky to be able to experince the trail even on 2018 rates. And I don't wanna calculate the rate Glenn and Meryl are on for looking after us. if they find out they might go and invest that time in something else that will earn a real living. Don't underestimate the time it costs them and what all our little needs and issues cause as work for them.

I know what the cut used to be on accomodation outside of the race. When I found out I was shocked as to how little.

But you get three time as much of a ride in km and days. And you are not limited to one small bottle of water at dinner each. Its moreclose to an all you can eat and drink fest on the trail.

I have a blanket.. I am well aware of the experience.

It is just sad that, like the epic, it is becoming too expensive for mere mortals to afford.

I would love to do it again but with these prices my family comes first. It is just too much of a chunk of change to write off for the experience. Which sucks

I think that the RASA office need to look at their cost structure.

Given the volume of riders that traverse the FC routes during the year in the various versions, in my opinion, there should only be a part-time race office. If in fact there are permanent employees, this is overkill. Yes, there are times that full time persons are warranted but they shouldn't be permanent positions.

With the increase in pricing, the value for money proposition starts to be weighed up and measured against other mutli-day stage race. Looking at it unemotionally, at the current price levels, it falls short.

For me its not the relative cost, or the cost of putting the event on or the margin made etc etc that can be debated as nauseum, its rather that for a large number of the type of riders doing the event thus far, for them I suspect that the absolute cost, ie R35k plus is hard to justify when looking your family in the eye.

I have noticed that quite a number of people recently seem to do Epic and RASA in the same year, with even some of the other FC shorter events thrown in in the same year too! The point being that there are enough people with the type of disposable income that the entry fee is not an issue.

I do know that the race organisers would prefer that this not be turned into a 'bucket list' race for the type of entrant mindset that attracts, but for it to remain commercially viable that factor might in future become largely unavoidable. Epic has fully embraced that mindset and it seems to be working for them and the majority of people for whom cost is not an issue, I believe this year was the turning point for them in neutralising a stage in the interests of 'customer first'.

I do still think the shorter FC events are well worth considering, both from a price and experience aspect.

Lastly as Trail Warrior points out the bikepacking option is a great way of finding your own roads and having an absolute ball. (PS you don't need a new disc braked gravel grinder with a full set of Apidura bags to start)