• Replies 95

Eish ...

1523594918001.jpg

He looks like Count Dracula

What do you mean my Spaz is broken !!

Dracula.jpg

A road bike, doesn’t matter the brand, those okes are all lekker.

Anton Cooper doesn't think so... while accepting Gaze's apology (but seemingly without conviction), he suggested where the behaviour may have originated:

"He does a lot of road riding and I assume this is where it comes from".

Anton Cooper doesn't think so... while accepting Gaze's apology (but seemingly without conviction), he suggested where the behaviour may have originated:

"He does a lot of road riding and I assume this is where it comes from".

Think he was talking about his form :P

A road bike, doesn’t matter the brand, those okes are all lekker.

http://cdn.media.cyclingnews.com/2016/08/21/1/gettyimages_593223160_670.jpg

According to the tv commentators Sam Gaze is aiming to eventually switch back to road and do one day races such as the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix.

Hooray. He wont be missed in MTB circles with his attitude. Seems like he is single handed taking over the sledging that was abandoned by the Kiwi and Aussie cricketers...

It's tough to maintain composer when the adrenaline is pumping and you've just finished a race. "Reporters time" 2 mins after the race provides the best stories!!!

Pressure reveals character or maturity.

Sammy boy, grow up, cupcake 

With Gaze's mixed emotions, let's hope he stays clean when he reaches a dip in form and can't handle losing, he's on a high now.

Also, in a non-team format race that's just over an hour surely compatriots can't be expected to wait for each other, that's just dumb, it's not like the can really help each other in XC anyways.  Focus on your own race and try to do as good as possible.

This brings me to Alan "making way" for Gaze and everyone applauding that, I haven't seen the race but Alan is a better person than me.  If I was going for a medal he'd have to take the B line to pass.  Is it just me?  You don't see Vettel making way for Hamilton when his tires deteriorate with 3 laps to go, he will block the racing line at every single corner. 

According to the tv commentators Sam Gaze is aiming to eventually switch back to road and do one day races such as the Tour of Flanders and Paris-Roubaix.

Maybe he should first win the "Argus" before trying that step up :-)

With Gaze's mixed emotions, let's hope he stays clean when he reaches a dip in form and can't handle losing, he's on a high now.

Also, in a non-team format race that's just over an hour surely compatriots can't be expected to wait for each other, that's just dumb, it's not like the can really help each other in XC anyways.  Focus on your own race and try to do as good as possible.

This brings me to Alan "making way" for Gaze and everyone applauding that, I haven't seen the race but Alan is a better person than me.  If I was going for a medal he'd have to take the B line to pass.  Is it just me?  You don't see Vettel making way for Hamilton when his tires deteriorate with 3 laps to go, he will block the racing line at every single corner. 

Alan was spent and he knew it. It's racing and he didn't have to move over but he did the right thing.

He either moved over and be lauded for good sportsmanship or just be passed 5 meters later anyway.

How is it that there's not 100 posts here. Alan has kicked SERIOUS ass. WYD!

I dunno. There's 16 riders in the race, I've seen more at a school u11 egg and spoon race.

It doesn't really some like a big thing, only cooper, hatherly and gaze are even in the top20 uci rankings - basically the whole top40 is essentially continental europeans.

Dunno what happened to all the canadians and brits who used to be good at this.

more importantly this bust up has taken serious shine away from the real issue.

the new zealand kit with the transparent white section that shows up far too much nipple.

Alan was spent and he knew it. It's racing and he didn't have to move over but he did the right thing.

He either moved over and be lauded for good sportsmanship or just be passed 5 meters later anyway.

yeah it was clear he was running in the reserve so no point being a douche (think F1 drivers) and trying to block him from overtaking.

On top of that Alan and Gaze are also teammates at Specialised Racing and i guess he had that in the back of his mind too.

It would have been interesting to see what Alan would have done if the race leader (Cooper) was a South African.... my guess is he would not have allowed Gaze to pass that easily... if he did he would have taken a lot of flack.

The fact of the matter is Gaze was by far the strongest rider and based on that alone deserves the win.