A dark Africa lays ahead.....load shedding

• Replies 787

I am going with this loadshedding is a tool being used to push an agenda for tariff increases past NERSA, and possibly also for Election 2019 reasons. Some dimwit in government sees some opportunity in keeping the country literally in the dark.

Same thing happened previously when their request for increases was denied...

What's than mean?

Stage 4 loadshedding implemented from 1pm today.

If it stays at stage 4 you can expect to lose power roughly three times a day for 2.5 hours each time.

What's than mean?

* Stage 1 - Requires the least amount of load shedding (up to 1000 MW) and can be implemented 3 times over a 4-day period for two hours at a time, or 3 times over an 8-day period for 4 hours at a time.

* Stage 2 - You will be scheduled for load shedding 6 times over a 4-day period for two hours at a time, or 6 times over an 8-day period for four hours at a time

* Stage 3 - Will increase the frequency of Stage 2 by 50%. You will be scheduled for load shedding 9 times over a 4-day period for two hours at a time, or 9 times over an 8-day period for four hours at a time.

* Stage 4 - You will be scheduled for load shedding 12 times over a 4-day period for two hours at a time, or 12 times over an 8-day period for four hours at a time.

If more load needs to be shed than has been scheduled in Stages 1, 2, 3 and 4 then National Control will instruct additional, unscheduled load shedding. This means you may be shed outside of your scheduled times.

440 BILLION in debt - .............

It is called a debt trap and just like the word says, there really is no escaping it. Not without outside help, which would normally have been the state (taxpayer) but sadly that is no longer an option as the state is basically on the edge of its' own debt trap........which leaves really only a very few other options: China? That would be like re-colonization and difficult to swallow, unless there are some really tempting kickbacks for the politicians. The IMF? True re-colonization! I don't see any politician agree to that because there won't be any graft involved and it will come with seriously strict conditions re. cleanup. So, the trap will remain a trap until it self destructs, leaving the economy in tatters and us all going off the grid and into renewable energy.......Mad Max anyone? 

Edited by DJR

440 BILLION in debt - In other words they spent 440B on something. So what exactly did they spend that money on? 

This Crazy!

" It does not generate enough revenue to pay the interest, let alone salaries, maintenance, and fuel."

https://www.dailymaverick.co.za/article/2019-02-12-eskom-the-terrorist-attack-from-within/

I dont understand how Cosatu can say they will protest and not allow any job losses. Do they not understand at a certain point in time the lights will go off and there will be no jobs at Eskom, let alone the economy.