How to find cycling mojo

Pure Savage

So one of my riding buds has lost his mojo with respect to cycling. 

I am not 100% sure why, as he is not cycling so can not shoot the breeze on the ride. 

Coming of TOGH and a rather wet winter its not been lekker booty calls every ride. 

Is time away the best option, he has been riding for 5 years constantly and never really taken more than 3 weeks off. 

Main reason I ride my bike is the mates. 

Any help, previous experience or suggestions appreciated.

post-11806-0-81013200-1536736212_thumb.jpg

• Replies 71

This might get a bit deep, but when I lost my cycling mojo (been MTBing for 20+ years) it was due to depression. 

Riding was my life,but depression made me not want to to ride anymore. 

So I'd say, his lost mojo is only a symptom, you need to find the problem. Take him out for a dop and have a chat. You might find out what the problem is. 

So one of my riding buds has lost his mojo with respect to cycling. 

I am not 100% sure why, as he is not cycling so can not shoot the breeze on the ride. 

Coming of TOGH and a rather wet winter its not been lekker booty calls every ride. 

Is time away the best option, he has been riding for 5 years constantly and never really taken more than 3 weeks off. 

Main reason I ride my bike is the mates. 

Any help, previous experience or suggestions appreciated.

attachicon.gifFav.JPG

Maybe he just doesnt like you okes anymore  :whistling:

That was the first thing I thought. Would not surprise me. 

I sometimes dont even look at myself in the mirror in the morning. 

are you telling me that Pure Savage is one person...?

This might get a bit deep, but when I lost my cycling mojo (been MTBing for 20+ years) it was due to depression. 

Riding was my life,but depression made me not want to to ride anymore. 

So I'd say, his lost mojo is only a symptom, you need to find the problem. Take him out for a dop and have a chat. You might find out what the problem is. 

Although this answer is serious, from a personal perspective this is very possibly the reason.  It's a textbook symptom - hopefully it's not this and he just doesn't like you anymore or he's popping round to one of your houses whilst you are riding

how many gadgets does he have when he rides ?

I lost my Mojo,for many years getting on the bike was a chore I had to do to be fit for the races I entered.

Then my HR monitor strap went flat and a few months later my cycle computer got stuffed.

Now I'm riding with no info visible, my phone still tracks my rides, but its in my pocket, I found I'm enjoying the rides more not being obsessed with stats.

Maybe he's just over it? Been competitive for too long and now just needs a break from it all.

I lost my interest (mojo?) with Rugby. I haven't watched a single match in about 6 months and couldn't be happier. This Saturday morning I'll be outside enjoying my ride whilst there's some or other rugby match happening around 09h30.

Back to cycling... maybe there was a crash, a close call or an injury?

You laugh, when searched lost mojo on the search function this came up a few times!!

in amongst all of this?

Seriously though, I think the issue goes beyond just getting on a bike - and your lack of a 12th rider for DC. I think you need to make time for an off bike chat, anything else is just speculation. If you really care, and go to the effort I"m sure he will appreciate it.