[Event] The Munga MTB 2017

Slowbee

It's public roads from Ceres. Surely she could have kept on riding?

I understand they are not obligated to offer support, but they can't really do this can they?

Spend R18k on an entry and don't buy cleated shoes...yoh!

Zola

• Replies 1.6k

Okay. So. It seems you are allowed to go off route and rejoin where you see fit. No penalties incurred by some individuals. This is if the above are the official results. Said individuals may have had issues with their trackers I guess.

three people took the Bo Swaarmoed pass instead of turning off.

definitely easier as it's tar all the way (and a flippend lekker downhill).

everyone else before and after them did the correct route so no issues there

honest mistake as they just kept on going straight? i dunno

https://www.google.co.za/maps/@-33.3443295,19.5194375,3a,75y,223.48h,90t/data=!3m7!1e1!3m5!1saHIqd2iZLD-JCSXwsc7Vvg!2e0!6s%2F%2Fgeo3.ggpht.com%2Fcbk%3Fpanoid%3DaHIqd2iZLD-JCSXwsc7Vvg%26output%3Dthumbnail%26cb_client%3Dmaps_sv.tactile.gps%26thumb%3D2%26w%3D203%26h%3D100%26yaw%3D218.38988%26pitch%3D0%26thumbfov%3D100!7i13312!8i6656!5m2!1e4!1e1

I think she stopped at the Tankwa Padstal.Think. There was carnage from there to ceres. Still moer far to go.

Edit: Just confirmed above as correct

ok sure, i thought she had got to Ceres,

some farmland still to go so they're in their right to say no more access allowed

Amazing! Well done to EVERYONE from the very first to the final rider across the line.

From the FB page.

Right folks, here are the full official results for The Munga 2017. Tag yourselves and your friends!

THE MUNGA 2017
Provisional Results
Pos Name Elapsed Time Category
1 Marco Martins 58:05:00 Men
2 Dion Guy 61:01:00 Men
3 Kevin Benkenstein 61:52:00 Men
4 Sthembiso Masango 61:56:00 Development
5 Freek Van Tonder 61:56:00 Men
6 Jeannie Dreyer 63:07:00 Women
7 Riccardo Stermin 67:27:00 Men
8 Mike Woolnough 67:37:00 Men
9 Arno Crous 68:24:00 Men
10 Guy Jennings 68:24:00 Men
11 Steven Wolhuter 69:55:00 Men
12 Fanie Venter 69:55:00 Men
13 Wynand Van Vuuren 69:55:00 Men
14 Janine Stewart 74:02:00 Women
15 Piet Laubscher 76:14:00 Men
16 Simon Rollo 79:25:00 Men
17 Martin Bain Venn 80:20:00 Men
18 Daniel Alikisente 81:23:00 Development
19 Clinton Halsey 82:17:00 Men
20 Colin Anderson 84:26:00 Men
21 Bruce Biccard 90:34:00 Men
22 Mickael Da Matha Sant'anna 91:12:00 Men
23 Lonnie Tiegs 91:35:00 Men
24 Johannes Smit 93:05:00 Men
25 Kobus Steenkamp 93:54:00 Men
26 Michael Twyman 93:54:00 Men
27 Philip Van Der Merwe 94:11:00 Men
28 Tracy Campbell 94:19:00 Women
29 Bruce Campbell 94:19:00 Men
30 Tom Armstrong 95:12:00 Men
31 Eddie Stafford 95:12:00 Men
32 Casper Venter 95:38:00 Men
33 Matthew Miller 96:26:00 Men
34 Edward Holmes 96:38:00 Men
35 Dale De Kiewit 96:47:00 Men
36 David Cubbin 96:49:00 Men
37 Stefano Migliore 97:00:00 Men
38 Rion Goosen 97:00:00 Men
39 Wayne Mac Farlane 97:14:00 Men
40 Greg Irvine-Smith 97:14:00 Men
41 Jacques Swart 97:14:00 Men
42 Pieter Venter 97:50:00 Men
43 Gavin Robinson 98:18:00 Men
44 Denzyl O'donoghue 98:40:00 Men
45 Dirk Coetsee 98:42:00 Men
46 Justin Colling 98:42:00 Men
47 Pieter Gerrit Du Preez 98:42:00 Men
48 Johan Griesel 98:49:00 Men
49 Marcus Maree 99:30:00 Men
50 Conraadt Van Den Heever 101:11:00 Men
51 Paul Fouche 102:24:00 Men
52 Joe Theron 102:30:00 Men
53 Dave Mitchell 102:30:00 Men
54 Braam Nel 102:30:00 Men
55 Willem Britz 103:19:00 Men
56 Lester Tait 103:56:00 Men
57 John Exley 103:56:00 Men
58 George Van Maanen 104:40:00 Men
59 Pieter Hugo 105:26:00 Men
60 Fietie Rocher 105:26:00 Men
61 Alain Broglia  115:32:00 Men
62 Gus Pauw 115:40:00 Men
63 Joggie Rautenbach 115:48:00 Men
64 Sean Shaw 115:50:00 Men
65 Neville Higgs 115:52:00 Men
66 Pieter Strobos 115:52:00 Men
67 Tim Lotz 115:52:00 Men
68 Mark Harris 115:54:00 Men
69 Lazarus Mashishi 116:14:00 Development
70 Chris Palmer 116:24:00 Men
71 John Beckley 116:24:00 Men
72 Jane Horton 117:53:00 Women
73 Gavin Horton 117:53:00 Men
74 Piet Van Der Linde 118:06:00 Men
75 Giuseppe Adreani 118:47:00 Men
76 Anton Maybery 118:52:00 Men
77 Jerrard le Roux 118:52:00 Men
78 Alex Harris 118:54:00 Men
79 Max Menzies 119:07:00 Men
80 Louis Fourie 119:25:00 Men
81 Ryno De Kock 119:38:00 Men

Vettie, now that you know what this event is all about, do you think you could have gone faster?

So maybe altered the sleeping a bit, rode a bit faster?

Put yourself in the top 30 ?

Or where you already at balls to the wall ?

Vettie, now that you know what this event is all about, do you think you could have gone faster?

So maybe altered the sleeping a bit, rode a bit faster?

Put yourself in the top 30 ?

Or where you already at balls to the wall ?

Hi SB, in hindsight, I could have shaved 12 hours off my time. I plan to try again with the benifit of hindsight and see what I can do. I always wanted to finish in around 4 days but I knew that it may not happen due the the weather etc. But small things like not sleeping in vd kloof saves 3 hours. That a lot of time just for one good decision. Edited by Vetseun

Hi SB, in hindsight, I could have shaved 12 hours off my time. I plan to try again with the benifit of hindsight and see what I can do. I always wanted to finish in 4 days but I knew that it may not happen due the the weather etc.

Well done. I'm sure most of us can't even comprehend how hard that must have been.

Vetseun, baie geluk weereens. Baie respek vir wat jy reggekry het.

And to everyone else as well - congrats.

My biggest issues with such an outing would be my ass, nutrition and energy. I suffer very quickly from saddle pressure...

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

My biggest issues with such an outing would be my ass, nutrition and energy. I suffer very quickly from saddle pressure...

I do too at the moment, but that is because I am overweight and only ride once or twice a week. As soon as the mileage TITS kicks in this is no longer an issue.

I noticed some of the big guns were wearing two bibs. I saw Tracy Campbell wrapping her extra bibs and warm jacket over her saddle and then taping it to the seatpost in Sutherland. So her bum must have been really eina. Edited by Vetseun

Okes if any of you consider doing this ride and I really want you to, I will answer any questions on here or pm.

That would be the view of an average rider as some of you may be. For guys wanting to klap it. Maybe rather chat to Benky. He is in a different league.

Edited by Vetseun

I noticed some of the big guns were wearing two bibs. I saw Tracy Campbell wrapping her extra bibs and warm jacket over her saddle and then taping it to the seatpost in Sutherland. So her bum must have been really eina.

My mate Pieter Strobos eventually had three pairs of cycling shorts on at the same time. This issue nearly ended his race and it took a huge amount of vasbyt to finish when two days in he was looking at a top 20 finish. Anyway I'm teasing him about his Munga Bum. Like you he's a tough bugger!

We were in Sutherland I think. I was really tired, physically but more mentally from lack of sleep.

My ass was smashed. Just before we left I wanted to apply some Fissan paste to my bum as I knew what was waiting for me. By that time people didnt care anymore, you pull your bibs down apply whatever and dont give a crap if anybody is watching.

I dropped my bibs reached into my bag grabbed the tube , squirted a liberal amount into my hand and applied in one fluid motion. The tingling was instant,.I had squirted and applied colgate toothpaste!

The poor lady had to bring me a wet towel to clean myself with.It gave those present a good laugh.

Okes if any of you consider doing this ride and I really want you to, I will answer any questions on here or pm.

That would be the view of an average rider as some of you may be. For guys wanting to klap it. Maybe rather chat to Benky. He is in a different league.

Dankie Vetseun!

What did you do wrt lighting? Did you have backup batteries for each night in the wild? I have an ExtremeLights Endurance that can do 200 lumen for 40hrs and 750 lumen for 10hrs. I guess the 200 lumens won't surfice in the middle of the Karoo?

We were in Sutherland I think. I was really tired, physically but more mentally from lack of sleep.

My ass was smashed. Just before we left I wanted to apply some Fissan paste to my bum as I knew what was waiting for me. By that time people didnt care anymore, you pull your bibs down apply whatever and dont give a crap if anybody is watching.

I dropped my bibs reached into my bag grabbed the tube , squirted a liberal amount into my hand and applied in one fluid motion. The tingling was instant,.I had squirted and applied colgate toothpaste!

The poor lady had to bring me a wet towel to clean myself with.It gave those present a good laugh.

At least you had fresh breath whichever way you "breathed" :clap:

Dankie Vetseun!

What did you do wrt lighting? Did you have backup batteries for each night in the wild? I have an ExtremeLights Endurance that can do 200 lumen for 40hrs and 750 lumen for 10hrs. I guess the 200 lumens won't surfice in the middle of the Karoo?

Hope Vettie doesn't mind me getting involved in answering this.....I ran with the Extreme light at 200 Lumens the entire way.

You aren't looking at lighting up the Karoo, you just want to see whats ahead of you. At times you may switch to 750 Lumens, but that may be just for a short technical section.

200 lumens is more than enough.