• Replies 1.5k

Representing the vegetarians - new year's braai - don't worry there was meat and fish too for those inclined

Must say in this weather,

What beats a braai and a beer

Cheers all

attachicon.gifIMG_20180101_161027.jpg

Not a vegetarian but I could live with that very easily.  Corn on the Cob, one of my favorites!

Hey guys. Can anyone recommend a decent butcher in the Kyalami, Sunninghill or Fourways area?

Worth travelling a little further west to North Riding is the Berliner. Very good, was my go to butcher when I lived in Fourways.

916dd88716176d0e88ad5dd7ccf2f9ed.jpg

Cooked up the leftovers from last nights braai for breakfast this morning! With what’s becoming a New Years tradition, Zoerdoeff and Sprite.

0c4c13c3012e8858b5b4e3d2002b3f6e.jpg

We call that ManMade! It's always a winner the night after[emoji106][emoji106]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We call that ManMade! It's always a winner the night after[emoji106][emoji106]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The night after............ I've only heard people worry about the morning after about what the man could've made. ????

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Edited by BSG

Cooked up the leftovers from last nights braai for breakfast this morning! With what’s becoming a New Years tradition, Zoerdoeff and Sprite.

0c4c13c3012e8858b5b4e3d2002b3f6e.jpg

What is the "recipe" for the breakfast?

I normally go for a layer of mieliepap (cooked to about 80%), then add the meat, cook for another 3 mins (for the meat to heat up), then add a few eggs to the mix, close the lid and let it steam until the eggs are cooked. When all done cut pie like pieces.

I sometimes do that with leftover chicken, lamb, or steak, depends what I've braai'ed the day before. Usually fry it in the pan with chopped up onion and mushrooms, nothing fancy like that though.

What is that?

Leftover beef and pork, cut up and fried with 2 cans of tomato and onion mix, some peri peri and spice. Once warmed through, make some “pockets” for eggs, crack in eggs, sprinkle liberally with grated cheese, foil over the top and allow to cook until eggs are done (I like cooked whites, soft yolks). Some lekker fresh bread with butter, and breakfast is served...!

Holy crap that sounds amazing!!!

http://gifimage.net/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/homer-simpson-drooling-animated-gif-4.gif

Holy crap that sounds amazing!!!

http://gifimage.net/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/homer-simpson-drooling-animated-gif-4.gif

Pretty similar to shakshuka.

Mugg & Bean serve one if you don't want to make it, though theirs has boerewors in it and I am not too keen on that so rather make it myself.