Good bike brands for a beginner at a reasonable price point

Onik Dovahkiin

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to bicycles but I'm super keen in getting one for camping. I'm only familiar with the super market brands like Raleigh but I want to get something decent at least.

My budget is R5000, I just need to know where to search for a good brand new bike that's easy to maintain. I'll upgrade in the future tho. 

Also, is solomoncycles any good to buy from and is Avalanche bike any decent? I found this one going for R3999, see below link.

https://solomonscycles.co.za/products/avalanche-reflex-3-29/?attribute_size=Large&utm_source=Google Shopping&utm_campaign=Google Merch &utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=73651

I need a bike with a good frame to add stem, back rail and frame bags. I'm also a tall muscular dude (190cm and 115kg), so I fear something buckling under my weight and the extra added camping gear. 

Much obliged for the future assistance 

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

You need to budget much more for all that Weight.

Go into the  Bike Shop for Advice on a Touring Bike.

Edited by dasilvarsa

Brands that do entry level bikes I would suggest would be Titan, Silverback and Giant. If you're just looking at something to ride around the camp site I don't think your weight would be an issue. If you are looking at getting a bike to tour with that's different ball game. There's a couple of people on here who do and would be able to give you a good idea idea of what you are going to need. 

On 7/22/2023 at 9:35 PM, Me rida my bicycle said: