Financing everything, like it or not, is a way of life for many people. Just speak to your payroll team about the number of garnishee orders that come in for people at all levels in SA.

We lived in Midstream back in the day. Half my mates would calculate everything they looked at by the monthly payments if they put it on the budget facility on their credit cards. They saw nothing wrong with it and it isn’t my place to judge whether that is right or not, but it wasn’t unusual. When I suggested putting a bicycle on my credit card, my wife put me straight pretty quickly.

I see it regularly here as well. Staff maxed to the limit but still buying ok credit and calculating the affordability based on the monthly cost.

Who knows if this is wrong or right, but it is common.

This is true in both cases.

However I believe a distinction needs to be drawn as well, there is nothing wrong with affordable debt, no matter what that debt is, we are not any of us in a position to judge, whats desirable to you may not be desirable to me, and vice versa, but if its affordable then in my opinion there's nothing wrong with it.

Debt in life is a given, personally, and in business, everybody at some stage will accumulate debt and few businesses can grow without it, usually in the form of an overdraft, so it stands in the same vein many people possibly cannot buy a desirable item cash, but can afford to pay it off,... effectively they are growing, and as its affordable its a non issue.

Its the unaffordable debt that catches up to folk.  

• Replies 143

What’s a wallet racer?

Think its someone with all the gear and no idea.

Intimating that the fit, strong, moral, financially savvy, wise hero on the makro special will automatically whiz past the unlikable, spoilt, endebted, unfit git on the 150k swors.

Think its the fantasy of the middle class cyclist, this theme surfaces in a number of guises in quite a few threads that have read.

Talk about binary thinking.

Think its someone with all the gear and no idea.

Intimating that the fit, strong, moral, financially savvy, wise hero on the makro special will automatically whiz past the unlikable, spoilt, endebted, unfit git on the 150k swors.

Think its the fantasy of the middle class cyclist, this theme surfaces in a number of guises in quite a few threads that have read.

Talk about binary thinking.

Aaah ok thanks, think I understand.... it’s a derogatory term used by people to insult others who have probably never insulted them.

Jealousy manifests itself like this all the time, without us even realizing it ?

Eg guy in M3 feels inferior to guy that pulls up next to him in porsche, makes himself feel better by saying to himself that he must be a better driver than Mr Porsche, may even try race to prove his point, porsche guy may not even know or care about any of this, until he sees a guy in a faster Lambo.

Makro bike guy automatically feels inferior to swors guy so above plays out in the cradle or on the trails all the time.

( nothing against makro or swors, just using them as extremes to illustrate the point)

I might feel weird riding a 200k bike as the expectations by people that dont even know me would be that I must be an A batch rider, or if I wasnt they would say " what a chop!, all the gear but no idea!" ( or wallet racer )

Yes you can say, dont care what others think, etc. but that doesnt examine the issue.

People insult people that they dont know all the time, maybe not verbally, but thats prob what they thinking.

P.s. I would ride a 200k bike if I could afford to buy one, even if the postman overtakes me.

calm down .... it aint Friday ... not YET .....

Come to Bellville Velodrome if you want to see the definition of a "wallet racer".

For the purpose of this discussion there are THREE types of racers :

- racers that own up-market rides, full kit etc .... AND who put in the hours and get the results.

- then you get those racers that cant afford the latest, yet put in the hours, and get good results despite not having the latest and greatest.

- and then you get the "wallet racer" .... the very best of everything, but as they dont put in the effort they get left behind ....

so the term has little to do with the cost of the ride, but rather refers to those that spend the money without putting in the miles.

Come to Bellville Velodrome if you want to see the definition of a "wallet racer".

- racers that own up-market rides, full kit etc .... AND who put in the hours and get the results.

- then you get those racers that cant afford the latest, yet put in the hours, and get good results despite not having the latest and greatest.

- and then you get the "wallet racer" .... the very best of everything, but as they dont put in the effort they get left behind ....

so the term has little to do with the cost of the ride, but rather refers to those that spend the money without putting in the miles.

