MTB Instructor sued for 4 million Quid!

Mojoman

• Replies 73

It amazes me what people try to sue for these days.

Im pretty sure that indemnity forms dont really count though, from what I have heard you cannot sign your rights away. Still I dont think mr OTB will be winning that case.

Most indemnity forms or boards aren't worth the paper they are printed on, professionals will only be indemnified once they show they have adhered to their duty of care, which in this case I think would at least be to make sure your students are on the right track with adequate skills to navigate and cope with technical aspects. My 2c

who was that swiss dude who was a pro expert amazingly brilliant instructor here again?

now there was a sue worthy instructor

I will let you know sven I remember his name...

Sommer looks a bit like a sh|t sturring dwis.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/content/dam/news/2016/10/25/112052716_Asif_Ahmed_leaving_court_after_hearing_in_his_claim_for_damages-NEWS-large_trans++zccoJS-E8Wb-wOXrdJto25lMdWsNYw4DUmdkOd46hyU.jpg

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/10/25/solicitor-left--paralysed-in-cycling-accident-sues-79-mountain-b/

he is a lawyer... this is how karma works..

.you are a pro **** for a living ...you fall on your head  = karma

Sommer looks a bit like a sh|t sturring dwis.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/content/dam/news/2016/10/25/112052716_Asif_Ahmed_leaving_court_after_hearing_in_his_claim_for_damages-NEWS-large_trans++zccoJS-E8Wb-wOXrdJto25lMdWsNYw4DUmdkOd46hyU.jpg

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/10/25/solicitor-left--paralysed-in-cycling-accident-sues-79-mountain-b/

"He had been riding a mountain bike for several years but this was the first time he had any training.

Although experienced in cycling and mountain biking, he was a novice to "rough terrain" and "descents"."

Been mountain biking for several years and was experienced but he was a novice to rough terrain and descents? Where was he mountain biking before then? In the city or something?

Probably a claim against insurance, not the instructor in his personal capacity, so we can all chill the fark out.

We would all do the same in a similar situation - it's called looking for the "deepest pockets" to recover damages.

in certain jurisdictions and under some consumer legislation, there's NO FAULT LIABILITY - in other words, you can be liable for damages in the ABSENCE OF NEGLIGENCE.

Storm.  Teacup.  #IsItFriday?

Eish. Without the full facts very difficult to say. Rider could be taking a chance, or instructer was bad.

But, how do you mtb for years and never ride rough terrain, or descents? I sent my wife on a course before she cracked 150km of riding to make sure she learns the basics early on.

And my 2cents, I attended a course and failed to apply the cornering technique property at speed, taking a good tumble. It wasn't the instructors fault, but mine. He couldn't control what I would do mid corner. Did I blame him, not at all. In fact I booked my wife the same course, where she failed to apply the cornering technique through a berm, running over the edge and taking a dive. (maybe we both don't listen, haha) We both learned from our mistakes, apparently that attorney failed the 1st time, then did exactly the wrong thing again, this time with dire consequences. I feel for the guy, ending up in a wheelchair from doing something you love sucks, but that doesn't necessarily mean someone is to blame.

Eish. Without the full facts very difficult to say. Rider could be taking a chance, or instructer was bad.

But, how do you mtb for years and never ride rough terrain, or descents? I sent my wife on a course before she cracked 150km of riding to make sure she learns the basics early on.

And my 2cents, I attended a course and failed to apply the cornering technique property at speed, taking a good tumble. It wasn't the instructors fault, but mine. He couldn't control what I would do mid corner. Did I blame him, not at all. In fact I booked my wife the same course, where she failed to apply the cornering technique through a berm, running over the edge and taking a dive. (maybe we both don't listen, haha) We both learned from our mistakes, apparently that attorney failed the 1st time, then did exactly the wrong thing again, this time with dire consequences. I feel for the guy, ending up in a wheelchair from doing something you love sucks, but that doesn't necessarily mean someone is to blame.

Agreed. Really terrible what happened to him...but with some people, it's always somebody else's fault!

Probably a claim against insurance, not the instructor in his personal capacity, so we can all chill the fark out.

We would all do the same in a similar situation - it's called looking for the "deepest pockets" to recover damages.

in certain jurisdictions and under some consumer legislation, there's NO FAULT LIABILITY - in other words, you can be liable for damages in the ABSENCE OF NEGLIGENCE.

Storm. Teacup. #IsItFriday?

Yes but personal insurance should have covered him. And as a lawyer he should have had some in place. Unless he was a skint git.

Speak for yourself, mate :P .

So I fall of my bike, and it is someone else's fault? LOL.... why not go whole hog and sue the bike manufacturer when you faceplant. If I choose to get on a bike, I assume responsibility. Nobody else. Pretty farked up how as a society we have come to a point where we get to sue people because of our own stupidity/inability/lack of skill. 

Opportunists.

Sue the doctor because you smoked for 40 years and got a blood clot after knee surgery.

Sue MacDonald's because they did not warn you that the coffee you bought from them was hot.

Sue Buck knives because they did not warn you they sell sharp knives.

Sue Safari because you did not know the peanuts you bought contained peanuts.

Sick society. I once spoke to a lawyer about this. He told me these cases get pressed through because of weak justice systems. Not 'strong' enough too pull the plug.  Always judging for the 'weak'. 

The ag shame factor.