How many events have you bailed on or DNF?

Rouxenator

• Replies 76

Can only think of two, both local races.

A few years ago on a 90km-ish race, two laps, I crashed early in the first lap. Got back up, couldn't lift my roadbike due to hurt elbows/wrists, and rode the rest of the lap on the front of the group my dad was riding in, and stopped at the start/finish after one lap. I should have left it, damaged my wrist a bit.

Second was a mud-fest this year, pre-enterd for four laps, decided to save my bike after one.

Not sure if it counts - at the Erik van Enter competition quite a few years ago, I thankfully fell ill before the criteriums, and didn't ride them at all. First year registered rider way out of my depth... I'm ok with that DNF

I nearly bailed at the Y2 Karoo this past weekend. I have been doing big miles the last few months.

I thought the Y2k would be a walk in the park.

Prologue 25km broke me.

Stage 1: 75 km nearly killed me.

Stage 2: 75 km wasnt as bad as stage 1.

Ja, I finished but is was a super *** race for me which is a pity because this is a magic stage race.

I was really worried about suffering so much on stages that are a third of the distance of my typical training rides.

Asked a few okes who know their shite.

Apparently it has to do with intensity. From LSD to this fast acceleration, up down . hard work ride.

And I am sick today, I think I was already coming down with a bug this weekend.

Only one DNF, Imfolozi challenge 2 years ago, horribly wet, I think the finishers went through about 7 different thunder storms over the 55km, last person in was just before it went dark ( start was at 8), I was feeling really strong and enjoy it until my section of the jeep channel (track is dry, channel is deep jeep flooded thing) got suddenly very deep and I managed to snap my dereileur. Cue 3km walk/slosh back to the nearest honorary ranger station for a lift back to the tented camp. I will be honest the Heineken quart I had in the back of his bakkie at that early hour was awesome

Back in the days of running marathons, I started off one of too hot and at 32km wanted to bail, but my dear pops, slave driver, came past and wouldn't let me into the car. "Man up" he said, "you've still got loads of time before cutoff", so I plodded along and still finished in 3:45 or thereabouts. Taught me a thing or two about endurance.

The only race I dnf'ed I started with a bit of a bug, after the first 10km loop I felt like death warmed up, so bailed with a stomach bug.

Reminds me of one of my mates, had a huge gooi before a 1/2 marathon they used to have in Slummies called Parker Pen 1/2. A very fast course but of 3 laps, he couldn't remember the first 2 laps afterwards. His brother pulled him out of the party, took him home to get his kit then went to the race

I had a DNF about 5 years ago in the Argus. I must have had something dodgy to eat after I arrived in CT 2 days before the race. I had severe diarrhoea that dehydrated me tremendously. The Sunday morning of the race I felt better and started the race in my group, but soon into the race I discovered that was a huge mistake! I just did not have any strength in my legs, and went to the medical station at Simonstown where they gave me some Rehidrat. Even after they advised me not to continue, I went ahead, but at the next medical station before Smutswinkel I just could not carry on anymore and withdrew. Deciding to start that morning was a very big mistake and huge risk that I would advise anyone against doing what I have done. Thereafter I was even sicker than what I have been prior to the race. 

1x DNS, CTCT this year. And technically D2D from 2014, didn't have my chip. 

Many potential DNFs, but employed Rule #5. But first official DNF was an Audax just recently. Ruined by mechanical issues, I threw in the towel at the first checkpoint in Nigel. 

Two DNF. Taken out at 55kph in the Argus by a guy who hit a cat eye. Derailleur gone, whole body roastied. Could not get out of misty cliffs so had to push to the next medical centre at Soetwater after waiting for 2 hours. Finally managed to get picked up at about 3pm. Very unpleasant day.

Other was lap race at Buffet Olives - one first lap got stuck in deep rut on fast downhill and hit very hard. Coming through the lap I was covered in blood and kids were saying 'Aaai, mammie, did moet seer wees'. Just went straight to first aid.

1 x DNS- Emperors palace race, Had a wrist operation 2 weeks before and had a cast on. Still went and fetched my goodie bag though  :D .

1 x DNF- 947 mtb race a few years back(we where all still on 26inch wheels back then). Was doing the 50km and picked up a thorn very early on. For some reason, I can only think it was all the water we where riding through but the sealant wasn't working so well. Stopped twice to bomb it and then once at a tech zone to pump it(back then tech zones weren't as good as they are now so that's about all the could do for me). Stopped again after someone gave me a bomb. It was leaking slowly so could ride a few kms each time. Eventually when the split came for the 25km I pulled off and told them to take my number, was just getting gatvol.

a number of years ago, 1 month after getting my first proper mountain bike I entered the Crazy Croc Redstone MTB race, I did not finish, bailed 2KM from the end, I am normally the man that takes over other unwanted entries.

I did a transdraak one year and the  wind was pumping so after 90ks I said enough this is not fun and I bailed 

Regret it a little but was going to hard the first 90 so my tank was empty 

Wont bail again easy not a nice thing to do