And then there is the fourth kind:

Those with balance in their life who spend a lot of time working, earning the money (and therefore the right) to buy and enjoy the best that the market offer. They can buy what they want without it impacting on other choices.  

For them, time is a scarcer commodity than money and they choose to spend some of the time not spent earning money with their families and mostly have priorities other than cycling.

"they dont put in the effort" not because of laziness or "get left behind" not because of inability, but spend early mornings getting their Private Pilot's Licence, all days at the office, evenings having meals and bonding with their families. Saturdays are spent supporting their children at school sports or engaging in their lives.

Cycling is something done once or twice a week with their mates who are also slow and on Colnagos, (but were Olympic athletes in their own right when sport was a priority) but as family men and business professionals now choose differently.

This just sounds like an inferiority complex of note.

I ride purely for the fun of it and do zero races. How is the value of my bike and what I CHOOSE to do with it at all relevant? If I buy a R200k bike to hang on my lounge wall, well, that's my business, not yours.

What about those who cant afford the best, AND dont put the effort in so they get left behind, that is probably the biggest part of the bell curve. Is it ok for them insult those with better bikes?

Not everybody who is on an entry level/mid value bike is some sort of athlete.

Look moral of the story, and my point is, dont be a box be lekker, judging people based on the value of their bikes is so stupid. (I wanted to use a better word, but I fear those who I am addressing this to might not get it :P). Just because somebody has a better bike but is a bit slower, does not make ok for you insult them. Just like those who scream "strava wankers" usually are the wankers, those who scream "wallet racer" are usually the not lekker okes.

As an example, You rarely see people who use Strava insulting those who dont, just like you rarely see swors guys insulting those who have less.

If you insult a guy because he has a more expensive than you, you are a box, if you insult a guy because he has a less expensive bike than you, you are a box.

PS: Friday has nothing to do with anything, this "it'd Friday lets fight thing" is about as ignorant as insulting as people based on bike value.

Edited by Patchelicious

Posted 09 January 2018 - 05:24

Odinson, on 09 Jan 2018 - 5:15 PM, said:snapback.png

So you okes are telling me that I made a mistake financing a sweet 2018 Totem 29" XC440 Frs (R 1,999) through Makro Credit at 28.5% p/a over 60 months?!

MIN_317132_EAA.jpg?v=20171002

I think it should be worth it when I cross the finish line at the Cape Epic on this beast. 

I would PAY to see the faces when you BEAT some wallet-racers in the Epic ....   :whistling:    :eek:

I would PAY to see the faces when you BEAT some wallet-racers in the Epic ....  :whistling:   :eek:

RELAX guys ....  :thumbup:

Please see the post I replied to - OBVIOUSLY Odison was taking the mickey out of this topic ....

I replied in gest with smileys and all and all .... 

Bellville Velodrome - I like to watch these guys race, but I dont race here.  So my comment harbours absolutely no ill feeling to any of the "groups".  In fact, I am there to cheer on one of the very good racers who happens to have one of the top bikes.

Time vs money ..... to a large extent this applies to me as well.  WAY too busy !!  Work very long hours, and dont get nearly enough time to cycle.  So my own ride could well be "too expensive" for my riding ..... 

O-well, at least mis-placed feedback has livened up the Hub for a few minutes.  :devil:   :cursing:

See you on the trails on Saturday morning  :thumbup:   Meerendal, nice and early

Jokes aside for just one moment -

Apologies if my comment offended anybody.  

I have NEVER looked down on another's kit, nor insulted those who ride/drive better than what I do.  

Bru Dude, if people actually got "offended" by that comment, they also need to grow up.

Edit: Sorry, cant believe I actually used that word, been living in JHB too long.

Edited by Patchelicious

Bru Dude, if people actually got "offended" by that comment, they also need to grow up.

Edit: Sorry, cant believe I actually used that word, been living in JHB too long.

It's quite a shock to the system when the word 'bru' leaves your mouth in a non-tongue in cheek manner for the first time. 

Don't go too far down the rabbit hole.