Want to see the face of a bike thief?

Skubarra

• Replies 73

these guys know more about bike racks (and their locks) than the guys that make them

stealing bikes off of bike racks in SA is an Olympic sport we would win gold at ..

sad :thumbdown:

thats what you think, SA will be lucky to get a top5, since they'll be going up against the likes of New York, USA; London, UK; Amsterdam, Netherlands & Paris, France all of whom are well established bike theft capitals of the world. Sorry pal.

that great news - ill inform the police stats office- finally some good news for SA :oops: doesn't help the poor OP though

Pics of the bike rack and lock, plz.

The lock is gone so I can't post pictures of the original, but it is similar to this one

http://www.sportsmanswarehouse.co.za/product/onguard-combo-coil-cable-lock

and standard Thule Euroride towbar bikerack

In hindsight not exactly a state of the art security system  :blush:

But in my defence I generally don't leave my bike unattended on my bike rack, normally I would pick up my bike from the bike shop after work and go straight home but yesterday I had a late meeting...

The lock is gone so I can't post pictures of the original, but it is similar to this one

http://www.sportsmanswarehouse.co.za/product/onguard-combo-coil-cable-lock

and standard Thule Euroride towbar bikerack

In hindsight not exactly a state of the art security system :blush:

But in my defence I generally don't leave my bike unattended on my bike rack, normally I would pick up my bike from the bike shop after work and go straight home but yesterday I had a late meeting...

Sorry to hear, Skubs :( you have just highlighted the exact same security system of yours truly. Sh*t. Better upgrade mine, too.

Thor, next time we discuss security at large life insurers I would be able to add even more first hand insight to the discussion...

Would be interesting to know how much he actually sold the bike for. Any idea?

Probably only a few 100 bucks at most. Will update once I find out more

Its a big sport here in Aus as well.  

Sorry Skub's: hope you get the bike back

Our gardener had a R3000 bike that was given to him. It was in our yard. A guy jumped over the fence threw the bike over the fence and cycled away.

So when I came home he told me it had just happened. We jumped in my bakkie and went looking for it. And we got sight of it going down the main road.

We casually drove past and then all jumped out. The oke got such a fright he fell down. We put the bike in the bakkie and went home. The oke was spitting mad that he lost his money he paid for the bike.

Turns out in the space of 15 minutes the bike had been sold for R50 bucks. I felt no remorse for the buyer cause he new he was buying a stolen bike from some druggie. Had it not been my old bike I would have believed him that his boss had given to him and he was a gardener.

Sorry to hear what happened.

However if you regularly park you car with the bike on in your parking area then it is highly likely that someone maybe even the security has been scoping out your  movements etc. They most likely in on it. If there is cameras where you normally park, then maybe you can review footage for the days when you parked with your bike and see who has been studying the way the bike has been tied down.

Alternatively, but I doubt, someone at the bike shop where you had it serviced is in on it and sent someone to follow you.......

Just an update

As expected SAPS not exactly going about this with any noticeable sense of urgency - a pity because I thought there was an outside chance of getting the bike back which is now surely gone.

Also experienced the "better-side" of human nature this weekend, was inundated with offers for loan bikes to do the Burger this weekend including some hubbers who I have never met.

A riding buddy organised a bike for me from Marc - the owner of Attitude Cycles in Brackenfell - also someone who I have never met and whose shop I have never visited - so big up to him, it is an amazing gesture! Especially given that the loan bike was not exactly a cheapie.

Had a jol at the Burger on Sunday with a lekker bike (which I don't really feel like returning   :ph34r: )

Just an update

As expected SAPS not exactly going about this with any noticeable sense of urgency - a pity because I thought there was an outside chance of getting the bike back which is now surely gone.

Also experienced the "better-side" of human nature this weekend, was inundated with offers for loan bikes to do the Burger this weekend including some hubbers who I have never met.

A riding buddy organised a bike for me from Marc - the owner of Attitude Cycles in Brackenfell - also someone who I have never met and whose shop I have never visited - so big up to him, it is an amazing gesture! Especially given that the loan bike was not exactly a cheapie.

Had a jol at the Burger on Sunday with a lekker bike (which I don't really feel like returning   :ph34r: )

What about Outsurance ? Are they going to pay you out ?  Just curious as my bikes are insured with them.

No forced entry.....Should be interesting to see what insurance has to say.

Sorry for your loss. Sucks balls!

If it is under out and about and specified, does it even need to be locked to the rack?