No simple single solution. either a combination of

IPP - for renewables (and any other)

split up the grid into a separate entity, it becames a network that players can use to deliver their product(electricity). time of use or realtime power pricing would solve loadshedding instantly, but you'd need to package it very well to sell the concept to the masses.

sort out the coal. power stations were designed to get coal from huge mines on a cost+ basis. we've still got loads of it. don't get okes with a bakkie and a blank SME to try and compete on this scale.

eskom generation to be packaged into something that can be run efficiently both as a business unit and as the thing that keeps the economy going. if the best way to do this is to have 4/5 utility companies that buy these old stations, then so be it.

b u t.

as my old boss used to say, the order of decision making is

*politics

*economics

*technology

and big power has big power plays.

as long as you have K*k like this going on, the decision makers will not be bold enough to open up the industry and let the free market control it

https://www.fin24.com/Economy/Chancellor-House-made-5-000-return-on-Hitachi-deal-20151005

or we watch the utility deathspiral and go off the grid if/when it becomes feasible.

I think Eskom will need to fail properly before we see any action... Until then, get your inverters and battery banks in place for allot of loadshedding folks...

• 3 months later...
  • Replies 328

yo yo  ... so do any of you riff raff do power systems to keep 2 x PC's, a NAS server and internet up and running during loadshedding?

The other cost of loadshedding...

A client of ours (we're insurance brokers) was drying her hair when loadshedding kicked in.  She forgot to turn off her hairdryer... And then she went out... 

Came home to a house full of smoke... Power had come back on, as had her hairdryer, and the hot air coming out of it melted some stuff and nearly caused a fire... 

:oops:

yo yo  ... so do any of you riff raff do power systems to keep 2 x PC's, a NAS server and internet up and running during loadshedding?

3kVa inverter / battery pack to run my PC, 2 screens, speakers, desk light & A3 printer

Mecer 1000VA UPS for the router

ME1000VU-1-pdpxl.jpg

post-615-0-73713300-1581077117_thumb.jpeg

A client of ours (we're insurance brokers) was drying her hair when loadshedding kicked in.  She forgot to turn off her hairdryer... And then she went out... 

Came home to a house full of smoke... Power had come back on, as had her hairdryer, and the hot air coming out of it melted some stuff and nearly caused a fire... 

I heard that it is suspected that same thing caused the fire Wednesday early evening in/around Dischem at The Grove in Nelspruit...

medupi is seriously flawed, but there are solutions: one is to derate the power station, the other is to replace the pulverizers. the PF quality is not good enough for the boilers height (it's too short).

I've always maintained that there are good enough ppl within eskom, but they are being sidelined. The rank incompetence was predominantly at management level, but i'm afraid that over the past few years, that incompetence has started saturating the non-managerial roles as well. Eskom's problems are no different from those of government in that the pervasive incompetence in government is mirrored in Eskom's structures.  And like in government, where good ppl are being sidelined and bullied into silence and inaction, so too are the good ones in Eskom.

Get those good ppl going again, and I believe Eskom can be pulled straight. But it's not going to happen overnight. I'd say at least 3 -5 years to start seeing greenshoots. the key is getting the culture right,a nd currently, it's extremely toxic.

Glad to hear there might be little green shoots but my tiny experience with Eskom I have another project with them now) is that they have no project managers who can cut through the red tape. Small projects have massive reports by consultants I know well as multi national and very expensive. These reports must take months, if not years churning out 10's of kilograms of paper to say what could be said in 10 pages (IMHO). The practical implementation is bogged down in H&S and environmental; no one really drives the thing.

Great work if you can get it.

We had a water cut once on a Friday at work. Came to work on Monday and the change room was FLOODED. Some idiot turned on almost all the taps and left them on. Like seriously WTF???? We now have a stupid sign on both sides of the door saying if there is no water, please don't leave the tap open. 

This is why those "push and hold / timed" type taps were invented. 

The power came back on at 6:30 yesterday evening, so my wife starts cooking supper. 10 minutes later, it goes off - she managed to finish frying whatever and supper was ready, so we enjoy a candlelit dinner with the kids (glass top stove in kitchen island with bar stools on one side).

2 1/2 hours later the power comes back on and the candles on the stove are suddenly melting from both ends! Luckily we hadn't gone to bed yet and happened to be right there

that sounds like something like 500W of power? (150W for each PC power supply and monitor, plus another 150W for the NAS - I'm guessing here). Guessing again, a 3A to 5A  current. 

Working conservatively, what you're looking for is 5A x 5h = 25Ah of battery to run this. This is too much for one of those little UPS units - they are typically 7Ah to 10Ah batteries. Also they're typically not designed for cycling duty so after a few months they are fried. so R1,000 (X3), replaced once a year.

A lithium battery solution like this would be a lot better. https://flexopower.co.za/products/lithium444-portable-power-pack-by-flexopower - that would give you 10h (based on my calculation above), and being lithium it would last a lot more cycles. R9,000 should give you a multi year solution.

If I've got the math wrong please let me know :)