Who has the right of way?

georges

Equally, if you're behind me, you're unlikely to be one of the top guys either. What's half a second waiting for a safe spot to pass me?

Like I said, you are racing against your own time, If it is a long section of single track and you are gonna hold someone up throughout, its not really fair when it would just take half a second off your time to let the faster rider passed thereby letting him have a good run at it and you not being pressured continually...

• Replies 236

That was what Eldron was referring to in his post...however, you cannot demand / get upset if someone doesnt move over for you cause the knife cuts both ways...what is a half a second mean to you sitting behind someone...both parties are mos not racing

Live and let live

I hear you but you do get some real pricks too.

I have ridden in a string of up to 10 guys all trying to get one idiot to move over, at some point everybody just pushes past because it's obvious he is on a little power trip.

Equally, if you're behind me, you're unlikely to be one of the top guys either. What's half a second waiting for a safe spot to pass me?

doesn't sound like you know what half a second means in a race where a very few half seconds is the difference between win or lose, podium or crowdphoto.

To be clear, my reply wasn't aimed at you (Thanks Andydude, for helping me avoid this mistake on my part) and thus I realise my reply is out of context here. My apologies good gentlemen =)

Edited by Dirkitect

doesn't sound like you know what half a second means in a race where a very few half seconds is the difference between win or lose, podium or crowdphoto

Did you even read his post? I think what he means is that if you're behind him, you are already many many minutes behind the leader. Thus half a second won't matter.

I agree with what Eldron said. And having said that, if I can safely move out on a single track I will try to for the faster guy behind me.

Edited by andydude

Like I said, you are racing against your own time, If it is a long section of single track and you are gonna hold someone up throughout, its not really fair when it would just take half a second off your time to let the faster rider passed thereby letting him have a good run at it and you not being pressured continually...

The same principle applies. If you're behind and just racing for your own time, back off a little and chances are the guy in front of you will enjoy the singletrack a little more, without you breathing down his neck. A little courtesy from both parties will make the middle of the pack a much better place.....

Oh...now we are racing again....mmmm. See he/she is also racing and want to have the best time possible...its up to you to pass safely, not for him/her to move over. No matter which way we cut it, they are infront of you for a reason...

Better batch

Better climber

Work on those and you wont have the frustration.

It's damn frustrating ... but I guess not much you can do about it. I bombed past after being stuck behind a guy from a higher batch this week-end, and knocked my head against a branch quite hard ... serves me right for plukking my moer ...

Edited by Kraggie

The same principle applies. If you're behind and just racing for your own time, back off a little and chances are the guy in front of you will enjoy the singletrack a little more, without you breathing down his neck. A little courtesy from both parties will make the middle of the pack a much better place.....

Nice flippa or even better.....if bombing down the singletrack is so important to someone....pull off the track if its congested and wait till there is a big gap so that you can gooi mielies

We mos not racing....time is just for the first 3 podium spots

doesn't sound like you know what half a second means in a race where a very few half seconds is the difference between win or lose, podium or crowdphoto

Like Flippa unless it's a lap race if you're behind me in a race half a second won't help you much ..... I must say my experience has been that most of the real pro's that pass me in lap races have been pretty cool about it and if I didn't move out the way because it was difficult they would sommer make their way passed in the veld (yes they are that much better and faster)

And I have been passed at XC races and other longer lap races by some of the best in my time, including the likes of Burry/Philip/Ben Melt (an absolute gentleman if ever there was one!) and even ladies :blush: but there was that one time I had to ask our very own Sheriff for track :whistling:

This is one area that I get frustrated in, I'm pretty slowish on the long climbs which are usually on jeep track or more open sections of trail,

I'm with Rouxtjie on this...

Improving your climbing is much easier than improving your technical skills. Train harder and earn your right to have an open singletrack in front of you instead of begging the dirtroadies to give you a bit of track...

Being fit to ride on a dirt road does in no ways mean they have any technical skill to ride ST !!!!

No it doesnt....but then marathon races requires a mixed bag of skills..so if they are in front of you, its because they are better at you wrt to some

Make peace with it

Oh...now we are racing again....mmmm. See he/she is also racing and want to have the best time possible...its up to you to pass safely, not for him/her to move over. No matter which way we cut it, they are infront of you for a reason...

Better batch

Better climber

Work on those and you wont have the frustration.

Just to annoy me.....

Whats the big deal with moving over?I do it without hesitation.Its just like i keep left on the pavement

Maybe the oke stopped for a crap or is in the longer route and is catching up with the shorties...who cares

Being fit to ride on a dirt road does in no ways mean they have any technical skill to ride ST !!!!

Why is he in front of you to start with?

In my case they were in front because of a better seeding, which technically means I should have never caught them ... But I'm working my way up and can then maybe avoid frustrations like this.

I started in Batch D, and would have been placed 5th in Batch C with my time.