The Classics

'Dale

1 minute ago, capediver said:

MVP comes out of Carrefour de l'Arbre on his own!!!

Unlucky for wout from earth 

• Replies 7.9k

This is far from over. Wout van Aert's puncture after his attack has allowed him to be rejoined by some high powered rouleurs, including the hour world record holder in Ganna.

Mathieu vd Poel has taken up lots of work in front, somehow, almost as if he was working for the remarkable Philipsen who is showing real class today. Does he have the legs to stay away.

What a terrible collision with DSM's Johnny D who is turning by the clock. Questionable, not really, as it was evasive action?

Do not blink.

Just now, babse said:

Unlucky for wout from earth 

Yeah that entry into De L'arbre was MAD!!!! Unreal they didn't all go down!!!

Just now, 'Dale said:

This is far from over. Wout van Aert's puncture after his attack has allowed him to be rejoined by some high powered rouleurs, including the hour world record holder in Ganna.

Mathieu vd Poel has taken up lots of work in front, somehow, almost as if he was working for the remarkable Philipsen who is showing real class today. Does he have the legs to stay away.

What a terrible collision with DSM's Johnny D who is turning by the clock. Questionable, not really, as it was evasive action?

Do not blink.

Velodrome showdown??

Gotta feel for Degenkolb, a previous winner. What a 7th position.

The fastest Hell of the North ever - 46.8 km/h thereabouts. Moer!

His 2nd monument this season after his breakaway up the Poggio in San-Remo, yoh, for Mathieu van der Poel. Another superb result for Wout van Aert who suffered that puncture while at the head of the race after a seismic attack and getting away with vd Poel stuck to him like a bubble gum on a  blanket.

Jasper Philipsen, what a ride. His presence was such a tactical advantage. The team in blue was delivering a master class in team strength and collaboration today. Not the 'Steppers, hey, Mom Patrick. 🤫

Image-18.png

Edited by 'Dale

9 minutes ago, DieselnDust said:

Amazing race!

sram front derailleurs work?

Who needs a front derailleur on a flat course.

Jumbo will have to think about their tyres after this f.up, the race could have been very different if they didn’t have 3 punctures between the 2 guys we saw on screen, alpecin in the other hand had none ?

That average after 5+ hours of racing on the cobbles… makes our fastest killarneys look like a recovery ride. Also makes you wonder if aero bikes really is a thing 🤣

10 minutes ago, Jbr said:

Who needs a front derailleur on a flat course.

Jumbo will have to think about their tyres after this f.up, the race could have been very different if they didn’t have 3 punctures between the 2 guys we saw on screen, alpecin in the other hand had none ?

That average after 5+ hours of racing on the cobbles… makes our fastest killarneys look like a recovery ride. Also makes you wonder if aero bikes really is a thing 🤣

Philipsen had one puncture 30 kms out. 😘

Just now, 'Dale said:

Philipsen had one puncture 30 kms out. 😘

That's why I used the ? I wasn't quite sure, Philipsen's was just a formality though as he was back in no time :)

I see both teams seem to have contracts with Vittoria, guess it's just pure bad luck for Jumbo as we saw Matthieu ride over the grass numerous times ;)

Edited by Jbr

2 hours ago, Jbr said:

That's why I used the ? I wasn't quite sure, Philipsen's was just a formality though as he was back in no time :)

That is why I answered, Jbr.

Also, spare a thought for the legendary Peter Sagan who also crashed out today after crashing out at Tour of Flanders last week. Met eish.

Now time to reset, taper, carb up and prepare for the Giro d' Italia. 🥰

CB71335C-641E-40C5-A166-FE9452148EDC.jpeg

Edited by 'Dale

15 minutes ago, DieselnDust said:

MVDP bike handling skills made the difference . You couldn’t swipe a credit card between him and that road barrier

That was insane... And highlighted when chasing went around there. They seemed miles away from that same barrier 🚧

He was really in full send mode!